We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Ranked #105 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Worst hotel at which we have ever stayed. Does not even deserve a 1 star rating. Location is great. Service for a five star hotel was terrible! Concierge suggested we do our own research on-line for show tickets. That alone speaks volumes!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
25 Thank capeconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you were left to feel disappointed after your recent visit and I do hope you have received my March 12th email. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Trump International Hotel & Tower New York-Central Park in the very near future and I am confident that your next stay will prove to be an outstanding experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    196
    72
    26
    45
See reviews for
445
372
63
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a Park view deluxe room with kitchenette. The room, hotel and location were all fabulous. The staff particularly Marissa on front desk were attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. The doormen were full of useful advice and information and as others have said, the hotel's location on Columbus Circle is ideal for all sights, particularly Central Park. It is also on the direct subway line to the Staten Island free ferry... for those new and confused in New York. A wonderful stay..we would certainly stay at Trump International again.

Room Tip: Parkside was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a rave review from your most recent stay with us at Trump International Hotel and Tower NY-Central Park. Thank you for commending our front desk and door staff services. We agree our location is ideal and thank you for recommending our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is all about the view and it is some view, so make sure you get a room with a park view! The advantage of flying from Europe to get here is that you wake early in the morning whilst it is still dark and get the opportunity to watch the sun rise over the Upper East Side which is viewed across the beauty that is Central Park. I remember this building as the old G&W building whose architecture did not enhance the south west corner of the park. The development of this building and others has transformed Columbus Circle but in many ways I suspect the transformation will not survive the test of time but will reflect the preoccupations of its time in the same way as the previous buildings.

The hotel has a great location, the rooms are to a very luxurious standard and the room comes extremely well equipped and rightly the arrangement is made to maximise the views. The hotel prides itself on adding the personal touch - I couldn't sense that. The welcome was friendly, the turn-down service was exquisite, but personal? Staff were attentive to over attentive but we Brits expect nothing less in American hotels. We know it's a challenge but they weren't able to stream our British football match into our room even though it was on Fox TV.

Staying in the Trump International Hotel & Tower was a memorable experience and one I would recommend to anyone who has the cash, but I can't help feeling that it could be even better.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent visit to Trump International Hotel and Tower New York. I was glad to read you had a memorable experience and that you enjoyed your guestroom which had great views of Central Park. Thank you for recommending our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

My husband and I visit NYC a lot and we like to try different hotels each time. This was our first time at a Trump hotel and was pretty impressed. The location is awesome since your right in Columbus Circle, near a mall, restaurants and the subway is right across the street and of course, right in front of Central Park. This hotel is a little cheaper than other 5 stars...we paid a little over $500/night. The hotel staff was excellent, the room was very clean, it was nice to have a kitchenette with microwave to reheat yummy NY pizza! The bathroom was def on the small side-but nice and clean. There was also a nice walk-in closet and large full length mirror. Some of the yumminess-they gave us a box of gourmet chocolates and during turn down service, they leave some goodies by your bedside! They also give you free bottles of water.
We booked our trip through amex fine hotels and resorts program and just an fyi-if you don't use your $100 credit at the spa, which they offer, you can use it towards in room dining or at the restaurant connected to the hotel (Jean Georges). The food and drinks were fantastic there! (we had breakfast & cocktails (not at the same time, lol, but we've heard all the food is good). We did walk down to the gym/spa and it looked really nice.
The only reason I gave it a "Very Good" rating instead of "Excellent" was bc I compared the lobby, lounge area and bathrooms in the room to a few other hotels in the area. Def look into this hotel, you won't be disappointed :)

Room Tip: Asking for a Park view on a higher is nice to wake up to :) Ask to have a room away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your very positive review of your recent stay at Trump International Hotel & Tower New York at Central Park! We are so pleased that you were impressed with your guestroom as well as our location and amenities. Our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and exceeding your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Trump International NYC for four nights. The staff (front desk, bellmen, housekeeping) were all fantastic, always greeting us warmly and offered any help that they could. We stayed in a city-view king suite, and my only minor complaint would be that the bathroom was small. Having stayed at (and absolutely loved) Trump's Chicago hotel with HUGE rooms, space in NYC is definitely at a premium and thus, smaller rooms. Everything was very clean and updated, though, and we loved our stay. Having a suite is important to us so we're not stuck lying on a bed during our downtime. The location to Central Park and Columbus Circle is great - close to the subway, Broadway, great shopping and anything else you could want. This was our first trip to NYC and we will return to the city, and to Trump. Great experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park and for taking the time to post a very positive review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you would recommend our hotel and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in trump hotel for one night as part of visa signature luxury hotel programme (which by the way took some time to straighten up with the front desk, since they weren't familiar with it).
The location is excellent. Across the street from Time Warner centre, right on the Central park, near major subway lines, etc.
Service was very good. I definitely appreciate the nice touch of being offered a welcoming beverage upon check in, especially given the freezing temperatures outside.
Our one bedroom suit was nicely appointed, and fairly spacious. The view of the park was spectacular. There was a queen size pullout sofa, two very large hd tvs, a dining table, a work desk and a nicely equipped kitchen in the hallway next door. The bathroom seems a bit dated. While very clean it does have a strong eighties look. Overall it's a very nice living space.
Our main issue was with the food. Very few vegetarian options, and what was there was not very good. Everything seemed overly buttery and tasteless, and frankly I had better expectations given the reputation of its restaurant.
However, that's a fairly minor quibble. Taken as a whole this is a very good hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback of your recent visit to the Trump International Hotel and Tower New York-Central Park. We have passed along your comments to Jean-Georges with regard to adding more vegetarian menu items. As you prefer larger bathrooms, please advise us prior to arrival and we will try our best to accommodate your request. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. I am confident that your next stay will prove to be an outstanding experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
192 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Trump exceeded my expectations. Exceptional customer service, attentive and polite staff, clean and large rooms. Business center is complimentary and oversaw by the most polite young lady I've ever met.
Location was great. Because our room was facing the park, it was one of the quietest hotels we have stayed at in NYC. No loud buses or garbage trucks, no shouting from the street. Amazing!
I too was there during the false fire alarms (3 within about 8 hours). Disruptive? Yes. Enough to ruin my trip? Absolutely not. A sigh of relief that the alarms actually work? Yup, thank goodness.
I would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TIHT-NY, General Manager at Trump International Hotel and Tower New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Trump International Hotel and Tower New York for your recent stay and for recommending your experience. I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your understanding about the false fire alarm. Our systems have been thoroughly checked so that an incident of this type will not be repeated. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#51 of 468 in New York City
1,432 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#32 of 468 in New York City
1,054 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#34 of 468 in New York City
680 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel and Tower New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel and Tower New York

Property: Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Address: 1 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10023-7703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#25 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#85 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel and Tower New York 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump International Hotel and Tower New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Trump International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing