We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old reputation, old school and old rooms and very bad value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #259 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Old reputation, old school and old rooms and very bad value for your money”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Woldorf Astoria 5-6 years ago and I booked the hotel as it was in a good location and my stay was really worth. After 10+2 hour trip, i arrived to this hotel only to find out the luxury room they gave was a 2 star quality, hole in the walls, stinking room with humidity. The hotele employees refused to upgrade us as they lied that there were no other rooms available (of course i checked online to find out they did). My mom having her allergies, i gave up and stayed at a smaller room for one room to another the next day ruining our limited time. The room they moved us did not smell, but the alarm went off at 6.00 am, when i wanted to drink something, the refrigirator was locked, i asked 3 times for it to be openned. To cut it short, so far ex-Waldorf experience has nothing to do with the present one, this very old landmark hotel has become unstayable and deserves only 2 stars with its service and stinking room they gave us. My recommendation is sometimes a good deal is a very bad deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottegabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Charlottegabay,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry to learn about your guestroom, and the lack of service you received in response. We strive to provide each and every guest with an unforgettable experience, and we are so sorry that we were unable to do this for you. We would like to learn more about the rooms you stayed in and who you worked with so that we can determine what next steps to take. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you in advance,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
diarmuid.dwyer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,624
    3,139
    2,072
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,075
3,939
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Location was good for what we needed.Room was outdated and smelled of mildew. Bathroom was not cleaned and towels were old and gross. Front desk was rude upon check in. Valet situation was confusing due to United Nations event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Good Afternoon,

We regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality experience you deserved during your recent stay. We strive for unparalleled service delivery at our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to ensure that each guest experiences the very best we have to offer. We are so disappointed that your room and our service did not meet your expectations. Your feedback will help us to continue to improve our training processes and amenities and we hope you will return to stay with us to experience the results of that work firsthand. We would like to look into the issues you mentioned a bit further. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
diarmuid.dwyer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spend one night in a Towers room prior to flying to London and wished we had booked a longer stay. The room was fabulous! We had a foyer, huge corner room overlooking NYC, three huge closets, and a large bathroom with shower and tub. We were close to everything! And free, due to using our Hilton points. the only negative was the size of the room that is used for the concierge level breakfast room. There was quite a wait for the few tables.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a five night stay , our first visit to New York.
The hotel is very impressive, the public rooms, the reception area are probably the best we have ever stayed at. the breakfasts are excellent, albeit expensive. The rooms are a little dated, but overall a first class hotel. We would have no hesitation returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I really don't understand negative comments. Yes this is a grand old hotel. No it's not shiny new but that's the charm. Like a nice antique it has character. Service was good. Nice room with great view of Park Ave. if you want sleek new modern this might not be the hotel for you but we will defenately reurn to this great hotel it's a charmer !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hhifoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spent the day on the 18th floor getting champers n chocs!!! Had my back done and was first class service!! once in a lifetime thing you wont get back at home!! The staff are amazing and look after you... the beauty room is like a suite with a shower and bed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Read the review of others carefully, because they are right! The rooms in this grand old hotel are in decay and in need of some attention.

The location is great, the lobby is beautiful, and if the walls could speak they would share some of the best stories you've ever heard.

Unfortunately, however, the walls cannot speak and you can't fool your mind to ignore what your eyes are telling you. Peeling wallpaper, musty hallways, mold in the bathrooms...its all true unfortunately.

The Waldorf-Astoria signature service must have been on vacation during our visit. There were no 'free waters' for diamond members anywhere in sight. Turn-down service is either not offered, or just not offered to diamond members. No welcome gift awaiting in our room. But they did trying charging us twice for parking, which was a kind gesture in a charity-sort-of-way. Somehow I doubt the extra cash would've gone towards room renovations.

We have checked this hotel off our bucket list and I think that's where this will end for us.

Room Tip: The rooms without views are typically the most quiet ones. Its a trade-off, welcome to NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGnomes_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize you were disappointed in the comfort and appointment of your guestroom. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you visit the city so we may better demonstrate the world-class experience you expect and deserve. We would really like to look into these issues further to determine why there were issues with your parking bill and why your guestroom was not cleaned to the point it should have been. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
diarmuid.dwyer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#92 of 466 in New York City
2,249 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#94 of 466 in New York City
2,655 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 466 in New York City
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 466 in New York City
940 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#221 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing