We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a must stay in this famous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #266 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“a must stay in this famous hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

myself and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel from 8th-10th dec 2006 at one of the suites.
checking in was a bit of a problem as it was rather overcrowded we had about a 15 min wait which wasnt a problem as it was a very busy time of the year, the staff were very pleasant and looked after ourselves.
there seemed to be a function on all day every day in every room so we were dodging lots of people dressed in tux`s and ball gowns.
waiting for lifts was a nightmare as they slow and always crowded, so getting two bags in with everyone else didnt seem to go down too well, there was a lot of people who obviously thought alot of themselves staying there.(thats not the hotels fault)
the room was fabulous very clean and tidy and so much space, it was very quiet at night so had a nice relaxing stay.
location wise its good not far from tube and a short distance walk from shops which is worth doing.
would definately stay here again, its my second stay here but the crowds didnt put me off.

  • Liked — the size of the rooms and the quality
  • Disliked — the price, very very expensive
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stu&jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,598
    3,127
    2,066
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,061
3,923
399
1,879
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,974)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights, including Christmas. It was busy but, after all, this was the holiday period AND New York so what else do you expect? We found an amazing deal - $279 per night through AAA - so I assume we were in one of the least prestigous rooms in the hotel (the front desk guy told me there are over 1400 rooms). Despite being the 'poor cousins', I am left with the overwhelming impression of comfort and history.

The room was pretty average sized, but the sheets were soft and the doona/comforter/duvet and pillows were oh-so-luxurious. The spacious bathroom was clean, the towels and huge floor mat were super plush, the toilet tissue was thick and soft (I'm sure you wanted to know that). There was plenty of storage space in the room so that we weren't stepping over ourselves to move around the room and all the fittings were in top condition and worked (which isn't aways the case in other hotels). The room didn't smell of anything; not smoke, not dampness, not horrible airfreshners; we couldn't hear noises from the neighbouring rooms and we had control of the air conditioning. On a more superficial note; the decor was homey and tasteful without being 'musak for the eyes'.

The TV included internet access, however I didn't try it out. Instead, I used the business center downstairs (which was expensive but efficient). The 'fridge had a well stocked mini bar and the coffee supplied for the coffee maker was a really nice medium blend. Unfortunately we were only supplied with coffee whitener instead milk or cream, but there is a little deli across the road (Dominicas) where we could buy fresh milk and as we left each day, which picked up a treat-coffee from the Starbucks shop inside the front entrance of the building.

The staff were all great: helpful, attentive, polite and sometimes charming, only one of them was snooty-polite; the rest were quite down to earth. Each day our room was cleaned nicely. We don't come from a tipping culture so I wasn't sure how much tip we should leave in the room each day (so we left about $3), but it didn't seem to affect the quality of the room cleaning (which is not always the case).

The history of the place made it an extra special place to stay and you can feel it the minute you walk into the building. There have been movies set in the Waldorf, (eg 1945 'Week-End at the Waldorf ' or 2004 'Alfie') so it might enhance the experience to watch these movies before you stay at the hotel. Once you get there, check out the mosaic floors in the entrance and the art deco decor throughout the building. I regret that we didn't find some reason to spend some time sitting in the waiting chairs of the lobby and reception to enjoy the view and soak up the ambiance.

Another great feature of the hotel is it's centrall location. It is one of the route stops of the grey line hop-on-hop-off bus tour. Its also a pleasant walk to central park. If you're comfortable walking a mile or so, you can easily get to HEAPs of NY attractions, including Empire State Building, Rockerfella centre, St Pat's Cathedral, Times Square, The United Nations and a large chunk of the Broadway theatres.

Having said all that about the Waldorf Astoria, I'd be happy to pay $100 less per nite and catch the subway into the city each day from Brooklyn or New Jersey. But, as a once-in-a-lifetime treat, it was definitely worth it.

  • Liked — The historic background of the hotel
  • Disliked — Price
  • Tips/Secrets — Cut down on eating-out costs by purchasing snacks from Dominica's deli is across the road in 51st Street and stash them in the in-room 'fridge
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank happysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

Have just returned from a five night stay at the Waldorf (28th December - 2nd January) I have to say how disappointed I was with the hotel. Travelled with family (2 adults + 2 teenagers) for the New Year Period. On arrival the hotel lobby was absolutely jam-packed full of people waiting to check in. We had to wait a couple of hours for the room to be ready. We paid top rate even though we booked directly with the hotel and felt that it was not worth the money. Yes, the first impression was "wow" on entering the building but after seeing the room this was not the case.
The room was a "deluxe" double-bedded room which for four people was certainly not adequate. The bathroom was tiny (and dusty round the edges) and the bedroom definately needed up-dating. I appreciate that it is art deco style but it didn't quite work.
I didn't feel that there was any personal attention, I think we were just numbers and nobody actually asked if we had enjoyed our stay as they will fill the hotel regardless.
I would look at other "boutique" type hotels for our next visit. We went to Gordon Ramsey's new restaurant at the London NYC and that was really smart. If you have the money stay there as the hotel and location is fantastic. Also the Palace hotel looked very nice, but again probably more expendsive than the Waldorf.
Having said all the above - New York is a fantastic place to visit. We booked tickets for the Empire State Building on line but still had to queue up for about 30 minutes to actually get in the building but you then bypass the ticket office. Also I would suggest booking tickets for the Statue of Liberty as to go in the Statue they only allocate so many tickets per day, although you can still visit the island. Also went to the top of the Rockefeller Centre which was fantastic and I thought better than the Empire State. Central Park was lovely but the carriage ride was a rip-off as you only do a 20 minute circuit for 40$. Grand Central was well worth a visit as was SoHo for shopping as well as Macy's and Bloomingdales. My husband and son went to the Natural History Museum which they really enjoyed, they were there for quite a few hours!
We travelled on the subway quite comfortably and didn't feel anxious as I would have expected.
Finally on arrival we caught the train from Newark to Penn Street Station and then took a taxi to the Waldorf. Coming back we hopped on a coach (Newark Express) at 42nd street which runs every 15 minutes for $14 per person, as taxis are very expensive.
Enjoy!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Krissie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

The location of this hotel is great as you are right in the centre of Manhattan. The sightseeing 'hop on and off' buses stop right by the hotel). The hotel lobby has a definite wow factor and decor is impressive. We loved the feel of the hotel which has an elegance and grandeur in its main reception areas. Considering the amount of visitors to the hotel (we stayed between Christmas and New Year) the hotel was kept very clean and tidy. The flower arrangements in the main reception were beautiful and much admired by people. We found the staff to be very helpful in all departments. Trips were booked for us and our request for an adapter for our room was attended to that day. Staff were polite and attentive. There were obviously some very wealthy guests staying at the hotel during our time there but we were treated equally by the staff. Our room was on the 10th floor and was well appointed with two large beds for our family of three. The only criticism was that the bathroom washbasin was cracked but we considered this to be a minor issue. We did not have a view from the window but this did not concern us as it was dark by the time we returned to the hotel after a day sightseeing. I would have liked to open the window for some fresh air but this was not possible.
We stayed on a room only basis and had one meal at the Bull and Bear within the hotel. Although the Maitre'D was a touch formidable he did find us a table. The food though expensive was cooked to perfection and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. My husbands lamb was the best he had ever tasted at any hotel and my wild salmon was delicious.
We felt that the hotel was like a grand old lady and although she seems a little faded in parts this only adds to the charm of the place in a city where everything is so glisteningly new and perfect.

Helpful?
2 Thank nem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

*** GREAT EXPERIENCE*** we went for christmas dec. 22-27. i was a little concerned because of reviews i had read here.However, we loved it lovely hotel and great room(23rd. corner rm. overlooking park ave.) staff was first rate and a great location.Also,while your there see Jersey Boys best theatre exp.in many years.Happy new year!!!

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — none
  • Tips/Secrets — shop for best price
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank baxterMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2006

Staying at this hotel presently Suite 700F. Very busy Christmas period from 22dec - 27th dec. After travelling all night to get to the US we were told at reception at 10am that the room was not available till 3 that afternoon (check out time is 12 for suites then they have to clean the room). Lobby had a queue to wait for reception which took 15 minutes. Lots of tourists wandering through- felt like a lab rat-maybe I should have more bling on!! No transit room that we could wait in and the kids were very disappointed that they had to wait 5 hours till they could relax. Room is pleasant - homely. No view and the garbage trucks come past at 3am everymorning which is very noisy. The heater in the room looks like it was installed in the 60's and does not really heat the room.
All in all I enjoyed my stay here - it was pleasant - but have to admit for this hotel is not coping with the amount of people. Service is hit and miss as they are overworked. Never rang concierge without being put on hold for 5 minutes - same with going down there to ask questions. Today is the 26th dec and it has taken 4 days to recieve the newspaper on the door. Yesterday breakfast turned up without preserves, coffee and milk. Was informed that we were booked into the Peacock Alley for lunch and after waiting in the queue for 30minutes was advised the booking was at the Bull and Bear - not happy, Jan. The meal at the B & B was superb and made up for the wait. Starbucks for breakfast is the tip.

Stay again?? No. I have ticked the box. I feel that I am in an art deco building (which is nice) but the hotel is overcomitted (could be for the holiday season). Service is hit and miss and not personalised - I felt more like a room number rather than a paying customer.

  • Liked — Felt comfortable in the room, location
  • Disliked — service, room needs updating
  • Tips/Secrets — Starbucks for breakfast
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Hornet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriere, Mississippi
Level Contributor
159 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2006

We got an excellant rate, for a suite and breakfast...150 dollars and the hotel was outstanding good service the breakfast was a buffet (Oscars and was very good) location was outstanding smack in the middle of Midtown Manhattan well connected to the subway and made most of the sites we were visting walkable...

  • Liked — Historic nature of the property
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#314 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,243 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing