We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best stay of my life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Ranked #25 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best stay of my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Towers in September of this year and were very impressed with not only the hospitality, but also the sheer elegance of the decor. We went to NYC for a last minute wedding so finding a room with short notice that could comfortably and conveniently keep my 5 person family was a little tough. However thanks to the very accommodating staff at the Waldorf Towers, we were able to find the ideal room. AND IT WAS MARVELOUS!!!! The room was perfectly clean and very classy. Moreover, my step-mom has trouble walking and the doormen were extremely helpful with getting her in and out of cabs without making her feel handicap. It was refreshing. Since this weekend was an opportunity to see family that I don't get to see often this was an opportunity to do something special and it was well worth the decision! I whole-heartedly encourage any and everyone to stay at the Towers!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,456
    285
    124
    77
    33
See reviews for
676
703
71
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Towers in September of this year and were very impressed with not only the hospitality, but also the sheer elegance of the decor. We went to NYC for a last minute wedding so finding a room with short notice that could comfortably and conveniently keep my 5 person family was a little tough. However thanks to the very accommodating staff at the Waldorf Towers, we were able to find the ideal room. AND IT WAS MARVELOUS!!!! The room was perfectly clean and very classy. Moreover, my step-mom has trouble walking and the doormen were extremely helpful with getting her in and out of cabs without making her feel handicap. It was refreshing. Since this weekend was an opportunity to see family that I don't get to see often this was an opportunity to do something special and it was well worth the decision! I whole-heartedly encourage any and everyone to stay at the Towers!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Waldorf for two nights on a vacation to New York. The hotel decoration is breath-taking, not like the usual New York box room experience. The staff were very attentive and took our luggage quickly to our beautiful room. Upon arrival and noticing that our room was next to a massive extractor fan which hummed all night long we rang to ask if there was a possibility of a room change however due to the Marathon they were full up for the night and promised to change rooms the following day. What a change! Upgraded to the 27th floor of the towers. Incredible two bathrooms suite with a sitting room and king bed. Luxury in reality. Pure beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and cannot wait for the treat to go bak and stay once more

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eire_NiMhurchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My family and I spent 3 nights at the Waldorf Towers. We enjoyed the private check-in on the lower floor which sped things up. We had a corner suite (huge bedroom and even larger living room) with an adjoining room for my 2 children. The room was very spacious and absolutely spotless. The 2 bathrooms were great. And the view spectacular. The only (small) complaint was our mattress, which was good, not great. The kids' bed was very comfortable. Housekeeping was perfect. The hotel really added to our already very enjoyable time in NYC. Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Corner suite offers great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val_from_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

If this is the best that NYC can offer it's an embarrassment. My room was hot and there was no way to control the heat. When I opened the window to cool the room down it was so noisy from air conditioning equipment that I had to close the window. Guest services was of no help. They offered a fan...big help (which by the way never appeared). The staff could care less. Typical NYC customer service! LOUSY....Never again. I feel sorry for tourists coming here to visit if this is the best that New York had to offer.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank spearce53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear spearce53,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria. The customer service we provided during your stay was certainly not up to our standards. I am so grateful that you have taken the time to make us aware of this. I would like to look into your stay a bit further to determine who you worked with and why certain things occurred. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you in advance,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
diarmuid.dwyer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We Stayed at the Towers recently and had booked a family room with two double beds. When we were showed to our room however, we were given a double room with one double bed and a sitting room. No beds for the children. WE asked for these and they were duly deposited, two single beds which had to go in the sitting room. On the second night the maid had taken the duvets from the beds. We didn't realise until the children told us the next day they had been cold all night. WE asked for them to be returned only to be given thin blankets.
The bathrooms and bedrooms are very old fashioned and not in a classy way, they are very dingy. We never saw a maid whilst we were there, no turndown, no water in the rooms, we never even had the loo roll changed !!! AS we were on the 36th floor, we were in what they called a private dining room for breakfast which as an absolute farce. The room was not big enough to accomodate the number of guests and there were queues to find a table, on a couple of mornings we had to sit apart just so that we could sit down to eat. There were no hot breakfast foods, just cereals , bread and fruit. The two restaurants downstairs were closed on the occasions we visited. Not 5 star. Very disappointed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdaddy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear pdaddy123,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so disappointed to learn about your unfortunate experience at the Waldorf Towers. We want our guests to feel at home when staying with us, and we understand that we were unable to do this for you. I am so discouraged to hear that your children did not have proper beds and, as a result, were cold overnight. I really want my team to research your stay further and determine why certain things happen. Please accept my sincerest apologies. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a delightful room with a good view in the Towers, and more than once we remarked how "quiet" it felt for New York. Every single member of the staff was courteous and helpful. It's hard to not be enamored with the history of such a fine hotel -- it's on every wall. Even though there are plenty of NYC hotels with more bells and whistles, the luxury and charm of the Waldorf Astoria is hard to resist.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Dawn M,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are ecstatic that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#31 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#277 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,330 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#20 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Address: 100 East 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing