We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising Nice for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #338 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Vonore, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising Nice for the Price”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised how nice the Travel Inn was. The rooms were a decent size, but clean and modern. We had a room with a view of the pool, away from the street, very quiet for New York City. All employees were very nice. You just can't beat this location, 2 blocks from the Port Authority where we took the shuttle from the airport. Very convenient. Water pressure was great. We would definitely stay here again when in New York for such a great price!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peppermint4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    859
    380
    105
    89
See reviews for
713
320
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Hotels in midtown Manhattan are outrageously expensive. The Travel Inn has one of the best rates in midtown PLUS parking is included. This is incredibly rare in Manhattan and saves you a minimum of $30 per day. It's not a luxury hotel, but during our stay we found it to be very clean and quiet and the staff to be quite efficient and helpful. I'm perplexed by all the people complaining about noise in their reviews. This is Manhattan. I never go there without good ear plugs. It's a big, noisy city. I didn't think the pool would matter much to us, but as it turned out it was quite hot while we were there and a late afternoon dip in the pool after hours of walking around the city was heavenly. I think for price, free parking and location the Travel Inn cannot be beat in midtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieMagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at this hotel based on the fairly good ratings for this hotel and the location.
We requested a quiet room a couple of months before our stay and on arrival were given a room which had the train line running underneath the room (see picture). Not much sleep that night. The next morning we moved to another room. The walls are paper thin so you get 360 degrees noise all night and in the morning - noise from the cooler in the room, the cooler outside the room, from next door guests, upstairs guests, guests in/out of lifts, cleaner trolleys, no sleep 2nd or 3rd nights. Yes this hotel may be cheaper than others and is in a fairly good location to time square and transport. However it nearly ruined my first time visit to NYC because you get no sleep so you're too tired the next day to do anything!! Also the front reception staff are very very arrogant, unhelpful and go out of their way to be nasty. I understand the hotel is old, not much you can do there, but good customer service goes a long way to making guests stay more comfortable. Travel Inn management should review their staff, their attitude and how they treat guests staying at their hotel. If you can afford it, stay somewhere else, otherwise this hotel is only for people who don't need any sleep at all and don't mind being treated badly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chazza747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

montreal, canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2009

People you are paying for a nice basic hotel to go visit. The price is great. Parking is free in the garage hotel which is closed and has a security guard 24hrs. The check in was blazzingly fast. The rooms are very nice and very clean. You have microwaves and a fridge.

The beds are comfortable, but the pillows are horrible. Bring your own, hahaha!

Bathrooms are clean. Service was great. The hair dryer died on us, we mentionned it to the maid who was very welcoming and she had it fixed before we came back from breakfast.

The location of the hotel is great. You are on the corner of 42nd and 10th and Time Square is 42nd and 7th. Hard to beat. It is also in front of the NYPD Manathan South Task Force which make it very safe.

You can order food to your room until 1 am and it's a full menu.

Most hotels make you pay around 60$ a night for parking. This hotel is one of the rare ones that offer it free and they had lower prices than lots of others for the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steel_j23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2009

We stayed as a couple and had no less than 2 room changes, after which we'd given up. On one side of the floor, you cannot open the windows as the subway runs under the hotel. If you have a room on level 3 overlooking the inside pool, be ready for sleepless nights. The swimming pool pump is a 24hour noise nuisance and resonates on the floor. It is just impossible to ignore the 24hr constant sound and vibrations in the walls. The in-room air conditioning is worse. You have to choose between which noise you prefer better. Do not plan to sleep in the morning either as the cleaning people start rolling their heavy laundry trolleys in the corridors, rattling walls, opening and closing room doors, chatting well before 8am. The counter staff are not friendly, not professional and will not tell you that they will really overcharge your credit card by US$150 and hold the amount for at least 2 weeks before releasing the hold. Definitely check your billed card upon check-in. We recommend you pay more elsewhere if you plan to sleep at night but definitely look elsewhere if you should.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Room was nice. We requested two beds and the room they first sent us to only had one, the did honor the request and give us a different room. It is farther from the subway than stated - 3 avenues and NYC avenues are much longer than a standard block.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNBETTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

As the title suggests, the only good thing about this hotel is its location. We stayed in a 2 double bed room overlooking the swimming pool which sounds lovely at first but read on to see what it was really like...

- The hotel is like a maze. Not good if you have alot of luggage to drag around with you.

- If you are (un)lucky to get a room overlooking the pool, be aware of the a/c unit attached to the outside of the hotel. It is so noisy, the only way to block it out is to blast the tv volume..but that doesn't really help when you want to sleep!

- Room was cold and bathroom was dirty. We found toe nail clippings, dust and hair scattered around. Totally gross.

- Staff are unfriendly.

- The hotel is close to Times Square but is overpriced and dirty. Don't stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiepieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#341 of 467 in New York City
730 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 467 in New York City
2,515 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 467 in New York City
4,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#192 of 467 in New York City
1,374 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#378 of 467 in New York City
681 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#46 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing