We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #261 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2007

I was excited at the prospect of staying at what can only be considered to be one of New York's great landmarks - but my excitement soon turned to disappointment on arriving at what can only be considered a 'has been'. This started as soon as the lobby - where there were so few staff on check-in that the queue was ten deep. After travelling for the better part of 24 hours - this was the last thing I needed.

Then the room - it was more like the spare room at a great uncle's place who hasn't touched it since the 50s or the 60s. There were absolutely no modern conveniences. The furniture was old (worn not antique). The heating didn't work properly. The room was small. Everything was overpriced.

I disliked it so much that I checked out early and moved across the road.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank KTee:P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,502 - 9,508 of 11,544 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Waldorf Astoria from 14th to 19th December 2006 and I have to admit to being a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews.

On arrival the lobby of the Hotel certainly has the "wow" factor and is always busy with people either checking in, checking out, sightseeing or on conferences (as was the case when we were there). If you want a nice little quiet Hotel then don't go to New York and stay at one of the tourist attrations!

We did have to queue to check-in for approx 10-15 minutes but the staff were helpful and friendly at all times. One bonus was the free safety deposit box facility that the hotel offers - take advantage and keep your Passport and valuables safe !

We were allocated a room on the 11th floor (we had booked a king size deluxe) and had a side view of Park Avenue. The room was spacious, well appointed had a good size bathroom and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. There was no sign of wear and tear, peeling wallpaper etc that has been mentioned in some of the other reviews. The room was also very quiet, we could hear no road noise or blasting of horns and had 5 nights blissful sleep.

We were on a room only basis and actually never got around to either having a meal or a drink at the Hotel so can't comment on food quality/service - it was my first trip to New York and we were so busy that we basically just went back to the hotel to sleep.

Our stay at the Waldorf was fantastic (it's location on Park Avenue is perfect) and we would go back tomorrow if we could !

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank D4SUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria Jan 2007, with Hilton Honors points. There was a short wait to check in but staff and customers, alike, were very courteous. I think it's fair to say that my husband and I were thrilled with this hotel. Our room was very spacious and nicely appointed. We stayed in the "Astor Suite" It boasts a living room, bedroom, 2 bathrooms & 2 TV's. It was quiet, clean and very comfortable (also had plenty of closet space and nice robes). The staff was friendly, attentive and very helpful. We also enjoyed room service, having lobster & steak, both were prepared perfectly, and arrived to the room on a quaint little table with white linens and serving domes. What a treat! It was a pleasure to experience such a NYC landmark. We'll definitely stay at the Waldorf next time we are in the city.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MissBette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2007

Me and my husband stayed at The Waldorf for 5 nights from December 30th to January 4th. I'd always wanted to stay there and my expectations were high. We were told check-in time was 3pm but we had arrived early (just after 2pm) and thought we'd see if we could check-in early. We were expecting a wait to be honest but there was no problem and the extremely friendly and helpful Timothy checked us in. The room was a decent size (1 bed king room) and was extremely clean and comfortable. The bathroom was perfectly adequate with space for toiletries and was spotlessly clean. We had pre-arranged champagne afternoon tea and it was fabulous. The service was excellent and the staff were friendly without being over the top. We had room service a couple of times and the service, again, was excellent. It was also the nicest burger and fries we had during the whole trip! The hotel certainly has the wow factor especially in the lobbies and we can't wait to go back. The only negative I could find was when we sat in Sir Harry's bar one evening. The service was slow and the waitress got me the wrong drink - twice! However, I wouldn't let this put me off - we went in the bar on our last day and the service was faultless.

A fantastic, traditional hotel that we loved.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank manicsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

We just returned from the Waldorf - January 2, 2007 to January 5, 2007. This is simply an elegant hotel - just so New York. We wanted our children 12 and 14 to get a true New York experience so we went all the way. Although the Plaza would have been our first choice in the "old days" since they are under renovation and we had stayed at the Waldorf before on business and always found it to be very nice we thought it would be a good choice and that it was. We had a mini suite with 2 bathrooms, and yes, it was old, but done so tastefully and in such timeless decor. The location is just the best, and one our children will never forget - we walked everywhere - central park, times square, 5th avenue, you name it. We also visited ground zero that was so very sad. We truly knew the World Trade Centers with the 5 buildings and spent so much time in meetings at the Windows on the World Club. Without seeing and knowing the "before" I think our children simply saw it as a "construction site."They understand how many lives were lost, but to truly understand the devistation was difficult for them as they saw us with tears in our eyes.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nancysellsremax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Stayed here from Jan. 1st thru Jan. 4th, 2007. While plenty of people were checking in, the wait was less than 15 minutes. The staff is what makes this hotel. They were extremely friendly and helpful. We were given complimentary vouchers for breakfast at Oscars when checking in. The breakfast was a buffet and was excellent. The waiters were attentive to our needs. The room is on the small side but not unusual for NY. We have experienced this at several other hotels in the area. We had no control over the thermostat even though it was a comfortable temperature. The bathroom was small and there isn't a place to leave your toiletry items. Plaster peeling on the ceiling but that is because there isn't a vent to pull out the steam. They delivered the newspaper to our room every morning. The hotel fire alarm went off twice, once in the evening and once about 8:30 am. On the evening alarm, they stated wait for further instructions but never came back with any instructions so we finallly went down 16 floors to the lobby along with other guests. We assumed it was a false alarm even though they didn't say that. The next morning, we ignored the alarm. The location is excellent and that is why we chose to stay at the Waldorf.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2007

myself and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel from 8th-10th dec 2006 at one of the suites.
checking in was a bit of a problem as it was rather overcrowded we had about a 15 min wait which wasnt a problem as it was a very busy time of the year, the staff were very pleasant and looked after ourselves.
there seemed to be a function on all day every day in every room so we were dodging lots of people dressed in tux`s and ball gowns.
waiting for lifts was a nightmare as they slow and always crowded, so getting two bags in with everyone else didnt seem to go down too well, there was a lot of people who obviously thought alot of themselves staying there.(thats not the hotels fault)
the room was fabulous very clean and tidy and so much space, it was very quiet at night so had a nice relaxing stay.
location wise its good not far from tube and a short distance walk from shops which is worth doing.
would definately stay here again, its my second stay here but the crowds didnt put me off.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stu&jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#107 of 470 in New York City
2,387 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 470 in New York City
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
773 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#138 of 470 in New York City
211 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#52 of 470 in New York City
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing