We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not a bad stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #328 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a college trip to New York. It was very clean and spacious (this is taking into consideration that there was 4 teenage girls sharing a double double room). The Diner downstairs was amazing, i loved it, really nice food and very cheap. The staff are very nice and extremely helpful.

My only issue with this hotel was the fact that we had a very drippy tap and had to keep a towel under it to stop the noise. Other than that it was a very nice hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: We loved our room with two double beds, very spacious and comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabbiSixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments and we look forward to your next stay. On your next stay, please always let us know about plumbing issues or problems as we can fix this pretty quickly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    832
    362
    99
    86
See reviews for
676
307
52
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal, QC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

There are many worse hotels in New York, and of course many far better ones, but Travel Inn is an acceptable choice if you find a very good rate online and want to save your travel budget for entertainment. This is a drab and dispiriting hotel, in need of renovation, but overall clean and minimally comfortable.
Room: not overly small for NY; bed is old style hard with poorish linens. Furnishings are average, but new flat TV has sufficient channels. The worst element is the total lack of control over heat/cooling (minimum fan control) and I was glad to be able to open the window.
Bathroom: very small but new enough; hot water always available; lighting good.
Location: Not bad on 42nd/10th Ave., easy walk to several theaters, good subway access within two blocks, several breakfast choices in easy range.
Summary: This is a bargain-hunter's hotel, and acceptable at a low price. I will add that I was travelling alone and felt safe and secure in the hotel and vicinity.

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for an interior room facing in on the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Lake, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We recently stayed here and were not unhappy with our stay. It was very clean..but thats about it. We booked a king room and got 2 dbls....the bathroom we had was VERY small...and the room was extremely hot with no temperature control.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBug0020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments and let me apologize if there were any glitches in your stay regarding your reservation. I ask you in the future to immediately ask for our Management staff who will be sure to fix your problem right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I go to Manhattan often and am always looking for good deals on hotels. In the city, they are few and far between so I usually stay in either Queens or across the Hudson in NJ. I've stayed in this hotel twice because I've gotten a good price. If you pay over $130...it's too much for this place and you're better off staying out of the city at a better hotel.

Cons:
There is no free internet. There is a computer in the lobby and they have WiFi, for a fee. Seriously.
There is no free breakfast. The pillows are uncomfortable. The elevator is v-e-r-y slow and there is only 1 for each side of the building. Smoking is allowed at the pool area which was horrible to breathe, while lying out trying to relax. The front desk staff(and garage person) aren't friendly or helpful AT ALL. They actually made me feel like I was annoying them if I had to ask a question. I noticed they were nicer toward Europeans. If you're American, you're out of luck for some helpfulness. I sat and observed that this was not just toward me.
Pros:
Loved the pool area itself. Lots of chairs and the area is pretty. If not for the chain-smoker, it would have been perfect. I love the location of the hotel. Not the neighborhood itself, it's a little sketchy, but it is safe. I've never felt afraid walking, even at night. I do love the fact that it's just about a 10 minute walk to the theater district and from there...the rest of Manhattan!

Would I stay here again? Yes. For the amount of time you actually spend needing nice people at the front desk, elevator usage, or the internet...it's worth it if you pay under $130.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlamBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This location is only 2 avenues from a major subway hub which makes getting around simple, and they also offer free parking. It's about a 10-15 minute walk to the theater district and Times Square.

The rooms are clean and accommodating, but they do get very warm in the colder months and you have no control over the heat.

The rollaway beds are more comfortable then other places I've stayed and cost $15 extra a night.

Also, the water pressure in the showers is AWESOME and the bathrooms don't get humid after taking a hot shower so you can easily dry and change without that "sauna" feeling.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrityNPunk887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Public Relations Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked the last room for a work trip. Check in was easy and the room was very basic. It was dated, but wasn't dirty. The one elevator was broken and it took forever for the second one. We just did a quick overnight stay and can't really complain but there are definitely better hotels.

The pillows are rocks! Bring your own if you like soft pillows. We were on the third floor and could hear the garage door opening and closing.

Note that we paid a very discounted rate due to points through hotels.com. Based on our price it wasn't a bad value but I wouldn't have paid any more.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't hear the garage door opening and closing (I'm guessing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chitterne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in, although it is in a good location.

One lift not working and the other one very very slow and seemingly easily confused! Intermittent Internet in the lobby only, kept dropping out and requiring a new access code which could only be got from the receptionists, who were rather reticent to give them out in case too many users tried to log on, which would stop the system apparently!!

Rooms were poor. No tea or coffee, no functioning controls on the heating system, and generally not very clean. This culminated in returning to the rooms late one morning to find cockroaches running across clothes left on a chair. Hotel staff did not seem to care and were impossibly inflexible when we asked to move rooms. They said they would have it cleaned and checked which they did not do as they were still there on our return later that afternoon.

We were in a front room facing the Main Street which made sleeping rather challenging on Friday and saturday night, when the bar and night club opposite finished.

The pool was for summer use only, although we did not see that written down on the website or in the hotel anywhere and it was something specific that we had wanted. We had to ask why it wasn't open. The gym was poorly equipped, although to be fair, it was vaguely functional.

The poor experience was topped off by a concierge service which apparently was not available to move bags until asked 3 or 4 times.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#259 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#285 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#288 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#316 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#228 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing