We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living off past glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #262 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living off past glory”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The Good - beautiful building and great location 10 minutes walk from Times Square. Room was very large with a separate dressing room and large bathroom. Beds very comfortable .

The Bad - there was a long queue to check in & check out and we had to wait 2 hours for our room even though every time we asked when it would be ready we were told "house keeping are currently in the room - so shouldn't be long now". Impossible to get room temperature right as controls wouldn't work. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food but staff in the reception area bar were unhelpful at best and service was not at the standard I have come to expect in the US.

The Ugly - bell hop was downright rude about size of the tip when he brought our cases to the room (I admit it was smaller than I normally give as I had no small bills but still reasonable) Was over charged at check out which then took another 20 minutes to sort out.

Overall I probably wouldn't stay here again but given the price I paid I suppose it was reasonable value for money - just not what I expected of The Waldorf Astoria.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear LucyLil,

Thank you for your detailed comments. I am extremely discouraged to hear about your experience at the Waldorf Astoria New York. We promise our guests a Singular Waldorf Experience, and we are terribly sorry that we were unable to provide this for you. We are so thankful for this feedback, as we are constantly working to better the guest experience. This is certainly a training opportunity for us. Your comments regarding your guestroom are extremely helpful to us. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waldorf Astoria next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,605
    3,130
    2,066
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,064
3,929
399
1,879
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,977)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Truly a Grand Dame, the service and attention to detail are probably the best of any hotel in which we've stayed.

This was our first visit to the Waldorf and came for my husband's birthday. From the moment we checked in (Buddy in guest services was very helpful) to the morning we left, we felt that the staff was superior. We had a special request of a "no feather room" which was not only confirmed at check in, but followed up with another phone call later in the evening from the front desk to see if they could be more helpful.

Additionally the little details like turndown service and the impressive lobby made this a true experience instead of just a hotel stay.

Let me also say that we were upgraded to the Waldorf towers on the 41st floor upon check in because we had asked for a room on a high floor. Our view of the East River and Roosevelt Island - and indeed of the entire City line - were just gorgeous; reserve one if you'd like a great view!

One note about our otherwise lavishly detailed room: when we first came into our room, we noticed it had a faint smoke smell, but not enough to bring it to anyone's attention at the hotel.

All in all, our stay was exceptional and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay in New York.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Spectacular edifice and public rooms. Hotel rooms generously sized. ample bathrooms and great green soap. Helpful bell and front desk staff who react well to requests Love the piano in Peacock Alley. However i don't get the feeling that anyone fully has the reins in hand of this previously great thoroughbred .Waldorf used to have elite feel but now no dress code & Children unsupervised laying on the Lobby rug like its a romper room while executives have to step around them. 2 restaurants closed for lunch .No choice for breakfast a la carte in Oscar's(eat the buffet whether you want it or not!!) Hey, $35.00 plus taxes and tip puts you just shy of$50 for breakfast. No flowers anywhere, no happy hour deals in bars. Not what it used to be. Get a GeneralManager out front and center by the Clock and listen to your frequent guests.

Room Tip: Must be away from Lexington Avenue side rooms or buses will get you up at crack of dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Everyone says that the rooms are small in NYC - we have been in NYC before and these rooms were not small. They were very comfortable and the hotel is so beautiful. Walking distance to most attractions. Staff is very welcoming, they want to make sure that your experience is amazing. Ours was - thank you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tamlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Whenever we visit New York City, we stay at the Waldorf. It is like taking a walk back in time. Presidents and dignitaries from all over the world have stayed there. If you want slick modern, this is not the place for you.

We have stayed in a suite that was as big as a house and in regular rooms. The furnishings and trimmings are old antiques. Very clean and spacious.

The Restaurants and Bars are top notch. You can not go wrong.

The showcases on the main lobby floor are filled with objects of a more gentler, formal period of time. The clock in the lobby is a treasure. The shops are very unique.

The staff is friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

When you think of the Waldorf, you put it up there with a St. Regis, a Peninsula, a Ritz Carlton, a Four Seasons. While it was once probably there, the flagship Waldorf Astoria in New York is showing its age and isn't what it once was. Now room rates at the hotel are starting to reflect that, but not always. Was there last week, and while the service was good, it wasn't anything out of control, the bed was nice but the room wasn't on par with what you'll get at W-A's competitors, the location is great but a dozen other classic hotels have similar convenience and neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Sadosky,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am so disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. We strive to provide each and every guest with an unforgettable stay, and we are so sorry that we were unable to do this for you. Your comments regarding your guestroom are extremely helpful to us. I truly hope that we will see you at the Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Thank you,
Siobhan Delaney
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Great property, in a great location. Subway stops close by so easy to get about town. Don't get me wrong, I love the architecture and history of this property but some elements are dated. There was a large group checking in while I was trying to check in and I waited in line approx 11 minutes. The foyer was loud and it seemed more like Grand Central without the trains (obviously). The room was small. The bathroom had gold fittings which I thought had dissaperared when my mom was born. (I'm 40). It was very clean, crisp linens and very quiet. The gym and spa are amazing. Now that's one area that certainly had a makeover. I wouldn't say the staff were friendly but I wouldn't say they were rude. They just "were" (can I say that?) I had breakfast there the first morning which to me was a little (lot) overpriced, but there are some great small dinners walking distance and I had the same meal for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,172 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#86 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,325 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing