We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh, but basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #260 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Waldorf Astoria, wreaks of splendor, oozes with money. The attention by the staff is fantastic, all the staff we met, wanted to help and assist, from the bell hop on the front door, which we had the pleasure to be with for an hour whilst waiting for our car. To the maid who wished us a pleasant journey as she watched us with our suitcase going towards the lift.

Once checked-in we went to our room. The room wasn't the most spacious one I have been in, but was OK. Two large beds comfortable enough. After calling reception twice for a firm pillow, we decided, that after the nine pillows that had been delivered, we weren't going to get a firm one. The TV was large, and channels a plenty. But there was no tea/coffee facilities, which makes this room, OK, not one to kick back after a hard days walking and shopping to rest in. The bathroom carried on the basic approach with old fittings, and a bath that couldn't fill up fast enough as the water drain through the closed plug.
The windows need double glazing. Because at around 2am all trucks in New York city have to drive backwards and make that beeping sound, or thats what it sounded like from our room.

When in the Waldorf, you must eat the Waldorf salad... and yes it was nice, although the accompanying bread had seen better days. The whisky and beers were also nice.
This hotel is nice for conferences, meetings, and its location, but if you value money more than the pretentious of staying near the city center then choose elsewhere, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a bell hop to hail a cab. Wifi is free in the lobby only. Radio alarm clock in room is good an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,527)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,073 - 7,079 of 11,527 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

What could be a great hotel in a great location is a mediocre use of the name...the rooms are small and in spite of the high price tag the hotel incredibly has the affront to charge for wifi! This is 2012 not 1999, and any hotel who charges "extra" for a basich service, and it isn't cheap either, gets a bad review. What is good is the location. There also also long waits at reception.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient for your activities in the city and that you were able to enjoy the historic atmosphere of our hotel. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet service, we strive to be in line with pricing of neighboring hotels. We will surely take your comments on our internet practice into account as we continually work to improve our guests’ experience. The next time you are in the area, I hope you will return to our hotel.

Thank you,
Meg Towner

Meg.Towner@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just an impeccable place to eat and drink There is not much more one can say other than all the staff and food were excellent this hotel equates well with the Waldorf in London where staff and food were of a superior quality we stayed in a sut that was more than adequate

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinBeamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked this hotel a year in advance but when we got there they said that they hadn't got a room available. As it was a 40th anniversary treat it really wound us up. After some time they found us one which after paying £460 per night with no meals thought it was rather good of them.
No amenities at the entrance for disabled so I had to push the wife around to the back door (known in UK as the tradesmens entrance)
Breakfast was taken in our room after fetching it from Starbucks on the ground floor.
Indulged in a Waldorf Salad and a lovely burger one lunchtime but ate out the rest if the time.
This hotel is very well positioned for everything, which isn't much I'm afraid.
However they can call this place the capital of the world, it isn't even the capital of their own country and whoever has made this statement hasn't been anywhere else, certainly not London!
Good job we were then going home on the QM2 and some real service and value for money but that's another story.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lollennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAMeg, Public Relations Manager at Waldorf Astoria New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I appreciate your honesty in your comments regarding areas for improvement which will help us to continually better the guest experience. I apologize for the inconvenience at check-in and have taken your comments on our efficiency and value to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job providing our guests the singular Waldorf experience they expect and deserve. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the city, I hope that you will be our guest again and provide us with the opportunity to demonstrate the unparalleled service experience you deserve.

Happy Anniversary and Safe Travels,
Meg Towner

Meg.Towner@waldorfastoria.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

If it's uber chic modernity that you're after, this isn't the hotel for you. If elegant old buildings are your thing....they don't come any finer than The Waldorf. At check in we had to wait, but only because Rebecca wanted us to have a great room ( which wasn't yet ready) because we were staying for a week. The room was massive, with a separate dressing area and sumptuous bathroom. If you're not used to being in the U S get them to explain how to turn on the water for bath or shower. ( I got confused). It's true that in places the room looked a little tired and there are no tea/coffee making facilities, but there are ways around that. There is construction going on at the moment, and therefore quite noisy during the night, but not enough to keep you awake, unless perhaps you are a very light sleeper, in which case, ask for a room not facing Park Avenue.
The Lobby, and Reception area are breathtaking and it is difficult to hide your admiration for a building so exquisite. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, room service is something else, a very elegant affair, but pricey....but hey what do you expect. Peacock Alley is lovely but extortionate. All in all, you get what you pay for. If you come to Waldorf, expect to pay handsomely for it, but for a trip of a lifetime....what the hell. Absolutely brilliant in every way

Room Tip: Ask away from Park Avenue if you are a light sleeper, there is construction ongoing at the moment.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Waldorf Astoria. It's a legendary place, and I was most impressed with the building.

The maintenance of the older property will always be difficult, and it was understandable that there will be a few issues, but there does need to be a heavy clean for the room I was in.
I didn't expect to see dust on the crevices of the door, nor mug rings on the surface at the TV at the WA.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We had a few nights in NYC this year staying at the Waldorf and enjoyed our stay. The brunch is a must, make sure your very hungry! Location is great too, short walk to most things. I think we took 1 taxi the whole trip. Starbucks joined on to hotel was really handy for breakfasts. The rooms are nice but in an old fashion grand way. Could probably be done with a revamp! But it's not exactly a modern hotel. Probably is quite expensive and not the best value. The gym was good. Would probably choose a more modern hotel when returning but did really enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#100 of 468 in New York City
2,307 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 468 in New York City
3,450 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#98 of 468 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 468 in New York City
1,089 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing