We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, historic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #264 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful, historic hotel.”
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I was feeling trepidatious before we checked in, based on the reviews I had read. I needn't have worried - the Waldorf is a beautiful, well-appointed hotel. The lobby is spectacular.

We were in a queen deluxe room which was spacious and had a separate, walk-in closet. The bathroom was lovely, although the shower wasn't straightforward and required a bit of analysis to perfect. The free wifi is only available in the lobby, and judging by the number of people there, fiddling with their devices, the in-room wifi fee isn't widely utilised. We were able to use the gym free of charge (although we didn't) but I understand some other guests must pay a fee.

The location in Midtown East is perfect if you like Art Deco. Everywhere you look is another splendid example of the era. Even if you don't, the hotel is within walking distance to almost everywhere in Manhattan.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubycles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,619
    3,138
    2,070
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,069
3,938
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Rooms not cleaned properly or restocked with amenities; poor service and very overpriced. We had to call and call and wait and wait on every request. Our bed was made up by pulling the covers OVER our clothes that were laying on the bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Joseph M,

I am so sorry to hear about your experience at the Waldorf Astoria. We understand that your time is very precious, and we are terribly sorry to learn that you were asked to wait several times. Your feedback regarding housekeeping is extremely helpful to us. This is certainly a training opportunity. I truly hope that you will give the Waldorf Astoria another chance next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,
Dan Briks
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I read the reviews on here and other sites and was a bit concerned about my upcoming trip to NYC, where we had reservations for The Waldorf. I'm glad I stuck with my original plan to stay here. The ambiance and the staff totally live up to the expectations associated with such a grand hotel. The room was beautiful and we were upgraded to a suite. We had a large walk-in closet in the bedroom and a hallway closet for winter coats. We asked if we could use the mini bar fridge for our personal drinks, but they brought us a small private fridge instead - no charge! The beds were only doubles, but that is due to the size of the rooms, which is due to the age of the hotel. Still, very comfortable and clean and we would welcome the chance to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was a suite - 11A
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeysKindaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Waldorf Astoria for a Christmas getaway! The room was quite nice but old. Beds were comfortable but the age showed. The bath was nice but not the cleanest. There was toothpaste and dried ink (presumedly from a pen) on the marble wall. As for the hotel in general, there should have been a place to get coffee in the morning, I.e.Starbucks, etc. many people went a block down to pick up coffee and bring it back to the hotel. There's no excuse for no coffee in a hotel like this. Food was incredibly expensive ($45 for breakfast) so we did not eat there at all. Staff wasn't very cordial for the price paid for a room.

Room Tip: Be careful as we booked a room but when we got there, they tried to switch accommodations to a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janshopsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in May 2013. It was my first time in the US and was the most expensive place we stayed in. Also the most disappointing. The public areas were sensational. Worth seeing and maybe just walk in off the street to do so, rather than staying here.
Our room was shabby and dated. Almost as though it hasn't been updated from its heyday.
The room service was ridiculously expensive and we didn't eat here because of it.
Location was excellent, but for the money it was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveo_1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Steveo_1M,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay with us. Your comments regarding your guestroom and room service prices are extremely valuable. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Waldorf Astoria next time you are in town.

Thank you,
Dan Briks
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Simply disappointing! Sadly, we will not be back! We traveled to NYC with our team to celebrate a huge project and thought we would splurge and stay at the Waldorf Astoria since a few people had not been to NYC before - all I can say is the hotel is worn and tired as is the staff. Our room was not clean, there were holes in the carpet....honestly it is sad to see an iconic hotel like the Waldorf Astoria treated this badly - honestly management should be ashamed to let the hotel get into this condition.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
4 Thank ParisBuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear ParisBuchanan,

Thank you for your comments. I am so discouraged to read about your stay with us. The issues you described in your guestroom are unacceptable, and will be reviewed in depth with management. I hope you will choose the Waldorf Astoria again next time you travel to New York City.

Thank you,
Dan Briks
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from January 1st. Although the public areas are smart, our room was shabby. The window blinds were broken and the shower was tepid to cold. Some of the electric wall points were coming away from the wall. The food was incredibly expensive. All in all a great disappointment

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RFerg10186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear RFerg10186,

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay with us. This is extremely valuable feedback, and your review is being taken very seriously. I truly hope to welcome you to the Waldorf Astoria again next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,
Dan Briks
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#109 of 468 in New York City
2,227 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,608 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 468 in New York City
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#100 of 468 in New York City
876 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing