We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and central.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #334 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 30, 2014

A bit old fashioned in decor but great for what we needed. There were 12 of us, 3 families in total with young adult children, and we all agreed it was a central hotel, just 4 blocks from Times Square. The staff were very helpful, providing extra pillows and towels, the rooms were cleaned daily and there was a great diner next door for breakfast. I last went to New York 4 years ago in October and couldn't believe how much busier it was in August! We bought NY City Passes online before travelling, which saved a lot on the tour buses and main attraction costs. If you have time, go watch a game at the NY Yankee Stadium (take the subway), a great, true American experience!

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool area which was really quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anne-Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2014

Travelled here on a school trip. We went in October/November 2012 during Hurricane Sandy. We originally intended to stay for only 5 days but ended up staying for 12. All the staff co-operated with us well and treated all 50 odd of us really well. The rooms are tucked away from the roads so there is hardly any noise, and we didn't even know the Hurricane was going on! I stayed in a room with 3 others and everyone in the travelling party had rooms spread around the hotel. Comparing to others in the group, we had the best room, we were right on the end of a 'balcony' and we had a working fridge and microwave, we had a working tv with various channels, we had a bolt on our front door and we had a lock on the bathroom door. Some rooms didn't have functioning microwaves and fridges and some didn't have locks on the front doors, one room didn't have a lock on the bathroom so the occupants had to shower and use the toilet without a lock. Could hardly find anything to fault this hotel, apart from there wasn't much storage in the rooms to store clothes, especially in a room for 4 people! Also, on two occasions, money was taken from our rooms, of about $30, by a maid, who barely spoke English and simply replied 'I thought it was tip' when it was in a drawer. Nevertheless, the maid service was second to none and they cleaned our room very well and always changed the sheets and changed the bins. There is a diner next door to the hotel which is ideal for breakfasts and lunches and stuff to take about at a reasonable price, but make sure you make sure that the staff get your order correct because they, again, speak little English and I got served the wrong food on a couple of occasions. Overall, this hotel was perfect for us, ideal location for us as well, as in a party of around fifty, it wasn't too far from Times Square and other attractions. Couldn't fault this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2014

I really liked this hotel, but we had some trouble with this place.
1. Room: water coming down from the ceiling in the bathroom. But the staff was wery kind and move us to another room, and fixed it
2. Room: it was very hot the first (and last) Night we stayed in room number 2. I got up to turn on the AC, but it didn't start before 2 minutes after. Weird. A bit after it started we heard noises. It was mice! They were coming out of the AC. I called and asked for another room.
3. Room. We hid away all foods and candy so the nice wouldn't come back - and they didn't!
But this room was faced out to the road. It was extremely noisy! Luckily we only had to stay there for the last 3 days. We found out that they had mice-traps under the beds. So they are fully Aware of the mice-situation
Beside this: perfect location, nice staff, clean. Wifi is OK, but around 17-18 o'clock it was veeeery slow. I guess a lot of people used it at this time.
Would I book again? I'm not sure...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moniski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel was realy clean and the location is perfect. The parking is in the hotel and is only 20$ for 24 hours. There is a nice outside pool in the middle of the hotel and there's never many peoples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in front of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Francis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

10 min walk to Times Square.
Diner next door for breakfast. The coffee is not free!!
Wifi is $6 a day.
comfy beds. room is good size, small bathroom. very nice pool.
close to Hudson River.
a bit noisy, but its NY!!

Room Tip: high floor and at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cheryl494995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My first visit August 2014 exceeded my expectations. Love the location, and everything was clean and in working order. Will definitely stay again in the future. Close to subway and all the nightlife of NYC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brightlight2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We were thrilled about getting a hotel in this location but upon arriving were disappointed to find out that there was no free parking despite this being one of the major selling points on their website. It went on to further disappoint when our room was musty, furnishings were old and out dated, and the place was crawling with ANTS! Just saying, would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Coolmo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#344 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 469 in New York City
4,387 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#192 of 469 in New York City
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#271 of 469 in New York City
2,553 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#265 of 469 in New York City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing