We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend at the Waldorf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easter Weekend at the Waldorf”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Once again, we had such an enjoyable stay at the Waldorf Astoria. Despite being a super busy weekend (Easter) in NYC, check-in was seamless and the staff did everything to accommodate our needs and please us in every way during our entire stay. The personal service at the Waldorf is exceptional. This is the main reason we keep coming back.

The history and ambiance is beyond compare. Of course, the lobby is spectacular. If possible, be sure to the Silver Corridor, the Basildon Room, the Grand Ballroom and the Starlight Roof. Spaces such as these cannot be duplicated today. I read some reviews where people complain about the rooms and bathrooms, but we love them.

Be sure to stop in at Peacock Alley for drink. Oscar's is wonderful for breakfast.

We have nothing but the highest of praise for the Waldorf and its staff and so look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalsfelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed Easter weekend with us! Thank you for offering tips to our future guests regarding our restaurants. We look forward to seeing you next time!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,634
    3,142
    2,073
    1,078
    588
See reviews for
3,080
3,946
402
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,983)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The service, linens, amenities and comfort of this hotel are superb! This feels much more stately than most NYC hotels - it's not an modern feel so if you want to stay in a hipster hotel, this is not your best chive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Friendaza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your review of the Waldorf Astoria New York. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! See you next time.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

first impression was great, no queue at checkin but receptionist not that friendly and spoke to her computer rather than us! luggage arrived within minutes to our room. we was in a two double bedded room and the beds with comfy and room of ok size. the bathroom was dated but the fixtures were quality so added to the charm of the place. the Sunday brunch was the only meal that we ate at the hotel and while a bit pricey (£160 for two) was worth it for the experience and the good food. no longer a starbucks in the hotel but there is one just outside the lex exit and it opens at 5.30 am weekdays. the hotel was as i expected it to be, charming...

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better chance of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We certainly hope to see you again at the Waldorf Astoria New York in the future.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked two rooms for four nights. Upon arrival, one of them smelled like cigarette smoke. We asked to be moved and got a different room, but the window wouldn't open and the room was hot and stuffy. Next day, after we called for someone to repair the window, we were moved to a large suite in the Towers. I appreciated the upgrade which made our trip so much better. While the first night was a bit of a disappointment, they certainly made up for it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmichaelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Waldorf Astoria New York. We are very sorry about the mishaps toward the beginning of your stay, but are so happy to hear that we were able to help you in the end. We hope to see you again next time you are in New York City!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Astoria for 5 nights. I personally don't know what the fuss is about. The $300 per night is way off the mark. The bar/ restaurant is totally way overpriced. $18 for a rum and coke. $92 for brunch.
The room is small and basic. The bathroom in the room needs a total update but did not make or break our stay. The arm chair was grimy and dirty. The bed and pillows were totally uncomfortable. For that kind of money I would expect a bed that is actually comfortable. Offer free wifi in the room for the amount they charge to stay there, not just in the lobby. Hotel was very cold but rooms were extremely hot. As well for the price you pay I would expect a mini fridge and a coffee maker.
The housekeeping service was good.
The men's bathroom in the lobby needs a good overhaul especially the stalls. The stall doors were old and had big gaps in between the partitions. And they were dirty and stinky most of the time.
Our last day we had a late flight so we had to check out early and was allowed to vacate our room at 1pm instead of 12. So we had to put our luggage in the luggage room. When we picked up our luggage the person attending the luggage room would hold out his hand and show his tips waiting for one. This i believe is totally unacceptable.
The hotel is close to it all but not worth the price in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew_InBradfordYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the Waldorf Astoria New York. Your detailed comments are extremely helpful, as our team is consistantly working to better the guest experience. Please rest assured that the hotel is under a constant restoration. Piece by piece the hotel is being renovated. We would love the opportunity to look into this further. If you have a moment, could you please email me with your confirmation number and your TripAdvisor username?

Thank you very much,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautifully appointed hotel. Check in line was way too long, and it took over an hour to get our luggage. I had to call twice, and was yelled at by the luggage person saying I had just called 5 minutes prior. (it had been 20 and I wanted to go to dinner!) Our room was nice, but discovered things were not in working order. The bed was saggy and it was hard not to wake up with a backache each morning. The heater in the bathroom never worked, and the bathroom door looked like it needed refinishing. The toilet paper holder was behind, so you had to reach behind you to get any. The room never got above 65 degrees, although we turned on the heat several times, and left it on. The housekeeper never cleaned behind the night stands, there was a pile of dust on the baseboards and floor. The nightstand was dusted maybe one time while we were there. Although elegant, it was surprising that one of the restaurants received a "B" rating, instead of an A. Waldorf....update the beds, fix the heat, update bathrooms and I might return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endeering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. Your comments are extremely helpful in moving forward to better the guest experience. We feel terrible that one of our team members was rude on the phone and we would love the opportunity to look into this situation further. If you have a moment, please send me an email with your confirmation number and your TripAdvisor username.

Thank you so much,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I had book a room with my mom and I had a really surprise because I got a upgrade to Waldorf Towers with a private elevator ...It was suberb and I felt as a princess... Charming hotel with a luxury room and spacious bathroom...
Friendly service and excellent breakfast...
Great experience!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedrinha4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again next time you are in New York City.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#97 of 467 in New York City
2,278 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#91 of 467 in New York City
2,679 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#85 of 467 in New York City
3,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 467 in New York City
1,010 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#220 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing