We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at The Shoreham for 7 nights in November 2012. Hotel is in a great location for shopping on Fifth Avenue, and for Times Square, Theatre District and Central Park. Room was fairly small as is standard for New York but was clean and modern. Two minor negative points: key didnt work when I returned on three of the nights and also there was a strong smell of bleach in the bathroom some evenings. Free glass if champagne on check in and massage chair in the room were nice touches. Good bar/restaurant area with v friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    682
    314
    144
    92
See reviews for
303
661
98
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The location is wonderful and unfortunately that is best thing I can say about this hotel. The extremely small rooms with even smaller bathrooms is not one I can recommend to anyone for the price. The staff did try to accommodate us, but the skunk like smell, out of order ac/heating units and 4 power outages this hotel was just horrible. I experienced staff at the front desk yelling at patrons for booking rooms through 3rd parties such as Expedia, Priceline, etc. Due to ac/heating unit going out in our room the staff offered to raise the windows, comp our dinner, give us a 10% discount, bring a fan to our room (which too stopped working), and comp our last nights stay in the hotel per the manger (which did not happen). This hotel is over priced & at best a 1/2 hotel. If you want location stay here because that is the only plus to staying at this hotel.
Never recommend this hotel to my friends!

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelMomGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear BMW35406,

Thank you for taking time to share the details of your stay.I was disappointed to learn that your recent visit did not exceed your expectations . Our rooms do vary in size, and just as hotel rooms vary at every hotel, we have smaller rooms and large accomodations such as our 1 bedroom suites. The Shoreham is indeed an oasis in the midtown area but our tastefully appointed amenities and friendly staff are of the many of the reasons why our guests choose to stay with us. I take pride in our Front Desk team but rest assured I will speak to them regarding your observations. We’ve never had a claim on our team yelling at guests, however this will be addressed and corrected as this is truly not indicative of the service experience we pride ourselves with. To note, we do listen and we do seriously care about our guests and I am pleased my staff tried to alleviate your concerns with offer of discounts.
We want all of our guests to depart with a positive memorable experience and regret that you did not feel that, we hope you give us a chance to show you a true Shoreham experience, feel free to contact me directly ,as I would like to discuss further.

Regards,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stay in New York often. This week Itook a room at The Shoreham which was listed as 4 star by Expedia. It was a horrible stay.
It began with the inattentive front desk that gave me keys to an occupied room when I checked in.
Next, I waited a full 40 minutes for a bucket of ice after having to remind them twice.
Doors slam at all hours. At 8:20AM the maid knocked and woke me to ask me when I wanted the room cleaned! I told her I was checking out at 11AM.
Room had no view and heat/air were a single unit controlled like a motel.
Positive was the shower. Always great hot water and great water pressure.
Overall, this is a glorified Holiday Inn and I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very disappointing. Yes, the location is good, and the bed is comfy, but they are the only good things to say.
The room was tiny and badly laid out. You are virtually on the bed when opening the door. There was a tiny window, maybe a foot wide, and with a desk/dresser under it so it couldn't easily be reached to open the blind. Limited storage space, the closet fitted a winter coat and not a lot else. Tiny amount of drawer space, and bedside table on only one side of the bed. Bathroom was a good size, but again nowhere to put anything as the counter space around the sink was tiny. The bath was supposed to be whirlpool - that didn't work. There was a mirror on the inside of the closet, but no power outlet or good lighting near it, so had to use the bathroom for make up application etc, so scheduling bathroom use between us was a chore. AC was very noisy and disrupted sleep. Two rooms on the floor were being used for an event, and one night there seemed to be a party going on, which kept me awake. Advertised complimentary mineral water never materialised and there were no robes, both of which, per the website, are in all rooms.Only one water glass and one flannel for two people. TV reception very poor, with many channels unwatchable.
Lobby areas are tired, and lots of the seats are stained. Elevators were used for laundry trolleys and maintenance, and were tiny, and every day, maintenance people were on the floor, which had only 6 rooms, so to me, that wasn't a good sign. There was a doorman who generally watched people come and go, and when i had my hands full did not open the door.
i didn't care for the gym equipment. Nowhere to pt a book or ipod.

Generally not a good experience and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jillybean07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our room was nice but small; your knees were under the bathroom sink when you sat on the toilet! Our traveling companions got a room on the other side of the hotel and said it was awful. Ours was small, but modern and clean. Also a good location.

Room Tip: ask for one of the newer rooms; we were on the right side of the building facing away from the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear PJ129,
Thanks for choosing the Shoreham for your trip with your family. I’m glad you enjoyed our location, and our modern and clean accommodations.
I do hope your traveling companion was moved to a more desirable room.
Warmest wishes,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Nice room, a little small. Very good bed and bathroom. Room was quiet and clean.

A small table could be usefull to have a take out meal when you are tired after a long walkind day around NYC

Good option in midtown NYC, specially for couples. Not for small children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shunets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Shunets,
Thank you for your favorable comments on your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed our fantastic location, and our clean and quiet accommodations.
Our Shoreham is great for couples, and with our larger accommodations such as our junior and 1 bedroom suites .Equipped with separate living areas, these rooms work great for families.
Warm regards,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Nice clean rooms. Modern styling. Very nice showers with great water pressure and lateral jets.
Price high compared to non-New York hotels, but good value for New York.
Staff very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
Great location for our needs - just 3 blocks south of Central Park and 1/2 block from 5th Ave.
Only a block or so walk to subway station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank housevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,140 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#255 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing