We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location”
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the location which seems excellent for the price. It is really a great location: next to fifth avenue, central park and times square. We were both very impressed with the hotel ,sure the rooms are small and view from window non existent .This is a very minor criticism .The staff are wonderful our room was very clean and bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: No rooms have view so doesnt matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aph1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear aph1985,


Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. We are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our location and comfortable beds. I am glad you also liked our amazing staff. We look forward to welcoming you back .


Regards,
LIsa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    687
    321
    150
    92
See reviews for
306
671
98
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We chose this hotel based on the location which seems excellent for the price. It is really a great location: next to fifth avenue and central park as well as Mona. The room were certainly not small, in fact they were big by European standards. The aesthetic was stylish and modern although the bathroom was quire small. The WiFi in the lobby was quite handy too.

The downsides: the free coffee which is promised was never available! Of the five mornings we were there, we had it once, with the machine out of service the other four. Which was nice but we had expected it to be available every day!

On out fourth night, at the end of a busy day, we returned home and my husband went to the bathroom to find a huge cockroach there! It ran out into the room where he killed it. The hotel dent someone immediately who disposed of it and then suggested we move rooms, which was good, but even so you don't want to find cockroaches in your room at the end of the day. (The second bathroom was much bigger however).

Or final issue was our transport to Newark airport. On finding out there was no public transport at 4am,we asked reception for advice. They suggested a car company which would cost $85 (including toll). When we asked about a yellow cab they said it would cost a lot more as it was metered. So we booked the car. On checking out, we asked if there car was there and were told by one of the reception staff it was there but there was no driver. Her colleague then went to check and said no it wasn't there. He then called the firm who said they didn't have a booking and then next car would be 40 minute. It turned out the hotel had booked us a car for 4pm not 4am! We then had to get a yellow cab, which we were worried about having been warned about the huge cost. Turned out to be $77 (including toll!). I think they must have a deal with the car company or something whereby they scare you into ordering with it so you actually pay more money than you would with a cab. They didn't offer to cover the cost or anything which I think a better hotel would have as it was entirely their fault.

In short, we had a great holiday but that was due to the city not the hotel. I wouldn't stay here again but if you must then don't use their car service!

Room Tip: Room 408 has a big bathroom, 908 has a small one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Sonia W,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Shoreham. We are sincerely sorry to hear that the visit did not reflect the high standards that we set for our hotel. We value your comments and we will take whatever steps we can to correct the problem. I welcome the opportunity to reach out to myself directly , and sincerely hope that you will provide us with the opportunity to restore your faith and regain your confidence in us.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned to UK after a weeks stay in NYC.My partner and myself chose the Shoreham for its excellent location and reasonably priced rooms .We were both very impressed with the hotel ,sure the rooms are small and view from window non existent .This is a very minor criticism .The staff are wonderful our room was very clean and bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: We had room 414 very quiet .No noise from other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 652lizzie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear 652lizzie44,

Thank you for sharing your review for the Shoreham on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that our price range suited your budgeting needs. I am also glad that you liked our prime location, this is what makes our hotel a true gem. The various tourist attractions, shopping and numerous amount of subway stations surrounding the hotel makes it extra special. I would like to take the opportunity to invite you back to the hotel, the next time you visit New York.



Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I came here on the second leg of our honeymoon and couldn't have been happier. The staff was AMAZING. I absolutely loved them all. For that alone I would stay here again. They were so kind and friendly. Our room was tiny compared to rooms we usually stay in but it is NYC! I love the location, it's walking distance to Times Square and the park. The room was clean and definitely modern. The only issue I had was that you had to call downstairs for ice ---- BUT they always brought it up quickly! I will definitely be a return customer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear JennrB,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! I am beyond enthused that my staff was able to provide you with exceptional service during your stay. I will be sure to commend each of them for the job well done. On the behalf of the Shoreham, we would love to have you back the next time you are in NYC.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Excellent location and in Manhattan the location is really a plus! I have stayed there twice and I have always been quite comfortable and well treated by all the staff. The bathroom is extremely small and the window view are terrible. In any case I will stay here again based on the location and the cost/benefit equation. It is not a luxury hotel but it is really convenient. In addition, the staff took care of all my transportation requirements in avery efficient way. I certainly wil stay in this place again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Edgardo M,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review on the Shoreham Hotel. We would like to thank you for visiting us again. I am delighted that our location and cost benefits are very beneficial to you. Please contact me the next time you are in New York City so that we can give you a complimentary upgrade based on availability, so that you may be able to see our other room types and different views. We look forward to hearing from you.


Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I only have 2 complaints...It took 3 phones to get a remote over a 3 day period. The view from our room was terrible. It was of a dirty stairwell. Other than that the hotel staff was very friendly. We checked in quickly and checked out quickly....

Room Tip: Ask for a great view room...Maybe it will be better on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeweles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Jon B,

Thank You for taking your time to leave us such a beautiful review on the Mansfield Hotel. We take into account all comments as they are crucial in helping us provide the best customer service possible. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in NYC.


Warmest Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Shoreham Hotel. It is located on 55th Street between 5th and 6th Avenues. The desk staff is very friendly. Our room was clean and modern. It was not grand but certainly not petite as other rooms we've been in in NYC. Lot's of good restaurants nearby and MOMA one block away. I would recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: There is a fitness center and free coffee and tea is available in the lobby before 11:00AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Artymom,

I will like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please feel free to contact myself or the front office for any future stays, and accommodations prior to your arrival. Once again, thank you and we hope you had a safe journey home; but please know you will always have a place to stay here at The Shoreham.



Regards,
Lisa Grossberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#262 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#202 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing