We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Waldorf level anymore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #260 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not up to Waldorf level anymore”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were very dissapointed in our stay 5/9-12 2012 we were a party of eight (4 rooms). We stay here every year at this time for a company dinner/weekend for my husbands engineering firm. we all flew in from different parts of the country and our flight was delayed so we arrived after the others ie. 8:45pm. After waiting 20 minutes to check in, we were informed that they would not be able to upgrade us into a larger room as usual but they would be happy to sell us an upgrade for an additional $200 per night. We declined but decided to check with the diamond desk the next morning. Mind you, we are upper level Diamond members that stay in Hilton properties 4 nights a week 52 weeks a year. The Diamond desk was about to move us when the agent that turned us down previously walked in and told the agent not to!! We are not sure what the situation was, but I can assure you we are profesional business travelers that do not caus e scenes or ask for much (if anything) To make matters worse we found that the rest of our party was upgraded and they are my husbands employees, quite embaressing. I assure you next years meeting will be moved to another location sorry they couldn't help us.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 1003 1103 1203 etc as they overlook an alley with construction debre Stay in r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachfamily60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Beachfamily60,

Thank you so much for reaching out to tell us about your stay. We are so disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience at the Waldorf Astoria. As a Diamond member, you certainly deserve the best. We love our loyal Hilton guests! In an effort to make things right and better understand why this happened, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay and your TripAdvisor username. We will be certain to follow-up with you.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,624
    3,139
    2,071
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,074
3,939
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,982)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stay at the Waldorf Astoria in Manhattan at least once a year. It is always clean. The staff are always helpful and friendly. The hotel has plenty of public meeting spaces to gather with friends or business associates. The exercise room has plenty of equipment and it is always in working order. By far, my favorite place to stay in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Tammy L,

Thank you so much for your positive comments, and thank you for being a loyal guest at the Waldorf Astoria! We are so happy to hear that you have had pleasant experiences with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for an event with Historic Hotels of America. The history was perfect, along with the accomodations. It was like stepping back in time while on a short business trip. Perfect location to times square, train station, Rockefeller plaza and more! Favorite spot was the lobby with the big clock and it was always bustling with guests! Also the piano music in the evening was a wonderful touch. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a unique stay while in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Brittney S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here, and that you appreciated the hotel's rich history. The piano in the lobby certainly makes for a fun evening! We very much hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the near future.

Thank you!
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Arrived at midnight from L.A.with family of 4 adults & 3 children. Asked if it was possible to have something to eat & was told," No the kitchen was closed."Not even sandwiches was available.
It took over an hour to book us into our rooms even though they were booked 8 months before . We even did not get our rooms together.Our rooms were wrongly assigned so that when a friend of mine tried to ring me he was not able to get through due to the mix up of the rooms.Even though this hotel has a great reputation it did not live up to our expectations. Its location was great.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side are quiet. Our room was very quiet . The view was onto other buildings b...
See more room tips
Green Features: Dont know them.We said not to clean our room each day & to change towels every 2nd day.
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Gem512,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We apologize for any miscommunication, as we do offer a 24 hour room service. The room issues sound extremely frustrating, and we would love the opportunity to look into these issues further. If you have a moment, please email me with the confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the Waldorf as part of a fly/hotel package with the company we booked with. Was initially excited to be staying there. However got there - huge queues' to check in!!!!! Not something that I expected..... room wasn't ready (fair enough - we did arrive early as that's when our flight arrived but said we said we would come back). Asked for a map so we could just walk around New York until it was ready - the guy had run out of maps and advised us to go to the concierge service. Were also told to go to another desk where we could just pick up our room key at 3pm when the room was ready. Went to the concierge service to queue again - 2 people helping one painful couple (waited for about 15 minutes) and then politely interrupted to ask for a map. Came back to the desk to check into the room 'at the quick counter' and had to queue again to get the key.... our bags hadn't even been taken up to the room as obviously they have to do that when you are there to get a tip!!! One would of thought this standard of hotel would of at least taken the bags up to the room so they were there when we arrived back.

Can't comment on the service as every time we went to the lobby to ask or find anything out - it was absolutely full of people (apparently the internet is free in the lobby so just anyone goes there to use it). Queues to ask concierge about anything and it doesn't appear they were just helping guests - but were helping anyone in the lobby which was quite annoying to be a paying customer and queuing behind people who weren't??? Understand its a tourist attraction but surely you can provide a better service for the actual guests. Perhaps on a different floor?

Got to the room which was art deco - nice for the era. Overlooked a concrete slab with rubbish over it. Pretty awful. The room was only lit my lamps (no ceiling lights) so very dim and you seemed to have to go to every lamp and turn it on instead of one control for all. Very annoying trying to put on make-up, find anything.... also there weren't as many supplies as expected. Stayed in some very posh hotels that provide slippers and a few more toiletries (toothpaste, toothbrush) none of that. Very basic supplies. Not much more than what we got from the holiday inn before we flew to New York. No tea/coffee making facilities - because of course they don't make money out of you if you can make your own tea/coffee!

No price list in the room of how much things in the mini bar cost... we didn't know if that's a modern thing, if you are staying at the Astoria - you don't need to know the cost. So got an incredible shock to check out and the 355ml bottle of water came to $8.71!!! and to top it all off - they didn't have any change for the $9.00 we gave. Only a small amount I know but the audacity of it!. On top of that - my boyfriend was going to the gym there and the bottles of water were free!! So we should of just got it from there - why charge at all? Surely you can part with some free water for the rooms when you are providing it in the gym free.

Very touristy - over rated - over priced ... nice to do once but could of gotten much better service/hotel for the price in New York and just used the lobby like everyone else. Have stayed in much nicer hotels - sheratons, radissons ....Definitely wouldn't stay again. And would advise other people to look for better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peita-Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Good Afternoon Peita-Lee A,

Thank you very much for your detailed comments. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at the Waldorf Astoria. Your comments regarding the concierge, bellmen, and front desk have been noted by our management team. We understand that upon arriving at the hotel after a long day of travel, it should undoubtedly be a stress-free experience. Your pricing concerns have also been noted by our food and beverage management. The team is constantly reviewing pricing and procedures to best suit our customers, and your comments will be quite instrumental in making future decisions. Should you have a moment, please email me with your confirmation number from your stay, as well as your TripAdvisor username. We would love the opportunity to look into these issues further.

Thank you!
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed with my daughter for three nights. I can't fault the staff and the service, one of the staff a Moroccan gentleman by the name of Mohammed went out of his way to help and not because he was chasing a tip.The room was tired and a bit depressing, however the beds were very comfy with white bed linen that was soft, not starched and stiff. We had room service, which was delivered in no time and was of a very good standard but came at a price, around $20 in various charges just to have the food sent upto the room. No tea/coffee making facilities and being British I love my tea, it was 9 dollars to have a tea in room with our meal. We didn't use the bars, however they did look lovely and atmospheric.A bit of a distance to places we wanted to go, however easy enough to get a cab.

Green Features: I didn't really notice anything with regards to this!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaynec499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good Afternoon jaynec499,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed yourself, and that you found our staff to be helpful! Your comments regarding pricing have been noted by our food and beverage management team. They are constantly reviewing our pricing of the restaurants and room service. We certainly hope to see you again at the Waldorf Astoria!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Travelled to New York in November 12 for my daughters 21st birthday, Hotel staff on reception seemed a bit to eager, what they fail to tell you when you make reservations is that you have to leave $400 as a room deposit. The Hotel was beautiful but was in need of updating, the room was comfortable and pleasant but there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room due to the 'holidays' which I found quite astonishing , you would think such a hotel could cater to every single room there !! Staff on front desk were very helpful indeed, plenty of coffee shops about if you can't afford the steep prices inside the hotel. Enjoyed my experience but I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Good Afternoon sue r,

Thank you very much for your feedback, and thank you for spending such an exciting occasion with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your concerns regarding coffee/tea in the room and pricing have been noted by our guest services team, who is constantly working to better the guest experience. These comments are extremely helpful to us. We understand your feelings that the hotel is in need of an update. You will be happy to learn that the hotel is presently under a large restoration process. The restoration team is working on the hotel piece by piece to make it more beautiful than ever. We hope you will choose to stay with us at the Waldorf Astoria again next time you are in town.

Thank you!
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#90 of 467 in New York City
2,248 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#93 of 467 in New York City
2,652 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#83 of 467 in New York City
3,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 467 in New York City
929 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing