We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a great location with excellent service from the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a great location with excellent service from the staff”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband booked a holiday to New York for my 40th! He chose very carefully which hotel to stay in for 5 nights for a us and our two children age 11 & 9. On first impressions on arriving we thought wow this is going to be a very pleasant stay, the lobby was beautiful, everything was very ornate and very clean. We were very impressed. Our room was a good size, there were two double beds which surprised me as I was expecting at least king size as we were in America! Never the less they were very comfortable. The room and decor was very nice and traditional but was starting to look very tired, the wallpaper was coming away from the wall in a couple of places, all it needed was a little glue and you would never have known. It is a shame that such simple to put right faults have not been looked at?
The location of the hotel was very good as we were never far from any of the main attractions 10-20 minute walks. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again because of the location and it was a very comfortable stay, just needs a little attention on making it excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback, and thank you for spending such an exciting occasion with us! Your comments are extremely helpful to us as we are constantly working to better the guest experience. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the hotel's location to be convenient. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,634
    3,142
    2,073
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,080
3,946
402
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,983)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Waldorf after getting a really good rate from Expedia.
Overall was very impressed with the service, bed was very very comfortable, the room, by NY standards was very large, but the hotel has an air somewhat of faded gentility, as if it is trading on its past...
Checked in via Lexington Street entrance, and the valet parking was very efficient and friendly - up to the grand lobby where check in was equally efficient and friendly, with the receptionist kindly upgrading our room choice.
The room has wi-fi available, and is well appointed, with the exception of an in-room coffee making machine (other places we have stayed in recently with this level of expense and perception of luxury have seemed to favor Nespresso type machines, but any would have done).
Couldn't get the AC to work, so resorted to jamming open the window an inch to create some (40 degree) airflow, counteracting the over heated feel of the room.
For people visiting NY, proximity to Grand Central Station, and easy walking distance to Times Square/Broadway are definite plus points for the hotel.
NY has such a large choice of hotels for all price-points and preferences, it is difficult to see why anyone would choose this hotel over others, except for its history and reputation. I would happily stay here again if I was able to obtain the same heavily discounted rate, but wouldn't see it as a natural choice every time we visited NY, as there are just too many options, and this doesn't stand out enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Good Afternoon Martin,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful! We are very sorry about the air conditioning issues you experienced. We certainly want our guests to be as comfortable in their guestroom as they are in their own homes. Your concerns have been noted by our engineering team, who will look into possible causes. We do hope to see you at the Waldorf Astoria again in the near future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
749 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at the Waldorf for a rare night out without the kids. While the hotel is a bit past it's prime, it is still an impressive place. The room was spacious and beautiful although showing a little wear. The service at this hotel still rates as some of the best that I have ever seen. My wife wants us to buy the same bed for home! I look forward to the next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team to be helpful and friendly. Good news for your wife: Our bedding can actually be purchased online at www.distinctlywaldorf.com! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in New York City!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a review of the Guerlain Spa that is within the Waldorf Astoria New York Hotel and not the hotel itself, as this was a single day experience within the hotel at the spa. I booked a couples massage with champagne for a Sunday morning and it was fantastic.

We were cordially received and lead to the waiting area and were given glasses of champagne, and subsequently talked bit in atmosphere with good music playing in the background. Then we were led into the actual couples room, which had two massage tables, a couch, a vanity area, closets, and our own private bath with steam showers, which at the end of the massage you have time to use before it is time to go. The room was nicely appointed and the champagne was very good - the hotels on label.

The masseurs were excellent (Marc and Marina), and what was nice is the tables are adjustable (electrically), so the masseurs could change the height to get better angles, which helped a lot. After the massages, we has time to utilize a very nice steam shower and get dressed.

Being our first time, we did not know what to expect or what we could do or not do, but now we know better, and I would suggest getting extended time in the room (normally about 20 minutes), so that you can really enjoy the overall room better without any feelings of being "rushed".

We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for telling us about your experience at Guerlain Spa. It sounds like you had an extremely relaxing experience. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your spa treatment, and we hope to see you again soon at Guerlain!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here in Nov 2012, during Thanksgiving week/weekend. The service at the Waldorf was fabulous. Rooms are clean and huge!! At least ours was. Four of stayed here and we were very impressed overall. Free wifi in the lobby kept our roaming rates low so we could check in with home whenever we wanted. We go to NYC every year for shopping, as a girls trip. This was by far the best yet, after 5 years in a row. We got a great deal and it was actually only $100 more per person than the other hotels we priced up. Totally worth it!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite - they are the largest rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon Andrea,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! That sounds like a fun trip with friends. It is great that 5th Avenue is just two short blocks away from the hotel! We hope to see you and your friends again for your 2013 shopping trip!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is lovely and the service very good. Large, comfortable room.
Expect to pay top prices. A peanut butter and jelly sandwich from rrom service is $15 plus service charge, etc. and a drink or glass of wine in the bar is $19. One of their bars had received a "B" rating, which must be mortifying to them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerIG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, that one bar did receive a "B". Please know that our team has been working tirelessly ever since receiving that designation in order to bring that to an "A". We strive to provide a perfect and unforgettable experience for our guests, and will go to great lengths to do so. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again at the Waldorf Astoria in the future!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed in the Waldorf in May 2012 as a birthday surprise. I was super excited to be going to NYC for the first time and to be staying at such an iconic hotel. The exterior of the hotel was being worked on when we stayed so can't comment on it's appearance but the hotel lobby is amazing with the huge chandeliers and a feeling of grandeur. The reception area is very dark and seems to be slightly tired. I felt this was the same all over the hotel.

Rooms were ok but again, also seem to be tired. I have been fortunate enough to stay in some lovely hotels around the world but the Waldorf just didn't hit the mark with me. Perhaps it is still so popular because of it's long standing good name?

Reception staff were friendly and check in was fast. Maid service could do with a shake, however. Although rooms were cleaned daily and beds were made up it seemed that only the minimum was done. I left the iron on top of the ironing board when I left the room one morning so the iron could cool properly - this was still in the same position and not put away in the closet when we got back after sightseeing all day. Surely this is not 4/5 star service? Also, chamber maids seem very uninterested and do not say good morning or even crack a smile. Often they were in groups chatting - that's how it seemed anyway.

Location of the hotel is perfect and the doormen were funny and friendly. I also loved having Starbucks within the hotel front doors. Very convenient and not as busy as other branches.

Overall, we had a good stay but probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ST1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback, and thank you for spending your birthday with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. That being said, your comments are extremely helpful and quite instrumental as we move forward to better the hotel. We are so sorry that we did not exceed your expectations while you were here. We do hope to welcome you back to the Waldorf Astoria again in the future.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 467 in New York City
2,279 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#91 of 467 in New York City
2,679 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#85 of 467 in New York City
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 467 in New York City
1,011 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing