We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have not experiences New York if you have not stayed at the Waldorf Astoria!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #256 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2009

I Would most deffinately recommend this hotel to anyone who wants the ultimate New York experience. It's location is fantastic for first time visitors and experienced travellers. Nestled perfectly on Park Avenue you are a stones throw away from Grand Central Station which is not only a must see, but makes it easy for you to get around, and impossible to get lost. You are also within EASY walking distance from central park, rocker fella centre and many more attractions. Just tap the address into google maps and see for yourself!!!
Within the hotel you are greeted by the most helpful staff who are a credit to the hotel. Everywhere is spotless. The rooms are huge and come with all the facilities from irons, hair dryers to satelite television offering a decent range of programmes. Although I found that the power output from electircal appliances such as hair dryers and straighteners was weaker than I am used to, so ladies you may have to get up a little earlier for perfect hair!!!
The food is amazing with varieties to suit all tastes. Although not the cheapest, it is not necessarily expensive when you consider the expertise of the chef that is cooking for you!!! Not every day can you say an award winning chef has prepared your lunch...well you can when staying at the Waldorf.
You do not get the impression that the Waldorf attracts a "type" of traveller, there is always a range of people wandering in awe around the lobby from business associates to families, to couples. The hotel caters for the needs of all it's guests on an individual basis, which makes you feel invited to part of the hotel family (not a fish out of water)
My partner and I would never contemplate staying anywhere else and will be back as soon as possible!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkAnnabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,027 - 9,033 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2009

The Waldorf was once the grande dame of New York hotels. Now it is a joke. It swarms with ill-dressed tourists slouching around the once-famous clock in the central lobby. Anyone wearing a suit and tie feels desperately out of place.

However, if you appear in the lobby in business attire, not having realised when you reserved your NY hotel that Hilton has dumbed down this property beyond redemption, things will look up. You will likely be singled out by a staff member who will extricate you from the maddening hordes, whisk you into a private room off the lobby and check you in super politely and super promptly. It is the Waldorf's way of apologizing to its former clientele and it is a very welcome touch.

I find a junior suite at the Waldorf one of the best values in New York, about the same price as a regular room at the Regency across the street..You have to hold your nose in the elevator and you would never consider going into a hotel restaurant or lingering in the lobby. But, once behind the locked door of your bedroom, you can spread out in a large, comfortable space with all relevant amenities....though the bathrooms are still small and old-fashioned.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed at the Waldorf this past weekend and it was an unforgettable experience. The service, staff and accomodations were excellent. I was hoping for the upgrade I requested for a Tower level room to make my husbands birthday surprise over the top but unfortunately one was not available. Our corner room was very nice and large. I was concerned about having a small room with three people. The hotel was quiet and clean and the architecture was impressive. Not a single column without detail. Pride in the craftsmanship truely makes this hotel a must see on your nest trip to New York.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsB3Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I had booked a double double at the Waldorf through a booking agency after being assured it would be large enough for my family group. One adult, two teens of seperate gender.
On arrival when I checked that a rollaway bed was in the room I was told that the size of the room would not accommodate a rollaway. One look at my tired face and the reception staff swung into action, in no time at all we were installed into a two roomed suite. One king size bed in a bedroom and one double bed setee and one rollaway bed in the other room.
The rooms were beautiful, clean and fresh with no signs of wear and tear.The daily staff were accommodating and helpful at all times. The lobby of course is grand in every sense of the word.
Located near Central Station we found this hotel to be ideally placed and in easy walking distance for shops, restaurants and Central Park.
The only thing I missed was the ability to make a cup of tea when I woke at 5 in the morning, a small niggle only.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BinkaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We made a quick two night trip to NYC for my wife's birthday. We booked on-line and took them up on their offer of an upgrade if available at check in. I agreed to all three upgrade options and we wound up getting two bedroom suite. The rate was $329/night.

Clearly part of why we stayed at the Waldorf was its storied past. Indeed, the lobby oozes of old time class. Although I'm not sure how strictly enforced, they ask all men to wear slacks and a collared shirt after 6 pm. The room was comfortable, but the bathroom kind of small. Also no wireless internet in the room. (The room is wired and the lobby has wireless.)

The hotel is close to a subway stop and an easy walk to Radio City, etc., but there really weren't a whole lot of shopping places or restaurants right nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

This hotel is undeniably gorgeous and luxe! Probably the most elegant hotel I've stayed at. Although you must remember that it is old. During our stay the plumbing was a small problem, but the helpful staff fixed it right away. It boasts the best brunch in New York City and psssttt- you can see famous people here!! It is VERY VERY VERY expensive though, and is not a usual business class hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseyclan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We just returned from three nights at the Waldorf. We did not stay in the tower rooms, just the regular one. Due to the varried reviews here, there must be some older and some redecorated rooms. Ours looked to be recently redecorated. Nice bathroom with a real medicine cabinet with shelves. That was a plus for me. The beds were very comfortable and clean. It is an older hotel, but kept up nicely I thought. The staff was extremely helpful.

Only problem I encountered was when I booked (through their web site). I realized I put down wrong info (which did NOT change price in any way). I called the customer service number to update the info and she rebooked me at $100 more! I called them back and after speaking to numerous people, the manager at Waldorf corrected their error. I also declined the minibar key at checkin (and made them note this on my account). I have heard of numerous problems with minibars and didn't want to argue about this.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#101 of 469 in New York City
2,337 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 469 in New York City
3,492 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 469 in New York City
2,732 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing