We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #334 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Honestly, it was not bad. The hotel is close to Times Square and it is spacious. However, it needs some upgrading. It has really bad elevators and I had to walk around to the back of the building just to get to my room. Hotel staff was kind of rude and not knowledgable at all about the area. The rooms had barely any amenities. It is cheap, though, so you can't really expect five star service. Decent for it's value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdeca009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Travel Inn and we enjoyed our stay. The rates were very reasonable (around $200/night). The room was modern, HUGE by New York City standards, clean and quiet. The best part was the free parking - pretty much the ONLY free parking at a hotel anywhere in NYC. Parking was not valet, and you could take your car in and out yourself anytime if you wanted. The location was great. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was a very short walk from Times Square and right next to the bus station. The room was a double double, very clean and spacious but the entrance to the hotel and elevators etc was very old fashioned. I believe the upgrading was just beginning.
Female reception staff were rude and abrupt.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edin_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we are indeed in the midst of a small lobby renovation highlighted by our new elevators. I am sorry if our staff was curt with you in any way and I would ask you to call our Management office regarding this if you felt slighted in any way. We strive to have the best customer service towards our guests and take this very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is only a couple blocks from Times Square, less then two block from port authority bus terminal and the subway. Incase you are driving then the hotel also has free parking. The rooms were spacious and clean. The price was also reasonable compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vipul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a great bargain IF your schedule is flexible. During the Chrismas holidays, weekend rates are $300 per night (plus lots of taxes) but since we have a flexible schedule, we were able to book a room at $140 per night during the week - which is a very good rate when you consider parking is included.

Our room had a mini refrigerator and a microwave oven, which was handy for storing and heating leftovers.

This hotel is very well situated and you can walk just about everywhere if you have the mobility to do so. There are numerous overseas groups who book this hotel. Last year it was French and Germans - this year it was Spanish. It is VERY popular so it is important to book in advance.

The series Law and Order was being filmed while we were there, which created a very minor incovenince.

The hotel is very well run and clean. I would recomend it as a good alternative to the hotels which cost at least twice as much in New York. However, it is not the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a quiet location not facing 42nd St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. Very good tip indeed about checking your calendar as midweek rates can sometimes be much better than weekend rates. I am sorry for the inconvenience of filming and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great place to stay, very central. Hotel clean, staff freindly and no problems with the lifts or free Wi Fi. Room spacious, asked to be in a quiet room by e mail before we arrived, the hotel responded straight away that we would be. Walked everywhere, as it was so central, a few mins. from Times square. Recommend you do the free walking tours with a guide. We did one that started at Times square, and finished just before the Rockefeller centre. Very good food shop just a few mins. from hotel a good deli just round the corner. Stayed with my 2 grown up children from the 8/12/12 till 15/12/12. Wonderful time would def. stay at hotel again

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, we stayed on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleneNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review and we look forward to your return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Me, my wife and our 6 month old baby daughter stayed at the Travel Inn from 28th Nov - 5th Dec 2012.
We'd never been to New York and wanted somewhere quite central to Times Square as we figured that was the place to be.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, about 3-4 blocks away from Times Square and a 10 minute walk with a stroller away!
Our room had two double beds, fridge, and microwave which really helped us for storing/warming baby food.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and a train line does run directly underneath the hotel, to be honest we only heard the trains in the morning (around 9am) when we up and getting ready anyway.
There is a bar and police station directly opposite the hotel, but we never had any problems walking home late with baby or any noise issues

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzypomjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#343 of 469 in New York City
736 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#357 of 469 in New York City
4,390 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#195 of 469 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#270 of 469 in New York City
2,553 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#264 of 469 in New York City
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $164 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing