We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #255 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife. We were lucky that we got a room upgrade to the Waldorf Towers and a Junior suite. The room was very clean and plenty of room.
The hotel is quite 'dark' in the lobby/ reception area but is stylish and glamorous as you would expect. The reception staff were all friendly and polite.
The staff and atmosphere were not at all pretentious, and quite down to earth. Some 'old' hotels can make you feel a little uncomfortable if you are not in their 'super' rich category, not here.
The location of the hotel is great as well, nicely set on Park Ave in Midtown Manhattan and easy walking distance to 5th Ave shops etc

I would have no hesitation staying here again. Hightly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Good Afternoon Lloyd,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and thank you for your positive comments! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come back again soon!

Thank you,
Megan Hennessey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,679 - 6,685 of 11,540 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have tried to stay at least once in all of NYC's popular grand old hotels. Last year we decided to tried the Waldord and we were extremely excited. Upon arrival, you notice the mix of modern comforts mixed with old elegant glamour, and grandeur from decades ago. I really appreciate this time period in the U.S. and the details to design and architecture. If you can appreciate the same things, this hotel will not disappoint. The same charm is present in the rooms, although they are NYC small as you can expect almost everywhere in the city. We only had one glitch! We stayed a weekend. Roughly $800/night. $1600 total, plus all the taxes. They accidentally billed my checking account twice! We caught the mistake and brought it to the attention of the front desk, then we were referred to the manager. They were respectful, but they made our bank prove the error. Since it was a weekend, we dealt with our bank's 1-800 customer service and not our actual branch. I even showed the Hotel manager my bank statement on my laptop that showed the double charge, but it was not good enough. It took hours, multiple phone calls, and my bank faxing over all sorts of stuff, for the hotel to tell me that they will refund the money in a few days. Yes, I was really ticked off at the time. It was a mistake and mistakes do happen. I was not treated poorly, but with so much technology available, the fact that they have my personal information on file, including my credit card that they charge, etc, they should have taken care of the customer first. I was disappointed that this happened, and then all of the responsibility was thrown into my lap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Im-Batman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you so much for writing to us about your experience at the Waldorf Astoria New York. We are happy to hear your appreciation for the decor! We are so sorry to hear about your experience with billing. As you said, mistakes to happen... but we must be able to handle them well. Our front desk team is working on how to best recover from this type of mistake in the future to avoid guest frustration. We hope you were able to leave the hotel on a positive note and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

When I was younger I used to work across the street and always wanted to stay here. We obtained a great rate through hilton and spent three thoroughly enjoyable nights here. The Bull and Bear and lobby bar are expensive but terrific. The Sunday brunch must be one of the best in NYC. We upgraded to a bigger room and had a great view of the Chrysler building.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malachy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

We are so glad you were able to join us at the Waldorf Astoria hotel! It sounds like you had a wonderful experience. The legendary Sunday brunch is one not to miss. You're right! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Booked several nights on Hotel.com here and got a great rate....the service was very good and the staff was friendly and very fast when something was requested....I booked this as a business trip so a small room was fine...I would easily book again and pay for a suite....great stay..

Room Tip: Did not have a view and the room was small but was perfect for a few days on a business trip....agai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivebmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Good Afternoon!

We are so happy to hear about your positive experience with our hotel and our staff. It is great that you were able to secure a good rate through hotels.com! We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked this place for Christmas/New Years Eve 2012 and it was quite pricey as one would expect. Got a standard room for two and it wasn't that big. The bed easily took up half 3/4 of the room and the cupboard can't fit 2 suitcases. Food and drinks were pricey.

If it weren't for the name and history, I wouldn't be impressed. Reception was nice and so was the concierge. However I say this without demanding too much from them.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank 2niteshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Good Afternoon,

We are terribly sorry to hear you don't feel you received the unforgettable experience you certainly deserve at the Waldorf Astoria. Your comments regarding pricing and sizing have been noted and passed along to our Guest Services team, who are continuously working to perfect the guest experience. We hope to see you back at the Waldorf Astoria in the near future so we may provide you with an experience far above average.

Thank you,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights during major renovation work to exterior of hotel, that we were prewarned about at booking, but this did to impact on our stay. We had a large room with double king size for 2 adults and 2 lung children and it was great size. The kids loved the spacious corridors and fast lifts, room service was prompt and efficient, rooms well maintained and clean, with a certain olde worlds charm.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan_Hennessey, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your comments about the Waldorf Astoria! It sounds like you had a splendid stay with us. We are so happy to hear this! We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was dated and in need of renovation. Service was mixed sometimes okay and sometimes not okay. For example the doorman did not help us with the stoller in the stairs. The public areas were nice and intersting but I would for sure not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We appreciate your honest feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. We understand you were disappointed in our guestroom appointment and we will keep your comments in mind as we look towards future improvements. We are glad you were inspired by our unique common areas and apologize you did not receive the consistently excellent service we aim for. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to show you the singular Waldorf experience you deserve should you return to the city in the future.

Thank you,
Meg Towner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#92 of 469 in New York City
2,372 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#82 of 469 in New York City
3,555 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#106 of 469 in New York City
1,198 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#56 of 469 in New York City
754 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#90 of 469 in New York City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in New York City
#176 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing