We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Feels like going shopping to Macy's in a helicopter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Ranked #44 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like going shopping to Macy's in a helicopter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What an amazing view from the higher floors, it feels like you are going to a private VIP shopping tour to Macy's or else on 5th Ave. Due to my Hilton Honors Status I got a multiple upgrade to a Suite with a living room, that impressed my NY friends who visited me. As I showed up a day late, due to some misunderstandings in the arrival date, after my transatlantic flight, the Hotel had charged to my credit card the walk-in rate of the Suite at >2,500 $ - to my corporate credit card, which allows only US gov't rates, LOL. I was qualified no-show, and charged the full rate of the suite, as if I had ordered it. My GM was very surprised... Anyway, the Hotel kept the upgrade, and paid the difference back to my credit card. The suite was indeed old-fashioned, and the windows were small and dirty, but I had great fun, and my friends weer impressed.. What else you want. The bar is of course THE place to meet in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExilschwabefromUlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,216
    265
    118
    74
    33
See reviews for
575
606
59
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Room and service is nothing special. You pay for views and location. That's pretty much it. Same old hotel problems you will get anywhere else. I stayed in the Towers directly next to the Penthouse Suite on the 43rd floor. The room was slightly larger than a normal hotel room with a nice bathroom. For what I spent for two days, I could have had the same experience in NYC for much much less money. I have stayed all over NYC and continue to do so frequently. Much better hotels (even within the Hilton brand) that will give you a better experience and not kill your wallet.

Room Tip: Don't bother with paying for a discounted upgrade if offered. Free upgrades only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr00ster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest input on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your candor and apologize you were not impressed by the service and appointment of your guestroom. We strive to provide the best in hospitality and accommodations and we will keep your comments in mind as we strive to meet this goal moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the singular Waldorf experience you deserve should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Meg Towner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff at all levels from doorman, reception to chambermaids are exceptional, no one is aloof, all are totally professional. When you stay here for a length of time, the place does seem to feel like home! But the furnishings are beginning to look a little tired, nevertheless, if its good enough for Obama, then I guess it's good enough for me.
I notice some earlier review have said this hotel is not well located, sorry, it is perfect!

Room Tip: Tell them what you want, they will take notice of what you need and will genuinely do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The name Waldorf-Astoria used to conjure an image of opulence and luxury that few would ever experience. I remember coming to the hotel with my family many years ago (probably around 30) just to get a drink (soda) and being amazed by the beautiful foyer with beautiful rugs and vases of flowers and music playing from a harp. Being a teenager I did not want to come but after arriving I did not want to leave.

Perhaps my expectations were too high but our stay was a bit disappointing. I had booked a king suite in the Waldorf Astoria Towers for our 7th wedding anniversary and my wife's birthday. Although I had mentioned it when I had booked on-line it was never acknowledged while we were there. The lobby is a reminder of the grandeur the hotel once embodied. We were taken to room 34H4 which was spacious but almost too much so as the furniture arrangement made the room feel sparsely appointed. Time had robbed the furniture and decor of its relevance and beauty and it just looked and felt old and oppressive.

The chest of drawers was flimsy and poorly constructed. The drawers did not slide well. It certainly looked old but did not appear to be of good craftsmanship.

The bathroom sink had a nice marble top but was held up by aged lucite (circa 1970-1980) legs. The black and white tile was cleaned reasonably well but still bore the stain of debauchery of ages past. Brass or gold-colored fixtures had lost their shine and gold color. The bathtub had the usual two knobs for hot and cold water. The switch which you would usually expect to shunt the water to the shower head did nothing but there was a third lever of completely different color and design which activated the shower very much a jerry-rigged device. The lighting in the bathroom was too dim and contributed to the mood and feel of the room. Toiletries were actually very nice Salvador Ferragamo shampoo, conditioner, bath splash, and lotion although the bottles were far too small. The bath and facial soap appeared to be made especially for the Waldorf.

34H4 has an adjoining room that is divided by a flimsy door which is barely adequate to provide protection and wholly inadequate to insulate sound as we were to find out on our final night's stay. We returned to our hotel room at around midnight after seeing a Broadway show. There was a party in the adjoining room. "No problem. We'll take a shower. They'll probably settle down by the time we're ready for bed." Didn't happen. Called the front desk who was very courteous and sent security. The music stopped but the loud conversations of too many people in the room continued. Then someone tried to open the door that separated our two rooms. More calls to the front desk but the noise didn't finally stop until 2:00 AM.

The next morning when I mentioned it to the front desk clerk he was quick to apologize and reduced the rate for that evening by 25%. I would have preferred that they had moved the party to another room or escorted them out the door.

Breakfast in the Astoria Lounge is really not as glamorous as it sounds. It is a simple continental breakfast with bread, a few pastries, cheese, lunch meats, fruit, yogurt, juice, and coffee. Nice if I was staying at Motel 6 but I expected more at the Waldorf.

The staff is very courteous and go out of their way to be helpful which is why they got as high of a grade as they did.

Room Tip: Don't get 34H4
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PasadenaLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Please accept our gratitude for your detailed account of your recent stay at our historic hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests as new perspectives help us to continually evolve to best meet and exceed your expectations. We know our name comes with high standards for service and accommodations and we do our best to live up to them. We will keep your observations on our suite appointment and noise issues in mind as we look towards future renovations and policy implementations. We apologize for any disappointment you experienced and hope to have another opportunity to show you the singular Waldorf experience you expect and deserve from us should you return to New York in the future. We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Thank you,
Meg Towner

Meg.Towner@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My two daughters one of my daughters friends and myself headed to New York (Manhattan Upper Eastside) in July 2012 to shop but the main reason was to go out so my eldest daughter could see her boyfriend who had been out approx 6 weeks and was staying on for another 5 weeks after we left, we found this hotel exquisite the decor was stunning, upon check-in we were asked was they're any particular reason for and it was one of my daughters birthdays the day after we landed my other daughter piped up saying it was her sisters birthday the next day so we got our ordinary suite upgraded to a superior one. Everyone kept saying omg your going to be out a fortune tipping in that hotel and don't use room service, how ever we used room service every night and for our daughters birthday we went to concierge to organise a stretch limo to take Her and her boyfriend to their restaurant, the owner was taking to me and said because I was only using the limo for a drop of I wouldn't be charged the full fee, he actually charged me less than half price for the limo. The hotel itself is decorated to a very high standard but they the staff treat everyone as equals whether your mega rich or just an ordinary working class person,my eldest daughter wasn't even booked into the hotel as she thought she would be staying with her boyfriend but he was situated in the Queens area well away from 5th Avenue so she and her boyfriend stayed with us and the hotel didn't mind at all they gave keys to everyone. The hotel is very centrally located to everything and when I go back to New York I will definitely be staying at the Waldorf Astoria as I absolutely love the hotel and the staff are brilliant. I would highly recommend this hotel even thinking of going to The Upper East Side of Manhattan, It is also located close to churches of all denominations. This is definitely one to check out xxx

Room Tip: We stayed on the Lexington Avenue side of the hotel and found there was no noise although we were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lcunni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Smashing stay. My suite had real character. View was spectacular from 39th floor. Located halfway between Central Park and the Empire State building. Staff are wonderful except at reception - they could be more informative. Watch out if you pay for internet access - it only covers one machine

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We will share your comments on the service you received at reception and our internet policy with the appropriate team members and we will work to improve these areas moving forward. We hope you will stay with us again should you return to New York in the future, we would love to have you!

Thank you,
Meg Towner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Still lovely after all these years. Wonderful room, comfortable bed, luxurious linens. Very friendly, helpful staff.

The heating system is outdated and is impossible to control. An open window solved the problem.

The location could not be better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
Waldorf Astoria New York
Waldorf Astoria New York
#280 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 10,348 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#74 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#21 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#53 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria

Property: The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria
Address: 100 E 50th St, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above Manhattan on the 28th-42nd floors of The Waldorf=Astoria, this boutique hotel is home to celebrities and corporate leaders and has hosted every American president since Herbert Hoover. The hotel features a collection of 181 rooms, including 123 impressive suites with its own Les Clef D’Or concierge and a dedicated private entrance. Towers Guest enjoy complimentary Continental breakfast in the Astoria Lounge. The hotel is situated within the Waldorf Astoria in midtown Manhattan, near shops, museums & the United Nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Towers Of The Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York City
Waldorf Hotel New York City
Waldorf New York
Waldorf Towers
Waldorf Astoria New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing