We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room in a historic building.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #258 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Beautiful room, well decorated, in the tower. I wish i had the time to take the guided tour. This is a historic building and if the wall could talk the stories they could tell. The furnishings may look dated to someone expecting contemporary chic. My room had a large flat screen tv set on an elegant 1920's style sideboard. Beautiful marble floors at the entrance to the suite. The gold fixtures in the bathroom do look dated to modern eyes but they also look very good in the period furnishings of the suite. Loved staying there and would return anytime. Service was excellent; very accommodating and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LewM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,238 - 8,244 of 11,545 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2011

The central lobby is beautiful art-deco style. But the room was a bit disappointing: small, with 2 queensize beds close together. And it needed painting and redecorating very much. But also the curtains were very dirty. A bit of dry cleaning is not too expensive for the Waldorf, is it? Not chic: use of wifi will cost you 20 dollar a day!
But the staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were disappointed in the decor and service. We were driven in a back door where our luggage was placed with bundles of other luggage that looked like they had been tossed there. At the check in counter, there was a line of about 20 people and took around 40 minutes to be served. We had arrived an hour early and mistakenly thought we may have our room ready. We were told to come back at the correct time and again, lined up for over half hour to be given our key.

The room was old and furniture scratched. The power point situation was a workplace health and safety nightmare. One power point with a double adaptor with 2 separate powerboards attached containing the TV, clock radio, and internet connections etc etc. Our internet connection never worked and we were told that is usual in New York. You would think that a Hotel like the Waldorf would have state of the art technology in the rooms.

Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the street. It was very noisy and you could hear the street cleaners and people all night.

On the last night, my husband cut his foot badly on glass that was in the carpet. We had not broken anything so shows that the vacuuming isn't up to scratch and how long had the glass been there. We were offered a free night to be used in the next 12 months for this misfortune but advised them that it's not like we are in New York every year!!!!

The staff are not as friendly and welcoming as many other USA hotels we stayed in during out holiday. As it was my husband's 50th birthday celebration holiday, I had specifically booked the 3 nights at this hotel as a present and surprise and to fulfil my "bucket list" wish.

The only redeeming feature of the hotel was the location - easy walking distance to the city centre, Rockafeller Square and bus lines.

I was so disappointed in the Hotel seeing it was a gift/surprise. Would never stay in the Waldorf again and do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We were given a room with what seemed to be two large twin sized beds. I would be shocked to learn that they were actually full size beds. They couldn't get us in a room with just one queen or king bed so we had to either sleep cramped together or in separate beds. Not what we had in mind for a romantice getaway. Next the carpet, chairs, and bedding cried late 80's decor. Extremely outdated. I can't understand why the furnishings would be so old with the kind of prices that they command per night. If I had looked at pictures of the room without knowing that it was the Waldorf, I would swear it was some old Ramada Inn. I would never stay at this hotel again. The location was great but that didn't really make up for the lousy room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a reservation with the bed size that you want. And ask what the view is before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have not stayed at the Waldorf for a few years but the Service was outstanding! Unlike most of our customer service industry, the Waldorf has managed to get better. The room was great, and the Sunday brunch, although pricey is over the top!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Park Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FalconFly190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

First of all, great location - very close to transport hubs and Manhattan, literally seconds walking distance from Grand Central Terminal, Tiffanys, Times Square etc. Staff are exceptional as are the rooms and service (what I'd expect from a well known, reputable hotel such as this). We travelled during thanksgiving. As we entered the lobby there was a large spread of almost Michelin-star quality food laid out on tables including the biggest cooked turkey with all the trimmings. Our stay including thanksgiving dinner however we were disappointed to find that the glorious food on display on the lobby was the 'premium' dinner and was not included - instead we were escorted down a small corridor to a buffet style dinner - most of which was cold including the Turkey!

The rooms/service/cleanliness of the place brings the rating up however. The rooms are very old fashioned, as is the decor however it is in line with the image of the hotel. Very high ceilings. The bathrooms are excellent as were the toiletries.

Overall, I would stay here again but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drizzy5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This building houses old secrets. If you enjoy charm and turn of the 20th century interior this is your place. If you look really close, and you have a penchant for pointing out what is askew you will find it. This place should only be used as a background for two people who can appreciate it and use it as a catalyst for a beautiful time together. It draws you back to the old interior of a Great Grandmother; paint chip and overused carpet. You should bring a new love.

Room Tip: Take the E from JFK and it brings you to 53 and 5 avenue head to 50th and Park Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#103 of 470 in New York City
2,398 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#56 of 470 in New York City
779 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#104 of 470 in New York City
214 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#51 of 470 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $319 - $1,799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing