We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay at Travel Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #330 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great stay at Travel Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Travel Inn and we enjoyed our stay. The rates were very reasonable (around $200/night). The room was modern, HUGE by New York City standards, clean and quiet. The best part was the free parking - pretty much the ONLY free parking at a hotel anywhere in NYC. Parking was not valet, and you could take your car in and out yourself anytime if you wanted. The location was great. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    832
    362
    98
    86
See reviews for
676
306
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel was a very short walk from Times Square and right next to the bus station. The room was a double double, very clean and spacious but the entrance to the hotel and elevators etc was very old fashioned. I believe the upgrading was just beginning.
Female reception staff were rude and abrupt.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edin_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are indeed in the midst of a small lobby renovation highlighted by our new elevators. I am sorry if our staff was curt with you in any way and I would ask you to call our Management office regarding this if you felt slighted in any way. We strive to have the best customer service towards our guests and take this very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is only a couple blocks from Times Square, less then two block from port authority bus terminal and the subway. Incase you are driving then the hotel also has free parking. The rooms were spacious and clean. The price was also reasonable compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,306 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,543 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a great bargain IF your schedule is flexible. During the Chrismas holidays, weekend rates are $300 per night (plus lots of taxes) but since we have a flexible schedule, we were able to book a room at $140 per night during the week - which is a very good rate when you consider parking is included.

Our room had a mini refrigerator and a microwave oven, which was handy for storing and heating leftovers.

This hotel is very well situated and you can walk just about everywhere if you have the mobility to do so. There are numerous overseas groups who book this hotel. Last year it was French and Germans - this year it was Spanish. It is VERY popular so it is important to book in advance.

The series Law and Order was being filmed while we were there, which created a very minor incovenince.

The hotel is very well run and clean. I would recomend it as a good alternative to the hotels which cost at least twice as much in New York. However, it is not the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a quiet location not facing 42nd St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. Very good tip indeed about checking your calendar as midweek rates can sometimes be much better than weekend rates. I am sorry for the inconvenience of filming and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great place to stay, very central. Hotel clean, staff freindly and no problems with the lifts or free Wi Fi. Room spacious, asked to be in a quiet room by e mail before we arrived, the hotel responded straight away that we would be. Walked everywhere, as it was so central, a few mins. from Times square. Recommend you do the free walking tours with a guide. We did one that started at Times square, and finished just before the Rockefeller centre. Very good food shop just a few mins. from hotel a good deli just round the corner. Stayed with my 2 grown up children from the 8/12/12 till 15/12/12. Wonderful time would def. stay at hotel again

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, we stayed on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marleneNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review and we look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Me, my wife and our 6 month old baby daughter stayed at the Travel Inn from 28th Nov - 5th Dec 2012.
We'd never been to New York and wanted somewhere quite central to Times Square as we figured that was the place to be.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, about 3-4 blocks away from Times Square and a 10 minute walk with a stroller away!
Our room had two double beds, fridge, and microwave which really helped us for storing/warming baby food.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and a train line does run directly underneath the hotel, to be honest we only heard the trains in the morning (around 9am) when we up and getting ready anyway.
There is a bar and police station directly opposite the hotel, but we never had any problems walking home late with baby or any noise issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzypomjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Awesome hotel. Great location, perfect for all the sites of Manhattan. Only 10 minutes stroll to Times square. Hotel was clean and warm at all times. Friendly staff. Very safe area, lots of bars and restraunts very close by. The deli next door is fab for breakfast. Will definatly stay here again when i return to New York.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#284 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#294 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#219 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#316 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing