We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the calendar for best rates” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,409 helpful votes
“Check the calendar for best rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a great bargain IF your schedule is flexible. During the Chrismas holidays, weekend rates are $300 per night (plus lots of taxes) but since we have a flexible schedule, we were able to book a room at $140 per night during the week - which is a very good rate when you consider parking is included.

Our room had a mini refrigerator and a microwave oven, which was handy for storing and heating leftovers.

This hotel is very well situated and you can walk just about everywhere if you have the mobility to do so. There are numerous overseas groups who book this hotel. Last year it was French and Germans - this year it was Spanish. It is VERY popular so it is important to book in advance.

The series Law and Order was being filmed while we were there, which created a very minor incovenince.

The hotel is very well run and clean. I would recomend it as a good alternative to the hotels which cost at least twice as much in New York. However, it is not the Ritz.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a quiet location not facing 42nd St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. Very good tip indeed about checking your calendar as midweek rates can sometimes be much better than weekend rates. I am sorry for the inconvenience of filming and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    807
    332
    93
    83
See reviews for
643
293
49
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A great place to stay, very central. Hotel clean, staff freindly and no problems with the lifts or free Wi Fi. Room spacious, asked to be in a quiet room by e mail before we arrived, the hotel responded straight away that we would be. Walked everywhere, as it was so central, a few mins. from Times square. Recommend you do the free walking tours with a guide. We did one that started at Times square, and finished just before the Rockefeller centre. Very good food shop just a few mins. from hotel a good deli just round the corner. Stayed with my 2 grown up children from the 8/12/12 till 15/12/12. Wonderful time would def. stay at hotel again

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, we stayed on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marleneNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for such a glowing review and we look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Me, my wife and our 6 month old baby daughter stayed at the Travel Inn from 28th Nov - 5th Dec 2012.
We'd never been to New York and wanted somewhere quite central to Times Square as we figured that was the place to be.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, about 3-4 blocks away from Times Square and a 10 minute walk with a stroller away!
Our room had two double beds, fridge, and microwave which really helped us for storing/warming baby food.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and a train line does run directly underneath the hotel, to be honest we only heard the trains in the morning (around 9am) when we up and getting ready anyway.
There is a bar and police station directly opposite the hotel, but we never had any problems walking home late with baby or any noise issues

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzypomjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Awesome hotel. Great location, perfect for all the sites of Manhattan. Only 10 minutes stroll to Times square. Hotel was clean and warm at all times. Friendly staff. Very safe area, lots of bars and restraunts very close by. The deli next door is fab for breakfast. Will definatly stay here again when i return to New York.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good value good location good parking older but renovated, go to hotel web site they also have other,s if this is not available, book in advance, do not eat at hotel go to 9th ave lots of choice, walking distance to time square

Room Tip: choose faceing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you're driving into the city from the Lincoln Tunnel, this place is ideal. Within walking distance to the Theater District and tons of great restaurants. The prices have gone up over the years but it's still fair considering parking is included and you can pull in and out at your leisure. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom is small and older but we had a fridge which was handy. There was no thermostat control in the room, only for the blower which I guess blows hot or cold depending on the weather. If you do have to open the window, it's a little noisy as there's a club and a police station right across the street. There's also a convenient little coffee shop right next door. Overall, not the best but far from the worst. If you can get it for a decent price, it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kr1st1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel is centrally located and well positioned for all the usual tourist traps - The room was clean but antiquated. Bathroom is very small and WiFi did not work for 1 of the 3 nights I stayed. It's probably worth mentioning to the management that the bandwidth sucks - I was unable to make any skype calls during the stay. The heating was poor and the maid did not refresh the shampoo / shower gel meaning I had to wash my hair in a bar of soap on the last day.

Will not be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#280 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,217 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#223 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#342 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#259 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing