We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #340 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Started off with them giving away our room that we had booked 6 months ago because "they had a large group". The front desk clerk asked if it was 2 ladies staying in the room (it was) and then decided that it would be fine for us to have to share a sing king sized room. I wondered if we were 2 men, would he had done the same? He insisted the king single was very nice. It wasn't. The room was tiny, the bathroom even smaller, and it was at least 85 degrees in the room with no window to open. The next night we got moved into a room that had 2 double beds like we booked. It was just ok and at least there was a window to open. The beds were a little creaky, the decor a little 70's, bathroom also very small. Smells like an old building. The heat and air is controlled by the staff so they decide if you sweat or freeze...there is no in between. The hot water was scalding hot and the shower knob would get so hot, the metal would burn you when you tried to turn it off unless you run out of hot water 5 minutes after taking a shower which happened multiple times. No coffeemaker....I repeat NO COFFEE MAKER! Front desk was always rude. Didn't inform us that we were being charged for internet until our 4th and final night. Only positive was that the maids were good and friendly in the halls. The price was hard to pass up....but you should pass it up.

Room Tip: All the rooms are noisy, you can hear through the walls. No control over the temp in the room, make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a double room for 3 nights (weekend) and were so pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and large enough. We requested the quietest non-smoking double possible and they were very nice about it and gave us a great room. We were 3rd floor looking at the pool (although the pool wasn't opened for the season yet) and there was absolutely no traffic noise. Of course, one night there was noise from other guest members but that wasn't the hotel's fault. The cafe next to the hotel served great breakfasts and was a terrific start to our day. Would stay there again for sure. Only a 2 block walk to the subway, and another couple to Times Square.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, the rooms are fine and the parking is free. Not bad for NYC. It's unusual to not have a coffee maker in the room but I lived! The mattress was firmer than I like. It's around the corner from Yotel where I have stayed before so if you want to spend a little more for some pizzazz that would be my pick!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose10172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Close to Times Square, clean but not fancy. They have free on site parking. Close to subway system for easy getting around, There is a pool for summer use and a work out area. again nothing fancy but if you are out and about most of the day like we are this perfect. Staff is great.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has always been my favorite in New York for business and pleasure for many reasons. This stay my room was in the North building which I found undesirable for several reasons. First being that it was warm outside so I didn't need heat in the room. (Normally, I am always cold). But even after shutting off the heat, I needed to open the window, which began the problem of noise. the subway train runs outside my window. is extremely noisy, the street so busy and loud, you hear trash trucks and sirens,
which makes it extremely noisy. maybe this would not bother me as much if the window was closed. I never experienced a room when the north side, so I never had this problem.
Now what I love about this hotel, parking is free, the rooms are clean and neat, the bathrooms are very nice, basically the only drawer space is 2 night stands, and 2 tiny drawers one in the TV stand and the other in the desk with mirror. You do have a small closet, chair, and small table and floor lamp next to the chair. The closet has a full size mirrored doors.
The bathrooms are nice, even though they are a small, they are visually attractive.
The hotel location is perfect you can walk to the theater district, and Times Square and walk to the Jacob Javitz Center. The room has a 32 inch flat screen TV.
I would not stay on the North side again, I would request the room on the South side.
There is no coffee maker or refrigerator in the room, there is a small coffee shop located right next door to the hotel, which I believe closes early. The staff is very accommodating.
The hotel has internet access in the lobby for a fee.
I will submit more photos by Sunday March 30th

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Sheila_Friedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel has a great location, especially if you are driving into the city. If you take the Lincoln Tunnel it is just two blocks off the tunnel so you do not have to do much city driving. It has free parking which is an amazing plus! From the hotel you can jump on the subway to get anywhere you want. It is close to the Hudson River where the intrepid is docked and where many cruise ship depart. The Circle Line also departs from the harbor just blocks from the hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms by the outdoor pool if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 982cyndyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stay in the city 2-3 times a year and drive each time. We take our 2 young children every time. The free parking basically equates to a free nights stay. The staff is fine, honestly how often do you deal with them? You check in, you check out. The hotel is always clean and so are the rooms. The hotel is located across from a police station so safety isn't a concern. There is a cafe basically attached to the garage which is super convenient with young ones. The location is great. Your far enough away from the bustle but close enough to get there quickly. You are 3 blocks from Times Square and the theaters. This hotel for the money is perfect for us. We don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigWills79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#389 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 469 in New York City
4,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#393 of 469 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#268 of 469 in New York City
2,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $117 - $1,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing