We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great place and location”
Reviewed November 4, 2004

I have just got back from New York this morning. NY is great and the Waldorf Astoria is a very special hotel. It has real charm and presence. It is not a modern hotel with clean lines and clinical rooms but is a grand hotel. It has a lived in feel that makes this place so wonderful. I would recomend this hotel to anyone. The hotel is not cheap, but nothing worth having ever is!

Helpful?
3 Thank Ski2xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,609
    3,131
    2,068
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,065
3,931
399
1,882
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 2, 2004

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Waldorf Astoria for our 10 year wedding anniversary and we were thoroughly pampered. I had dreamed of staying there since I was a young girl and after reading some of these reviews I was sure I'd be dissapointed, not so. We had a mini-suite which was large, lavish and tastefully decorated. We were brought a gift of chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne on the night we checked in. Every need we had was immediately satisfied. The housekeeping was very diligent. The bellman very couteous and gave a history of the hotel. This hotel is a wonderful place, I could not fault it. Normal people will find it above expectations, those looking for something to complain about will find problems anywhere they go (ex. some of these reviews) A++++ to the Waldorf, we will be back soon!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2004

I have stayed at the Waldorf-Astoria and Waldorf Towers in the past, most recently in June of this year. Some of the other reviews of this hotel do not do it justice. The public spaces of this hotel are beyond comparison in the United States, meticulously done from the Park Avenue Lobby to the Grand Ballroom. One user complained that they were expecting a 5 star hotel, but the Waldorf-Astoria makes no claim of being one. That would be it's sister hotel, The Waldorf Towers, run by Conrad Hotels, Hilton's luxury portfolio. To be short, you get what you pay for, and I find it hard to believe that someone would expect 5 star service in this city for that price. I'd suggest booking a deluxe room or a suite on their own website, as the rates are as good or better, especially if you enter your AAA number. Having only stayed in suites at the Waldorf, which were all of decent size, I cannot comment on the regular guest rooms. The Waldorf-Astoria should not be confused with the Ritz Carlton on Central Park, The Sherry-Netherland, or the Waldorf Towers. The Waldorf-Astoria is a large hotel, not an intimate boutique experience, and costs far less.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2004

We stayed at the Astoria for a long weekend 6 months ago. We booked it as a cheap internet deal, and I would never have believed I could have stayed at this hotel for the price we paid.

I read all the reviews about the Waldorf - which were a very mixed bag of good and bad comments. But overall I thought it was fantastic - in terms of location, atmosphere, service, style, glamour and prestige. The sheer size and scale of the thing is amasing. Our standard hotel room, was not the best I've stayed in - but it certainly wasn't lacking in comfort or style. The room was in keeping with the hotel - oh...and the drinks in the hotel bar were expensive - but good lord...you're in the Waldorf!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Pengers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 18, 2004

I read these reviews before going to Priceline and can understand why some of these people complained as far as some of the complaints are concerned. The people there were very helpful; we had a very nice room in the Towers; the location is perfect; and of course it is getting a bit old and dated in there...that's the point. It's the Waldorf, not the W.

If you are looking for tres sheik, then don't stay here. If you want to experience NYC from a great location with a piece of the history of the Waldorf, then this is great! Especially if you use Priceline and get it cheaper than you can any three star hotel in the Bronx.

We arrived very, very early, and they worked extra hard to get us into a room to rest. They had one cleaned, but not restocked yet. Every question we had was answered, everyone had a smile on their face, and we really enjoyed our stay there.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2004

Arrived late on Saturday night to find out the girl who I spoke to earlier (to let her know I would be arriving late) cancelled my room reservation, after I had prepaid it through Priceline. The night auditor was very nice, sent me to the Millenium Hilton at Ground Zero...asked me to return to the Waldorf for the remaining 2 nights of my stay.

I complied, although annoyed that I would have to switch hotels. The Millenium was a very nice place - modern, flat screen tv, spacious with a big bed.

The next day, I went back to the Waldorf and checked in. They had upgraded me to a mini suite - plenty of room, but will they ever feel the need to change the tacky peach wallpaper and hideous flowered window treatments? It felt like "The Shining."

My advice - if you are going to spend that much money on a Hilton property, stay at the Millenium Hilton on Church Street - a beautiful place.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2004

Waldorf as a name is very overrated. Got a decent Internet price for a midtown ‘big name’ hotel but a very poor value. Arrived at 3:40 p.m. but Front Desk check-in wouldn’t talk to us until after exactly 4:00 p.m. Main breakfast buffet ran out of most items by 8:00 am!! Bell service at front door was very poor. Have stayed at many midtown hotels but will not stay here again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,335 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#171 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing