We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Waldorf was exactly as we expected it to be. It was like walking back in time to a luxury and classical place. It wasn't pristine or contemporary - if we wanted that we would have gone to one of those hotels which cater for that................soul-less! The bathroom was art-deco and pretty much I guess as it was when it was built. There was loads of dressing room space and we had two double beds in the bedroom plus there was a foyer area with more storage space. It had everything we wanted. We got a good deal with British Airways for the room but I would say that the breakfasts were very expensive. However, the service was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful and we were looked after well as you would expect from a hotel with its reputation! I travelled with my 21 yr old daughter and 17 yr old son and they thought the same as me. The only thing that we found lacking was that there was not always a footman at the doors off Park Avenue and there were only stairs to walk up which was fine except with luggage!
Would most definitely stay there again if we could get a good deal. It is also very well situated in the heart of Manhattan.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo1mill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Good Afternoon,

We are so happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so very much for your positive comments. We have made note of your concern about the Park Avenue entrance so that we can ensure it is staffed properly at all times. We hope to see you again next time you are in New York!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,663 - 6,669 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a beautiful hotel! The lobby is gorgeous and the staff are very nice and helpful. Our room was a little tired (chipped paint around the doorways, etc.) but we hardly spent any time inside. Stay at this hotel - -you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your positive comments! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were looking forward to our long weekend break in the big apple and as it was very much an experience trip we wanted. It was December 2012 and what a time to visit NY. We arrived at the Waldorf side entrance and the steps made it very difficult for cases to be taken in. A few corridoors and levels finally saw us at the main reception which is probably everything you could wish to imagine about staying atthe Waldorf. We had saved up for th trip and staying here was the icing on the cake. One of the two rooms was not ready at the time, but that was not a problem as we freshened up in the one room and dropped the cases in there. The reception staff were helpful and tried to get the two rooms as close together as possible, hence the slight delay.
The rooms were clean, but very tired and after seeing the amazing reception area, a little disappointing considering where we were. Our curtains did not fully meet in the middle, perhaps by design but it didn't close. Part of the curtain also was off the rail and made it difficult to pull them as well, but never mind it was only a room and we were in NY! The room did not have a main cemtral light, just a couple of desk lamps which did make the rooms quite dark and dim and difficult to read.
The bathroom was very good as you would expect, and had mirrors everywhere (which was off putting at times, but hey we were in NY)! Clean, bright, good quality fittings and nice shower gels and shampoos.
On one occasion I had to find the post room as I had had a parcel delivered for me. The queues can be sometimes long in reception, so I asked one of the managers at a corner desk, who was not very polite, alittle "stuffy" and came across as being above that type of question being asked to him.
The food and bars in the hotel were very expensive and the hotel is very geared up for business meetings I would say with between 5 - 8 events on daily it seemed. It was busy and buzzing and especially due to the Christmas time we went, full of parties, which all added to the lovely atmosphere.
All in all a good hotel, but a little pricey if you eat or drink there. Also check your bill on leaving as a spurious item was added to mine, which they removed instantly when I queried it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good Afternoon Andy and Jackie,

Thank yo so much for taking the time to review your December stay at the Waldorf Astoria. What a wonderful time of year to be in New York City! Your feedback is very helpful to us as we are continuously trying to improve ourselves for future guests. If you have a moment, it would be wonderful if you could please email me with your confirmation number from your stay. This will allow us to evaluate the room you were in and see what we can fix to make it the spectacular room it is intended to be. We hope to see you again for December 2013 holidays!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights in July last year. Location great, room great. Found the staff in general to be very condescending. Maybe others see this as a hallmark of good hotel and that's why staff are so inclined?
We got our room key cards and settled in time-consuming a half hour later while I was changing my clothes my room door opened and another guest entered. It seems we were both given the same room... I was not impressed.I expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Good Afternoon,

We are so sorry to hear about your negative experience. It is disheartening to hear that our team did not exceed your expectations, as we strive to do this for every guest at the Waldorf Astoria. Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the mixup with the other guest. If you have a moment, please email me with your confirmation number so we can look further into the situation and avoid similar situations from occurring in the future. We do hope that you will give the Waldorf Astoria New York a second chance to show you an unforgettable experience through the true Waldorf service you deserve.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in February .Room was ok) but not clean at all: old tv, old fridge :( was not expecting that at all ! Front desk was very professional and very friendly ... But don't think will go back there

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOUPAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your February stay at the Waldorf Astoria! We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be both professional and friendly, but we do apologize that you were dissatisfied with your guest room! We strive to make every guest feel at home at the Waldorf Astoria, and we are so sorry that we were unable to provide you with a good experience. If you have the opportunity, would you please email me with the confirmation number from your stay? We would love the opportunity to look into the situation and make things right.

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey
megan.hennessey@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a belated review. I stayed at the hotel in October 2012. I have stayed at other hotels in NYC and this is one of the best locations. It was a very busy time at the hotel, President Obama and Governor Romney spoke one night while I was there. This is one of the things that I enjoy about the Waldorf. It is at the center of New York and something is always happening. It is a big hotel in a big city. My room was small and lacked a view and I couldn't upgrade because the hotel was full. However the room was perfectly adequate and clean and comfortable and reasonably priced for New York. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your October stay with us! It sounds like you were here for a very exciting week! We do apologize that we were unable to upgrade you to a room with a view, but we are so glad you had a positive experience with us. We hope to see you again next time you're in town!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

From the minute I walked in to the Waldorf Astoria I knew there was something special about it. With state of the arc luxury, the Waldorf Astoria is most definitely worth every single penny. The rooms are extremely clean and plenty of room. Also the employes are always willing to step in and help whenever you may need it. Probally the best quality of the Waldorf Astoria is when you stay the night for some reason you feel like your on top of the world. Not to mention it is also the most famous hotel in New York City. Another thing about the Waldorf Astoria is that it is right in the heart of New York City, and most things are within walking distance from it. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who would want to stay in New York City for vacation, also somewhat kid friendly for such a luxurious hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Henry,

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Waldorf Astoria. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel! We hope to see you and your family next time you're in New York City!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#105 of 469 in New York City
2,331 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 469 in New York City
3,486 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 469 in New York City
2,730 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing