We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,030)
Filter reviews
2,030 results
Traveler rating
547
806
384
175
118
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
806
384
175
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmassage chaircentral parkgreat locationnew yorktrump towerdunkin donutsthe penthousetimes squareone bedroom suitefront desk stafffifth avenuecoffee machinearound the cornerrockefeller centerrooms are smallflat screen tvfree internet
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 2,030 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had booked a junior suite and arrived early on a Tuesday afternoon to discover we had been upgraded to a one bedroom suite. Unfortunately, the room we were allocated overlooked the street and was quite noisy so we relocated the following day to our original room type at the back of the hotel. The air conditioning units (and outside fans) are quite loud. Although the reception staff did offer to buy us some earplugs,we got some ourselves from a local pharmacy while we were out and they worked fine to block out the noise sufficiently.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Just a couple of blocks from Central Park, a very short walk to the fabulous shops on 5th Avenue and plenty of nearby subway stations.

The room we had, as previously mentioned, was a junior suite, with a large comfortable bed and a sofa, which the staff converted to a bed for our son every night. The walk-in shower was wonderful, with shower heads above and at the side to blast you with water from every angle, just what was needed after a long day of walking. The Jacuzzi tub, unfortunately, was unusable as the nozzles were blowing out lots of rust and sediment, despite running them for quite some time to try and clear them. We did not report this to the staff as we felt they had done plenty for us already, but I have no doubt that, had we alerted them to the problem, they would have gone out of their way to make it right for us.

Which brings me to the absolute highlight of our stay at the Shoreham - the staff!! Every single employee we encountered at the hotel was courteous, friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The reception staff were delightful, particularly Sharon and another lady (Molly/Maya?), who my son took a particular shine to. They spent time chatting with us, our family (who arrived the following day) and our son and were happy to go out of their way to make recommendations and do what they could for us. Nothing was too difficult or too much of a problem for them. It is for this reason that, even though the Shoreham had some slight negative points, we will absolutely stay here again when we return to New York City - and we WILL return!

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room on a high floor
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma-bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Wilma Bride,

I will like to thank you for taking the time to review The Shoreham Hotel. Our hotel staff takes pride in providing all our guests with the “Perfect Stay.” Please feel free to contact the front office during your next visit to The Shoreham, and we will make sure to accommodate you and your family. Thank you again for making our hotel your lodging destination when visiting New
York City.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This place is close to time square and most things and if you really do hate walking there are subways everywhere the staff are really nice and always attentive and friendly the only downside was the view which we weren't warned about and the room was a bit small but overall very good

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dec_Cassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Dec_Cassar,

Thank you for leaving a trip advisor review following your stay. I am delighted that out location and proximity to subways were to your liking. I would like the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit NYC!

Regards,
LIsa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip to America and what a great way to start, the hotel was very centrally located and only a 10 minute walk to central park! It was clean, tidy. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable of the area, nothing was ever a problem. One downside was we were on the 5th floor and didn't really have much of a view, it was just of other room windows in the same block. Overall it was a lovely few days staying there and I would come back :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Lindsey W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. We are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our location and guest service. I am glad you chose the Shoreham Hotel as your hotel of choice in America!. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were able to upgrade to a Penthouse suite - one of the largest and nicest rooms that we have found in NYC. The private terrace had a table for six and two comfortable chaise lounges. Very comfortable bed, spacious bedroom, separate living area, two person jacuzzi tub and glass rainforest shower. Very nice front-desk staff, friendly bartender with special martini menu, and nice continental breakfast. The penthouse rooms have a separate elevator that was very efficient. There is a parking garage just next to the hotel on 55th Street. We will definitely return to the Shoreham.

Room Tip: Penthouse 10 has a great terrace with southern exposure.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Dean S,

Thank you staying with us here at The Shoreham and for providing us feedback following your stay. We pride ourselves in providing the best customer service experience possible. I’m very pleased that you loved the location of The Shoreham . It’s definitely one of the major features that makes our hotel so special. It brings me great pleasure to know that you were most impressed with our breakfast, rooms, and bar throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back!!


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Planned family vacation to NYC, and found great deal on Travelzoo for the Shoreham Hotel a number of months ago. Vacationed in NYC and stayed at the Shoreham hotel for one week in May. Had a fabulous time! Hotel was in a great location between 5th and 6th Avenues, and 3 blocks from Central Park. Hotel was comfortable & staff was very accommodating. We stayed in 2 rooms on 8th floor, which was very quiet and relaxing. Obviously didn't spend that much time in the hotel with all the sights to see in New York City, but when at the hotel, we enjoyed it very much. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dugenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Dugenheim,


Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our rooms were to your liking! We pride ourselves in making every guest stay as memorable as possible. We hope that you will choose to stay with us in your future stays in NYC. Please feel free to call me directly; we will do our best to top your last stay!


Regards,
LIsa Grossberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews