We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent four nights in the Waldof Astoria. Everything was perfect, from the large, newly-renovated room facing Park Avenue to the always-helpful staff. Everything was clean, elegant and beautiful. The location is ideal, only two blocks from Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center and one block to the Lexington Avenue subway which can take you anywhere in the city. This historic hotel is a must for your special visit to New York City.

Room Tip: As for a room that is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,628 - 7,634 of 11,545 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Me and my husband are having our 30 days holiday in u.s and stayed at top end hotel in every stop. We have just came from Ritz Carlton at San Fransisco(highly recommended), like waldorf we also requested concierge level of service, and Ritz didnt not dissapoint. The same could not be said with Waldorf. We cancelled our booking at The Trump Tower and decided on THE WALDORF ASTORIA instead. Upon arrival we were greeted with script type service of "Welcome Sir" standard and nothing special, we then got shown thru the 5 STAR GRAND LOOKING LOBBY to a LITTLE DOOR which leads us to our room elevator. From there on its ZERO star. The room at "THE Waldorf Astoria" is no where near elegant or character like it described. our CONCIERGE LEVEL room was detailed with peeling wallpaper, blotchy paint at the ceiling, and aged old bathroom which I was stunned to find there is a rolled up Anti-slip mat at the tub which i thought was a left behind water pipe from the maintainence. I totally agreed with this reviewer's view except our room smell like smoker's lounge...
“Honest Review from a experienced traveler...”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 NEW
Ok, I should state this first:we can stay at the 5 stars such as four seasons and I also love staying in some hometown inns that are budget types..but the one thing I cant stand is a place that charges 5 star rates and is a run down hotel. I have a hilton honors card and am upgraded at all hotels, the upgraded room (which the front desk said is one of the best) was a complete dump. Imagine staying in Aunt Marges attic or basement---that smell was pungent in our hotel hallways, rooms, and areas...long hallways, outdated, dilaplated, and overall a complete waste. I dont care if its a Waldorf Astoria-this place has horrible service, slow, too small for the hotel crowd, outdated elevators...and worst of all its overpriced. I think the last time this place had a renovation was when it opened, the bathrooms were ugly, ill decorated, the bathtub hasnt changed since it opened...i could go on and on and on...and i truly dont write bad reviews unless they are nessesary... AVOID THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE 70 YEARS AND OLDER AND LIKE A RETIREMENT HOME ENVRIONMENT WITH A MILDEW SMELL.

anyone who thinks this hotel is a good hotel in a review hasnt been out much..i can say that

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The Waldorf Astoria is such a beautiful old hotel with so much history and romance, that I keep coming back, despite the fact the rooms are not always perfect. Yes, you might see a little bit of peeling paint on the heavy bathroom door and I noticed an uneven rug section up against the threshold of the door. The desk chair we had in our room was a little dated and I really wanted a few more outlets. Despite all of that, I still love the Waldorf-Astoria for the feel, ambiance and service.

The fitness room is very nice, plenty of towels, bottled water and helpful staff. In the past, I was told there was a fee to use the fitness center, but if such a comment is made, be sure to ask to join the Hilton Honors and the fees will be waived at all times. Regarding fees, one complaint: the hotel charges for use of internet in rooms (free wi-fi in lobby and public rooms). Hilton Honor cards of the higher categories can have the fee waived. Check with hotel for details.

The Waldorf Astoria lobby is worth time spent just sitting in the comfortable chairs and watching the busy day. The hotel staff is extremely attentive and will promptly assist you in any way. Ask for a refrigerator to keep basics and snacks handy. Hotel meals a bit expensive, but it's New York and the Waldorf has such a great location, finding places to eat nearby is very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for corner rooms on Park Ave side. I've had better views in a queen corner room than my rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

The location is perfect for walking around some of the major New York attractions. Check in was tediously long, and the room was average. The decor was tired and the bathroom was old, and peeling - even at the bottom of the bath. However, the public rooms were spectacular, and some of the shops within the building are interesting. Staff were helpful if a little overstretched. There is a buzzing atmosphere and there is always something to watch - eg wedding, people. The beds were really comfortable and sleep came easily, whether due to the walking or comfort. One of those places which must be done.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Unfortunately we strayed from our normal hotel to stay in the iconic NYC Waldorf Astoria. Do NOT make the same mistake! Our "luxury" one bedroom suite was a total disappointment. The bathroom had a single sink with barely enough room for one person. Forget the idea of a luxurious bathroom, it did not exist. Our suite was supposed to include a kitchenette or wet bar. Apparently an ice bucket will suffice for this criteria at The Waldorf Astoria. With so many great hotels in NYC, please don't waste your time or money on the Waldorf. Come in and have a drink in the bar, say you've had the experience,and move on! And yes, we made our concerns known to the front desk staff and via email to management ....while they are quite professional in delivery, the message is the same..."too bad".

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Lovely hotel,well placed looked after from the minute we arrived,we were under no illusion that the place would not be expensive to drink/eat in and how right we were but as I was told "this is the Waldorf sir" if you want a reasonably priced drink nip out onto 48th towards 5th and you will find a couple of Irish bars where you will be well looked after also.The Waldorf was amazing I loved sitting in the lobby people watching with my Starbucks coffee in the morning.got to give a mention for Torro on the door this fella looked after us and was not a "stuck up" as some of the others were thanks "Torro " you should be on the NYC tourist board what a help this fella was.the reception staff very very pleasant

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank Teagies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Don't bother staying at this establishment as the service, level of cleanliness and quality of rooms are probably better at a Holiday Inn. Our room smelled of pet urine, there is absolutely no venilation in the bathrooms, the shower was falling apart, the linen was tattered (including the spa robe), etc. Expect beauty and grandiosity at the lobby-level, but not beyond.

Do your self a favor and continue your search. I will never stay at the Waldorf again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Meredith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#103 of 470 in New York City
2,398 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#56 of 470 in New York City
779 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#104 of 470 in New York City
214 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing