We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Astoria New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #265 of 467 Hotels in New York City
cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Well what can i say this hotel is the best i have ever stayed in ,The staff where fab very helpful and the maids that cleaned our room were amazing ,It is a beautiful hotel ,loved the beds,loved the pillows, loved the sheets,and loved New York nothing was too much trouble, I went with my two daughters, so they slept in one bed and i in the other but as sisters do they ended up fighting !!!! so one of my daughters asked the man on the desk would it be possible for them to put another bed in our room !!! it took them 10 mins to put another single bed in the room fantastic service so if i ever go back to New York i would love so much to go back to this hotel AMAZING !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,587
    3,122
    2,062
    1,077
    588
See reviews for
3,052
3,916
399
1,877
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,971)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Firstly, the hotel oozes old school. Tons of ornate features, and the lobby is amazing. We had a one bedroom suite, which was huge, and had great views over Park Ave. the room was clean, if a little tired and could do with a makeover. It could have done with a coffee machine, but Starbucks is about 3 feet away from the hotel. The check in was excellent, with the concierge comping us breakfast for our entire stay. Breakfast was a buffet, and if i was paying for it, would have gone to a diner instead. All staff were very welcoming to us and especially my 2 year old, and we felt welcome. Its location is great, as your are in the middle of the city, and generally can walk to everywhere. The only thing that lets it down is the Peacock bar in the lobby. 3 nights i had to argue to get my boys milk warmed up, with proposed charges ranging from 8 to 20 dollars. This just comes across as either penny pinching or poor service, especially as when i asked to speak to someone to explain to me the policy, the charge dissapeared. I am well used to paying for stuff in hotels, but when it comes to this, it kind of leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

Room Tip: The A suites have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sports-bags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the city and that we were able to be apart of your memories. We sincerely apologize for the issues in service and amenities you encountered and we will use your comments as part of our ongoing training for advanced guest satisfaction. We value your input and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time your family visits the city so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve from our brand.

Thank you again,
Meg Towner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a great iconic hotel right in the heart of midtown Manhattan. When you walk in you feel as if you've been transformed to a time when everything was more elegant. I have always loved this hotel. I booked through Priceline so I got a smaller room, but it was beautiful. Always ask to get a room that is not on the main street so that it will be quieter. They accomodated me without a problem. Really a beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

I had a business trip to NYC, and they put us up at the Waldorf Astoria. It's a beautiful, old, historic hotel with many great stories! But sadly I was sick the whole time so I spent every second I could in the comfort of the amazing pillow top bed. Room Service is pricey but sometimes you have to treat yourself. :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkabernathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I could not list the inadequate lack of service and rudeness of the staff in this hotel as I could be here a lot longer than my 3 day stay. I will never visit again and only hope that if you decide to stay here you have a better experience than me and my party. The only good thing I can say is that the room maids were delightful, respectful and the type of people, as a business man, I would want to employ. Thats it i'm afraid, thats all it deserves.

Room Tip: Stay at the Park Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brutus_of_Troy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your candid feedback on your visit. We sincerely apologize you were not pleased with your experience and we welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share with us directly. We strive to provide that singular Waldorf experience our guests expect and we regret having dropped the ball during your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the world-class service and accommodations you deserve should you return to New York in the future.

Thank you,
Meg Towner

Meg.Towner@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the waldorf for 4 nights, the hotels was amazing nice classic style when we check in the staff where very helpfull we went to our room and it was located on the 16th floor it was a large room with 2 double beds as we arrived late we unpacked at went straight to bed. the next day we where keen to go straight out and see the sighs of New York after being out all day we returned very cold and decided to have a hot bath thats when we noticed problems with the heating and hot water the heating was only blowing warm heat, and there was no heating in the bathroom and when i tried to run a bath it was luke warm, so my husband called reception to report the problem and where told she would send maintenance after a hour no one had come so we called again and ask could we speak to the duty manager, in the mean time the maintenance arrived and explained he had only just been told and showed us his phone to confirm that he said he was unable to fix the heating as it really need to be replaced, he said he would go and speak to reception. we then had a knock on the door and leslie the reception manager had come to show us a new room, we where taken to a room on the 25th floor when we got there we had been up graded to a suite which we where very happy with and leslie was very kind and helpfull and arranged for our luggage to be moved over. the suite was wonderfull with 2 bathrooms walk in closet and bedroom and livingroom with great views of new york, and the room was loverly and warm, the following day on or return from being out all day we received a bottle of champagne and waldorf astoria cup cakes compliments of the hotel, the hotel went out of there way to make our stay wonderfull and resolve the problems, we enjoyed the rest of our stay with no other problems all the staff where friendly and helpfull and there is free wifi in the lobby and internet for 18.00 dollas room was always very clean and tidy with clean towels each day would defanatly stay here again thanks again to leslie for your help.

Room Tip: high floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BroganManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived at midnight. Line to check in took 15 minutes to clear because this huge hotel put only two receptionists on duty. My preassigned room was no ready and the hotel took time to find another. Rooms are shabby and in severe need of renovation. The bathroom fixtures were in poor shape, the shower head faulty and the water flow poor - with hot water taking a while to come through and shower pressure disappointing. Internet is a staggering $19 per day. The gym is small relative to the size of the hotel and at 05.55 all aerobic equipment was taken. Why would anyone stay here given the choice available in the city?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D j R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your input and apologize for your disappointing experience at check-in and for the poor impression made by our guestrooms. We will keep your comments on the look and feel of our property in mind as we look towards future renovations and hope you will consider staying with us again should you return to New York in the future. If we may be of any additional assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Thank you,
Meg Towner

Meg.Towner@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Towers of the Waldorf Astoria - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#83 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,096 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,091 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Astoria New York is currently closed while undergoing an exciting renovation. New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing