We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school glamour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Never thought I would be able to stay in the Waldorf, but an offer on Expedia was cheaper than the hotel I usually stay in when I go to New York. The building is amazing, so glamorous. Our room was perfectly comfortable, a good size, and luxurious bathroom. The hotel gym is basic, but very clean and served our needs. Whenever we needed service, the assistance was excellent. Great location. Only criticism would be that wifi wasn't free - if Starbucks can provide wifi for free, I would expect an expensive hotel to do the same!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_Elfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,191 - 7,197 of 11,534 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here two years ago and had a few credit card issues. Cant fault the hotel though. We stayed in suite 11R. What an amazing room. Looked out on corner of Park and 50th. Amazing old elegance. Heavy drapes, open fireplace, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Hotel is going through some reservations at present. Was a little disappointed to see the large chandelier has been replaced with more Art Deco lighting which I'm told is part of the restoration of the hotel bringing it back to its former glory.

All said it was an amazing stay and can't fault anything.

I hope I'm lucky enought to return again someday. Wouldn't stay in any other hotel in NYC. it's just perfectly situated!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scathed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Don't believe all the hype about this place. It's in dire need of a top to bottom cleaning and refurbishing. The whole place is tired looking. The carpets in the rooms and hallways are worn. The one chair in our room (an upholstered, high-back, desk chair) was completely worn and almost unusable.

The linens are wonderful -- but I don't like a soft bed -- and this bed was way too soft. The draperies are tired and look dusty.

The hallways are also tired and need new carpet and painting. New lighting is needed in both the room and the hallways.

The elevators are barely functional. You wait for about 15 minutes to get an elevator from your floor to the lobby. There seems to be no problem going the other way. But apparently the down elevator buttons on the guest floors don't signal the car to stop. So you end up using the up button to catch an elevator, ride to the top and then go down. It was annoying.

My advice -- do some research -- find nice accomodations. They are out there. When you're paying this kind of money, you shouldn't have to stay in worn, dingy rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulM1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The hotel is a part of history yes and the public rooms are grand. But in this day and age the powers at large arent into custome service or reputation in the future.

ROOM
My wife and I had an odd shaped room which had an alcove with a couch jammed in the corner making no sense to any deco. The couch was old, dated and something you would find in a dumpster. The shower was the size of a telephone booth if anyone remembers what that is. The heat was non-existant and the room was cold. The curtians were well worn and ripped. (room 1701) I travel a lot so IM not some dummy

SERVICE
i wanted coffee at 620 am and didnt want room serive to wake my wife up so I went to the lobby. NO COFFEE itll 7 I was told to go to the Starbucks located in the Marriott two blocks away.
Despit the hotel being "fully commintted" the wonderful "Harrys bar" was closed on Sunday nights....really? The in room mini bar features $20 for a can of beer $10 for a water

NO HOT TUB
Unless you join the spa for the day. $$$$

THE STAFF
Very nice all around but the problems that they deal with comes from the top of the chain whom only sight is $$$$ really $95 for brunch? The Bevely Hilton provides free coffee until the shop opens so does the Chicago Hilton NOT NY

If you go be prepared for grand public room but the hotel rooms tired. I do not understand how such an icon like the Waldoff could be in this kind of dissary. sad but the future of travel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fdny911golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Assuming you want to stay in (noisy at all hours) Midtown, this Art Deco palace still has a lot to recommend it. Rooms may be a little passé for some tastes, but they are very large, and the charm of the staff consistently reminds you this is a veritable Noo Yoik institution.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acer sed justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This iconic hotel is beautiful and charming. It is a lady of a hotel that boasts a grand entrance and spacious rooms. In a modern, fast paced world, it is nice to sit in the elegant lobby and imagine the stars, presidents and famous people who passed through her opulent hallways. A true treat sitting in one of the greatest cities in the world!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel through Expedia at the very last minute because of the great deal we were able to get. When you step into this hotel, it really is like stepping back in time. Everything is so elegant and grand and you can imagine the many people that have passed through over the years. The room was neat and clean and the beds were very comfortable. Although, our bed was a full-size and a little tight compared to our king-size bed at home. Loved the big sitting window sill!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#105 of 469 in New York City
2,331 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#79 of 469 in New York City
3,486 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#108 of 469 in New York City
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#100 of 469 in New York City
2,730 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing