We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,053)
Filter reviews
2,053 results
Traveler rating
553
813
391
176
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
813
391
176
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews massage chair central park great location new york trump tower dunkin donuts the penthouse times square one bedroom suite front desk staff fifth avenue coffee machine around the corner rockefeller center rooms are small flat screen tv free internet
Filter
Updating list...
1,235 - 1,240 of 2,053 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I stayed at the Shoreham during a long weekend with a friend. The hotel is well located for shopping and Central Park but not great for going out in the evening.
The rooms were good size (compared to NYC standards) and the beds super comfortable. Bathroom was very small but functional.

We used the room service for breakfast one morning and other times for ice and cutlery and it was always really quick and friendly.

The front desk staff was a bit self important but perfectly efficient.

I can't fault this hotel, it's good value for money, perfect for shopping and sightseeing and the rooms are functinal and comfortable. By far the best mid range hotel in NYC I've stayed in. Not luxurious by any means but perfectly comfortable and adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

My wife and I just returned from NYC, stayed 4 nights, had a great time in the City and The Shoreham. Here are some notes about our stay:
---very modern looking futuristic furniture inside lobby with a large t.v. monitor built into the wall; very low ceilings throughout lobby and lounge: I could touch the ceiling easily and I am 5'9".
---service was good, albeit very business-like; we were able to check in 2 hours early and were offered champagne or Voss sparkling water upon arrival. We chose water because it was so hot and humid.
---The hotel building has two facades: an older one on the East side of the building, a newer one on the West. I had read on Oyster.com that the rooms on the East, older side had higher ceilings and since we chose a basic Superior Queen room anyway, I figured to just request a room on the East side. However, the lady after checking her computer said that those rooms were all booked (even though the hotel inside did not seem to be very busy with a lot of patrons) so instead we were assigned a room on the newer West side of the building--room 911. Of course, I immediately noted the irony when she casually informed us of this, so in response, I said playfully, "oh thats a little disconcerting". She then reassured us that it will be fine, so off we went with our luggage as we declined an offer for the bellhop to bring them up for us.
---The good thing about the West building is that the 2 elevators are much roomier; enough to fit 2 people, 3 carry-ons, and 1 large suitcase. The other elevator on the East side is a phone booth sized lift, which we never needed anyway since we were on the newer West side of the building.
---the elevator ride was pleasant; dimly lit with small colorful club lighting near the ceiling of elevator and good dance music playing, but very quietly;
---the hallways to the rooms are very cramped but its normal for a boutique hotel
---The room itself was surprisingly roomy and very clean! It had a low ceiling mainly due to the design of the room, as the bed's headboard extended across the ceiling, but very modern looking and sleek and new!
---There was in fact, a large window with ample light coming through and a view of the tops of buildings next door and further away, views of much taller buildings which appeared to have housed businesses inside. You could see easily through the window so not much privacy, but there was a shade to pull down plus a curtain so no worries there.
---The bathroom was pleasantly large for a boutique hotel room! A regular sized bathtub with a huge mirror on the wall of the bathtub. Tiny sink but ample vanity space for toiletries around the sink and above the toilet.
---we noticed right when we walked in to the room, the toilet was making flushing noises, so I walked over to it and saw that it kept flushing itself every 3 or 4 seconds. This turned out to be only a minor problem as we quickly called front desk and they sent up a maintenance worker who resolved the issue in 10 minutes.
---In the room, there was some very ingeniously placed lighting, terrific shade of light green color, a good sized closet with a mini safe, a little bar inside the dresser with some snacks for sale, which we never needed, as well as an LCD 32" LG television which had poor reception on a few channels. Again, this didn't bother us since we didn't come to NYC to watch t.v.
---Sleep quality was good although the bed is smaller than a standard queen size bed, the pillows and mattress were terrific. The AC worked most of the time but there was a constant humming of the AC during the night whether it was on or off and we couldn't tell if it was coming from the room or the building next door. Wife had a problem with the noise as she slept with pillows covering her ears, but it didn't bother me much.
---there was a bench at the end of the bed which I promptly moved off to the side to create more space and placed our 1 large suitcase on top. I put one carry-on in the closet on top of the fold-out suitcase holder. I put the other carry-on on top of the window sill and scooted the little circular glassy bedside table over a few inches to give the carry-on more surface area and I still had enough room to place a bottled water on top.
---Curiously, there was no alarm clock and no bath robes in the room although if you were to request bath robes, it would be available. You can just use your cell phone for an alarm as we did or call front desk for a wake-up call.
---the location was great for us! Since we are in our early 30's, we were able to traverse the streets of Manhattan easily and willingly to see many of the exciting attractions the City had to offer. The hotel's block (W. 55th between 5th and 6th) was very busy with your typical hustle and bustle of NYC. There were a few restaurants and bars that were crowded in the evenings. There was a Dunkin Donuts and a Five Guys burger place right next door. The Shoreham's own low-ceilinged lobby bar was crowded only 1 night we were there; a great speaker system throughout lobby and the bar but the volume was kept at a minimum the whole time. They have a great breakfast menu, their Eggs Benedict was delicious albeit around $15. Their continental b-fast was $17
which included cereals, pastries, multi-grain toast and juice. They have a wonderful FREE selection of tea packets, a coffee, espresso, cappuccino machine in a little room off the lobby in which you can take with you on the go which we did each morning even in the searing heat and humidity.
---by the 2 elevators at the end of the lobby, there was on-going construction of a room that was to house "The Willow Club" a private membership club in which The Shoreham as well as other hotels in Manhattan are involved; Luckily however, this construction did not interfere with our stay at all as far as dust and noise level was concerned.
--Overall, I would recommend the Shoreham on 3 counts: 1) If you like the positives I stated above and don't mind the negatives (of which there were not many), 2) If you are a young energetic couple who like walking anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes or more to see the major attractions including museums and Harbor cruises (the MoMA was only 2 short blocks away, conversely, the Circle Line cruises were many many blocks away, a half-hour walk at least) 3) Lastly, if you can get a great deal online from an outside company and not from the Shoreham website; do your research and book in advance! For example, try Easyclicktravel.com. We bought through their website a few months in advance and paid up front in full. In the end we spent a total of $609 for 4 nights, which comes to about $152/night and this was Wednesday through Sunday. It was a great deal considering how difficult it can be to get a quality hotel at this price during tourist season with a decent location (Central Park only 4 short blocks away, Rockefeller Center 5 blocks away, Times Square 10 blocks away). If I can get 4 nights at this price again, I would definitely stay at the Shoreham.
---Last note, if its your first time in NYC, get the Citypass. You can see 6 major sights for $79 including the Statue of Liberty, Circle Line cruise, Top of the Rock at Rockefeller Center and some museums like MoMA and the Met. Have fun!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyMe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This hotel is a great bargain for a NYC midtown location. It's just between Fifth Avenue and Sixth Avenue on 55th Street, so it's walking distance to everything you could imagine in Midtown. However, because it's in the middle of the block, some of the rooms only have windows looking in to a dim lightwell. If you are out and about all day, this doesn't bother you too much because you just want to collapse in the bed, which is very comfortable. The only complaint that I have about our room which was quite spacious with its two queen sized beds is that the bathroom is about half the size of what it should be. The architect could have taken a few extra feet from the bedroom to expand the bathroom. As it is, only a very, very small person would find this airplane-like restroom adequate. We spent a total of $532 for two nights including all the sales and room taxes, so the price is something I definitely cannot complain about.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGC94102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We were staying for two weeks in NY and we have tested several boutique hotels like Affinia 50, Shoreham and Elysee one. Shoreham is the option for people who like modern rooms, decorated in style, but the rooms are really tiny.

Initially we were placed in a room with inside view, into the illuminator and it was dark all day long. You couldn't say if it is night or day, cold or raining outside, which I really hate. We were moved two days after in a room with the view on the street and it was much much better. The same tiny room, but better as a feeling.

The staff at the reception was great and found as the room to switch, although it was fully booked during our stay. Also they have a free coffee machine all day long near the reception which was a bliss.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We spent a week in Midtown and found the location of the Shoreham to be just right: on West 55th between 5th and 6th (Avenue of the Americas). It was a quiet street with a grocery story at 6th, which we took full advantage of, even though the prices were high.
We could easily walk the four blocks up 5th Avenue to Central Park or a little further down to Times Square, Broadway, even the Empire State Building. There were numerous subway stations for different lines with in a block or two, as well.
The price was right, too, with a special that offered us a free night with every two nights we stayed there. Our room, for six nights, with taxes, including the two free nights, put us at about $230 a night. Pretty inexpensive for the location and amenities.
I wouldn't call this a no-frills hotel, but there was no bellman or doorman the night we arrived, which was OK with us. Later, we did see a doorman and a bellman helped us load our luggage into the airport van when we were leaving.
We did have a few problems: The first night our room's air-conditioning wasn't working properly. After two attempts to fix it, the staff immediately offered us another room, and we ended up with an upgraded room with a massage chair. Be aware, this is New York and the hotel rooms are small. While we traded up, our closet and bathroom were smaller while the there was more living space; OK with us.
There was no lock on our bathroom door, too, but that wasn't a big deal for us.
Hard to figure when traveling if you're going to get a good bed. This one was a pillow-top and had a definite crease in the middle. Yet, I slept very well.
Free NY Times every morning in the lobby, plus a coffee machine that made tea, cappuccino, steamed milk, etc. Very nice and open 24 hours.
The staff was extremely helpful with subway info.
All in all, we're planning a trip back and probably will stay at the Shoreham again. We thought we got what we paid for - and then some - in what is a very expensive city to spend almost a week in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank synchroskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews