We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #306 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Shoreham for four nights while visiting New York. Location is just great. If you're going to musicals, everything is ery close. There are nice diners nearby, so you don't need to take your breakfasts in same places every morning. Room was pretty tiny. Materials are not four star level, so don't expect too much. We had an issue regarding to wlan. Portier gave us wlan credentials AS A COMPLIMENTARY. When signing out we were asked full price for it. No way we were accepting that, because we got the codes from reception and there were no a word about it, so be careful avout that.

As an overall comment: hotel is ok, next time I propably find an alternative.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janneki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Janneki,
Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. I'm sorry you experieced difficulties with your billing. Glad we were able to sort it out for you.
I know there are many choices in New York, but we'd love for you to give us another try.
Sincerely,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    668
    304
    141
    88
See reviews for
292
643
95
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stay in there one week in August for Trade Show in New york. The location near everything, the bed is large, room is clean and free coffee in morning , free wireless in lobby. the receiption is kind and patience, Thanks Jonathan. I will come back when travel to new york next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martinwxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Martinwxy,
Thanks for the great review! We’re honored to have hosted you for your week’s stay and that we exceeded your expectations with our service and amenities. Jonathan is the newest member to our team, and he is great. I’ll make sure to share your comments with him.
Thanks for choosing to say with us again, we appreciate your loyalty.
Warmest regards,
Glenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Jonathan Rodriguez provided the best customer service at the shoreham hotel ! Everything was fabulous in the room with a complimentary glass of champagne ! When I come back to NYC , I will definitely stay at the Shoreham Hotel !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank California344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear California344,
Many thanks for your review. Our welcome glass of champagne is a nice way to start our guest’s stay in New York, we’re glad you enjoyed it. Jonathan is great, he’ll be so happy to know he made such a positive impact.
We can’t wait to have you stay with us again!
All the best,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garda, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed over this past Saturday and it was great. The room was very clean, awesome modern setting and the assinstance of VIctor (guest services) was phenomenal. I came in really tired and with no desire of dealing with paperwork. Victor took care of everything. He was extremelly helpful.

Thaks Victor

Room Tip: If at all possible, contact the hotel and ask to speak to Victor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank none105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear None105,
Thanks for your wonderful review on our hotel and our associate Victor. It makes me very proud of the service my team delivers, when I receive great feedback from our guests. Victor is a warm, and gracious team member, and I'll be sure and share your comments with him.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hardwick, Vermont
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had another nice stay again this year at the Shoreham. The staff is always so helpful and considerate. The doormen did a great job wrangling a vehicle for the six of us to ride in to dinner. The guys working in the bar late at night were great too. Overall the staff could not be better.

The facility, however, is looking a little tattered and worn. Some of the furniture, carpeting and upholstery need replaced or a deep cleaning to the remove stains. Some updated furniture would also be nice. We had a suite and in the sitting room our choice of seats was a massage chair and a couch/bed combination that did not work well as a couch.

Our fridge/bar did not work. Becca called engineering but that did not resolve the situation. Also there are very few electrical outlets in the rooms. One in the bath and one by the desk in the sitting area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japierpont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Japierpoint,
I’m so glad you returned and loved it as much as the first time! Our staff is great, and they work hard to ensure return guests have the same if not better service. We are addressing our rooms, with capital improvements throughout the year. Thanks again for your feedback and continued patronage.
All the best,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My brother and I picked Shoreham hotel mainly for its location ad free cappuccino! We had a loonggg day because our flight was canceled and delayed twice!! Causing us to arrive very late. When we arrived at the hotel we felt really exhausted. When we checked in we found out that Expedia offered us a hotel room with 2 queen beds but the Shoreham hotel only had a deal with Expedia offering guests one standard bed. Johnathan who was helping us explained to us very clearly about the issue and told his manager about the situation. He was very kind and professional, offering us a room with a jacuzzi, sofa bed and a much larger room. We were quite satisfied with the upgrade. The room was very spacious and the washroom was huge. Their customer service is really excellent. Thanks to Johnathan, our long day of unfortunate happenings turned around to a happy and satisfied night at the Shoreham hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Bobby C,
Thanks for picking us- I’m so glad we exceeded your expectations on our service recovery. Jonathan is our newest member of our front office team, and he is indeed great. I’ll be sure and share your comments with him. Our 1 bedroom suites are great, and the bathrooms very spacious, it’s a great alternative to a guest room with two beds as we have futons that pull out.
Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Warmest regards,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I were greeted at the Shoreham very pleasantly by the front staff and were asked if we cared for champagne... what a great surprise for a hot day of walking!!
Went up to our room which was a little on the small side but clean and inviting, after all, we were in NYC and didn't plan on spending much time in our room. We had dinner reservations and were very hot so we both decided we needed to shower. No towels in the bathroom!! Called to request towels and the front desk said they would send them right up... that took about 45 minutes. That is probably the only complaint that I have however, they did leave us a bunch of extra towels on the bed later in the evening, probably for our troubles. I would stay here again for sure. Very reasonably priced and close to the heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahenry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear AHenry2013,
Champaigne and smiles! That’s our welcome at our Shoreham, and so glad you enjoyed it on a hot summer day in our city.
Our apologies for your room not being completed for your arrival. I’ve addressed this with our Director of Housekeeping , who has assured me that he will address with our team.
Mostly, thrilled you would return to stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again.
Regards,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#260 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#91 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,097 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 West 55th Street, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and Philosophy bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing