We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, clean, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a two room suite. Lots of room and two double beds. Microwave would have been nice in room along with small fridge, instead of a mini bar set up. Hotel seemed clean and organized. Staff was very helpful. Easy walks to The Rock, Central Park, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larissagreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,994 - 6,000 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not such a great experience.
Checked in and then went for walk around the city, on arrival "the system cancelled our room reservation".
Also Noted a 2 feet long and 1 inch wide fissure in the ceiling of 1284 room.
The shower bathtub was pouring dark brown liquid and sediment....not too pretty...
I was notifying the front desk employee and showed him a video of the event when another guest at the 11th floor started also to complain about the shower brown water and sediment.
A chair at the lobby had a broken leg, reported it and 10 hours later, still it was at the lobby...
The W.A. has a beautiful appearance, however the plumbing system and some employees seem neither to care nor to provide the safety environment worth to recommend or to pay for a stay at the ..famous Waldorf Astoria.

Room Tip: Find out if the plumbing and waste system are functional and do not represent a potential hazard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YuriCorrales2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_Astoria_NY, Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear YuriCorrales2013,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so sorry to learn about the issues you experienced in your guestroom with the water. This is completely unacceptable. We are also extremely sorry to learn about the chair in the lobby. We are so thankful that you have taken the time to report these issues to our team and follow-up on TripAdvisor. I would really like my management team to take a look at these issues and ensure that everything has been taken care of. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay.

Thank you in advance,
Diarmuid Dwyer
Hotel Manager
diarmuid.dwyer@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during August, and from the taxi pulling up outside the hotel we were simply amazed at the hotel, it's unbelievably stunning.

There was a bit of a wait at check in, but there was plenty of staff working so not a problem with a wait. When we got check in we were surprised by a complimentary upgrade to a one bedroom suite which was amazing.

The room having a porch then into the sitting room, with stunning high ceilings, fireplace and such lovely furnishings. The bedroom was also just as stunning, with a massive walk in wardrobe, yeah the bathroom was looking a bit older than the rest of the room but everything working plenty of to water and really clean so no complaints what so ever. The beds were also the most comfortabliest beds we've ever slept in at a hotel, aswell as the pillows.

We had a bit of a problem with our safe in the room which required security to come up to the room, but with reporting the problem to reception security were up to our room within 15 minutes so very pleased with the service. When asking the concierge questions about getting round New York and where to eat they really helpful also.

The location of the hotel we found was perfect, as it was away from the noise and the hustle and bustle of Times Square but it was close enough to be to walk to the tourist attractions of upper manhattan.

We absolutely loved our stay here and when we come back to New York we would definitely be returning here without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emwahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to New York and as it was a special birthday for the other half decided to stay in a special place so decided upon the Waldorf. The hotel it's self is spectacular and lives up to the hype that surrounds it, it's a brilliant location near pretty much everything from Grand Central station to the Empire State Building so ideally placed if you want to do some sightseeing. Have to say the service is supberb and the staff even went the extra mile to deliver a birthday card to the other half signed by the team which was a really nice touch. Not many negatives about the place apart from the lack of free wifi in the rooms, which you can get if you wonder down to the lobby but due to this the lobby is packed with everyone on there phones and tablets which takes the spectacular views away from the Waldorfs receltion. Overall a great place to stay if you want a central place or even if you want to treat someone special.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markaxtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

GREAT staff - very friendly and helpful. Clean, comfortable rooms...a little small, but typical for an older hotel. Perfect location. Beautiful lobby. It's the Waldorf!!! Menus and bar very overpriced in every outlet. Would have dined there more often if it hadn't been absurdly expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank 191bonvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great hotel on great location, and many ways to access from different important avenues... I recommend it duly... very good value... nice beds Beautiful decor... Easy access... Great lobby bar... Spa facilities very good... All in all a very good experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The room was huge and gorgeous as was the rest of it too.when we were there we were staying in the wrong room but they decided that we were already there that we would just stay there. The room was very clean and it looked old fashioned with all the diamond looking things

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xmasbaby75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#105 of 469 in New York City
2,331 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 469 in New York City
3,486 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 469 in New York City
2,730 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing