We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, perfect for tourists.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #340 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent, perfect for tourists.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my visit, the staff is super friendly and helpful, the hotel is very clean, a secure, the police station is across the street, there is a Deli for breakfast next door, off broadway theaters nearby, walking distance to time square, theater district, restaurant row, port authority Bus station, I highly recommend this hotel, I would book it again anytime, the price is reasonable and you get your money's worth. Perfect for tourists, families and I rest time visitors.

Room Tip: Smile, say please and thank you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19JZtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    848
    376
    104
    87
See reviews for
700
316
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in May. We mainly picked it due to the swimming pool, the location and the generally good reviews. The room was a little small and the decor faded but very clean. The price was good for NY and the reception staff always very helpful. Broadway Deli next door great for breakfast and the pool was lovely for an afternoon cool down. I would recommend this hotel for families or couples on a budget trip to NY.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canastota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

It is in the right location, that's it. Don't stay in north tower, you have to go thru a parking garage to get to elevator to your room, not cool. Hot water was a problem, no luggage racks in room, no coffee pots in room, no breakfast included, paper thin walls hear everything in other rooms.

Room Tip: Just don't go in north tower the rooms are to the outside...not indoors, and you have to go thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joybobbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry if your experience was not a great one. In the future, please always let our staff know if there are hot water issues as we strive for every one of our guests to feel comfortable while with us and the same for issues such as luggage racks as we could have brought one up to you immediately. Unfortunately, as we don't have our own restaurant in house, we don't carry free breakfast but do have room service for our property. I do hope that you will give our property a second chance as it seems with a few little issues, your stay would have been a success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been there on our New York trip last spring for five nights and it was horrible. Our teacher seriously considered switching to another Hotel.
The rooms are immensly dirty and dark, you do not really want to sleep on the dirty beds or take a shower in the disgusting, tight bathroom.
To get to your room you have to enter the lift and staircases trough a parkinglot. The Staff is very unfriendly and very unwilling to work.

A good thing 'bout this Hotel is that it is near the Times Square right in Downtown NY. And that it is cheap. That's about it.

Room Tip: just do not book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdiplomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We choose this hotel because of the great reviews and the FREE parking (great saving already if you travel with a car and stay for a couple of days). First of all, the check in took about 1 minutes! Our room was great (it was a double double), not modern but very clean and had a fridge and the microwave in it, that was a huge bonus for us,we bought milk for the kids at the Food Emporium (just around the corner), and it was great to keep it in a fridge overnight and warm it up in the morning in the micro (I also took some mugs from home, so I made my own tea as well, great for saving because this city is very expensive) Anyway, the location was excellent for us. This hotel is close to many attractions, we walked to Time square, Empire state building, and to the New york public library. We also took a taxi to the north end of the Central park and walked back to the hotel (our kids loved it, just need comfortable shoes). Our stay was short, only couple of days, but if we get a chance to go back to New York, we definitely stay at Travel Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kistunderke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hey New York is New York! LOL. Well overall the for the price being offered in New York it was well worth it. Don't get me wrong, ALL hotel prices in New York are quite costly, but this hotel was reasonable and worth every penny. The location of the building was good. It was close to time square and close to the convention center station. Banks close by, as well as CVS pharmacy and other pubs.
The rooms are average but well maintaned. If you are easily annoyed with noise, car honking, sirens, train sounds; GUESS WHAT?! New York is not for you. HAHAHAHAHA but once you experience it the the noise become music to your soul.
I highly recommend Travel, Inn, especially if you want to save, spend some time within the city that never sleeps and enjoy the BIG APPLE Experience. Two Thumbs Up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PNieves72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so happy your stay was a success! We strive to make every guest comfortable while staying with us but sometimes NY normal noise gets in the way so thank you for understanding that. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Took daughter for a college visit and found this place via Tripadvisor. I had originally planned to stay in NJ and travel to NYC by NJ Transit Bus. Once I discovered free parking on 42nd Street I was sold. Rooms are smaller than a modern hotel, but we didn't spend time there anyway. Coffee and tea in the lobby were of good quality. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTravlnMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and hopefully your daughter decides on school in the city and we get you for 4 years coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#280 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#264 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#334 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#258 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#227 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing