We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Inn Hotel, New York City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Ranked #338 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travel Inn Hotel, New York City”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just returned from my first trip to NYC. Stayed 3 nights at the Travel Inn Hotel on 42nd Street. Have to give the hotel an "Average" rating. Location was great...comfortable walking distance to pretty much everything around Times Square, Theater District, Fashion District, etc. Got a decent rate (for NYC standards) from getaroom.com ($200/night). The hotel itself was old with a weird-like musty smell in the lobby. No big deal if you plan to enjoy the city and not the hotel room. I have to say that this is probably the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. First night stayed in a room right off the elevator. Bad idea. Heard EVERYTHING...ALL NIGHT. Hotel staff accommodated and gave us another room for our last two nights. Elevator sounds were muffled somewhat, but not sure why we could hear all of the bathroom noises in the next room. Reached under the bed to grab the tv remote, came out with the biggest rat trap I've ever seen. In all fairness, the room itself was visually clean enough for what we needed it for. The hotel staff, although not overly friendly, was accomodating, and the location was good. If you're looking for the Ritz, go there. If you're looking for a place to lay your head after a long day of NYC shennanigans, then I would recommend the Travel Inn on 42nd.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Thank you for your recent comments and I am happy that besides some early issues, the stay seemed to be a success. I am also happy that our staff was able to accomodate you with your change of room as I understand that some persons are a bit sensative to the elevator sounds. We don't get this often at all but do our best to accomodate our guests with any situation that arises. Our mousetraps are very precautionary as we are in New York so I apologize if this startled you. We do hope to see you again at the Travel Inn and wish you well.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    857
    380
    105
    89
See reviews for
712
320
51
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The Travel Inn is a really nice hotel at a good price. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It is fairly close to Times Square and Broadway. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We just stayed at the Travel Inn last Sunday and Monday (Oct 23 and 24, 2011). We arrived early (about 4 hours before checking time) and they let us park our car for free so we can enjoy New York City for the first time. The hotel was clean and I felt safe. The parking garage was secure and I felt comfortable leaving my car there. The hotel was also walking distance to most of the major attractions of Manhattan. It was close to Circle Line Cruises (tour to the Statue of Liberty, Brooklyn Bridge, etc) and the Intreped Air & Space Museum (which had the Concord, the Intreped Aircraft Carrier, Growler Submarine, etc). It was also walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building (a little lenghty walk for the Empire State, but you can do it), etc. The hotel recommended diner (Theater Row Diner) was excellent for breakfast (there is also a Bagle place besides the hotel). I rate this hotel as an excellent for the price, clean rooms, free parking and would definitely stay there again!!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Travel Inn Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We thank you for your kind words and we are so happy that your stay was a success. We look forward to your next stay with us in the near future.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal for Times Square & the Theatre District. I highly recommend it. 3 friends & I shared a quad room that had two double beds, bathroom. It was clean, comfortable & relatively roomy. We had a full size fridge, a microwave and larger flat screen TV than usual (not that we watched it). It was more like a mini apartment than a hotel bedroom. Disappointed there was not a kettle but we got around it by heating water in the microwave for our brews. Maid service daily meant we had clean towels as well as a cleaned room every day. We stayed for 4 nights (Friday to Monday) and had such a great time we all said we would use this hotel when we next visit New York. It was very reasonably priced ($310 each for the 4 nights) - the epitome of 'Cheap and cheerful'.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Decided about a month ago to visit NYC for the weekend. It was too late to book early and get in on any hotel deals, so I had to search quite a bit to find a hotel with a rate that was affordable for our trip. The Travel Inn gave us that rate and the free parking is what made up our mind to stay there. We had a room with two double beds, which gave us enough space, but the bathroom was quite small and there was no exhaust fan. Overall it was clean and within walking distance to subway, restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bongo330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Overall good stay. Most inexpensive we found on the mid west side. Closer to Times Sq than you might think. Was in the theater district and is only a few feet from the Emporium grocery store and a CVS pharmacy. Theater Row diner was a good place for us for breakfast each day. Overall there isnt alot to do at the hotel but we didnt spend alot of time in the room. Room was clean and quiet. I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasondailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This was a great find because of the location and the indoor parking, no extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#337 of 467 in New York City
729 reviews
Midtown
Skyline Hotel
Skyline Hotel
#266 of 467 in New York City
2,513 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#353 of 467 in New York City
4,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan Club
The Manhattan Club
#189 of 467 in New York City
1,373 reviews
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#377 of 467 in New York City
680 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn Hotel New York

Property: Travel Inn Hotel New York
Address: 515 W 42nd St, New York City, NY 10036-6205
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#223 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn Hotel New York 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travel Inn Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel New York City
Travel Hotel New York City
Travel Inn New York City
Travel Inn Manhattan
Travel Inn Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing