We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair Hotel But there are better”
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #321 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fair Hotel But there are better”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here during a recent weekend getaway to New York. The location is terrific and the staff are curt but efficient. Based upon some of the reviews we were expecting our room to be a broom closet but it was a nice size. The view from our room was anything but nice as we were staring down into the kitchens of an adjacent apartment building. It was February and our room was roasting hot and try as we might neither we nor the hotel's staff were able to turn down or even turn off the heat. Two of the three wake up calls we requested never arrived and the one night we decided to sit down in the hotel bar for a drink we thrown out at 11 p.m. because the bar was closing .... so much for the city that never sleeps!!!!! All in all the Shoreham is a hotel that we would neither recommend nor return to visit as there are far too many better options in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northof60Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
hotel that we would neither recommend nor return to visit as there are far too many better options in the Big Apple.
Dear Northof60Canada,
Thanks for choosing us for your recent weekend getaway in the Big Apple. I’m glad you enjoyed the size of your room, along with our great location. Our rooms do differ in size, so there are a variety of layouts, glad you enjoyed yours. I’ll address your missed wake up calls with the team, am truly sorry for that. I hope it didn’t cause too much of an inconvenience. While I realize there are many options in New York, I hope we can have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
Best,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    692
    331
    153
    92
See reviews for
310
679
99
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our room was so tiny it only would hold a bed and a desk at the end of the bed. The bathroom door was right next to the bed. The bed sank toward the middle. The towels were thin and rough. I asked for 4 bath towels and was told they didn't have enough towels to give me 4. I could only have 2. I could call the front desk the next morning after the laundry came in and get 2 more!
The sink in the bathroom reminded me of the ones on airplanes--small metal bowl that splashes water everywhere. The lobby is ugly--just a check in counter. I would never stay here again.The only positive thing I can say is that it was in a good location.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. We didn't do this and should have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear carolanne454,Thanks for giving us feedback on your recent stay. It’s disappointing to me to know you did not experience a positive stay. If there’s any way we can change your mind, contact me directly so we can regain your trust and have you believe in the Shoreham again.
Regards,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

A perfect mid town location. Loved the very nearby restaurants, subway stop. Staff was very accomodating. Clean, very modern rooms. Tiny, but have all that you need (actually typical in size for the city), especially for the rate. We'll stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 513, one bed. Small, but very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear LeslieF,
Great to know our location, right off Fifth Avenue, was exactly what you needed for your trip in New York City. Thank you so much for you generous comments on our rooms and staff. I’ll be sure and share your experience, as the Shoreham team works very hard to ensure every guest has a flawless stay. Thanks for choosing us to stay in the future, it will be our pleasure to make it another memorable stay.
Warmest regards,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It was a nice hotel especially the downstairs areas....the rooms and hallway were very claustrophobic ...it must have been an office building before. They upgraded us for free to a room with 2 beds bc the other room couldnt even fit a cot.The bed was too soft and the heat was too hot or too cold no middle ground. Our bed was behind the elevator shaft and we could hear banging all night from the elevator cables. The price was good but it think 3 stars is more like it. Staff was very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j222v1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear j222v1,
Thanks for your comments on your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed your upgraded suite, and that our staff service exceeded your expectations.
I’m sorry that you experienced noise in your room, I sure hope you reported it so we would have had the opportunity to move your room.
Glad you enjoyed the hotels, and found it to be a good value.
All the best,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The good thing was that the rooms were clean, it was in a very central location, and the people at the front desk were friendly . On the other side, we were charged 60.00 extra for a double room,the bathroom door did not latch, furniture in room was old, and very worn looking, heater was broken, rooms were very, very teeny, and noise from the street was very loud from 4:30 AM on. Overall not what I was expecting to say the least.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms on the 7th floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pellhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Pellhobs,
Thanks for choosing the Shoreham for your recent trip to New York City. I’m glad you found our location convenient, our staff at your service, and our accommodations clean.
There are applicable fees for more than single occupancy, I’m sorry you weren’t advised of that at the time of your reservation. We’ll ensure our website information is clear and provides those applicable fees. Regarding the heat, I hope it was brought to our attention so we could service the room. Our windows are double paned to keep most noise out, however some noise does occur as we are truly in the heart of the city. May I suggest you try one of our lovely larger junior or 1bdrm suites, facing inner courtyard. They are much quieter and have more space than the guest rooms. I would love to give you a free upgrade if you contact me directly.
Thanks again,
G.Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I am at the airport waiting on my flight and I wanted to share with everyone how great my stay was. I arrived to a cold glass of champagne, and complementary breakfast offered by ari at the front desk. I mentioned it was my daughters bday and he upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. Our second night we ran into henry, john and him on our way to the bar and they provided us with great martini suggestion. My daughter is 22 and I know I won't get to vacation with her as much, so I want to thank you all for the great service. The people running the hotel are doing a great job.According to everyone I spoke to the general manager is truly hands on. Thank you again, and I hope to come backn or maybe just my daughter

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetGirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Hello Alice232323,
I’m humbled by your most generous comments. It makes me feel so proud to know that we helped in creating memories for you and your family. Eri, John and Henry are fantastic- they are true and genuine in their output of work, and I couldn’t be happier that you experienced true Shoreham hospitality.
Thank you again, and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back one day real soon.
We’ll be waiting, and at your service.
All the best,
Glenda Maldonado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location that is close to everything. Smallish rooms, small elevator (European?). Champagne at check in, coffee machine was nice. I got a pretty good rate ($179), so at that price, who can complain?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
629 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#265 of 468 in New York City
1,380 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#217 of 468 in New York City
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 468 in New York City
4,244 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#390 of 468 in New York City
41 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs in select rooms, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing