We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Faded glory” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #303 of 477 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faded glory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

You can tell that this place used to be fantastic but now it is very worn around the edges. Rooms are clean and well provided with amenities but the finishes on everything are showing their age - scuffs and marks that should have been fixed up a long time ago.
The staff are very friendly and helpful but I have to agree with an earlier review that they are overworked - waiting at the desk means waiting while one person tries to answer both internal and external lines as well as deal with people face to face. These views aren't a one off - I stayed there over two weeks on business.
In that time I needed a new room key nearly every other day as in the evenings it just wouldn't work. Engineering came to look after the first week and it was a bit better but still not perfect.
Also, not sure how their booking system works as twice I was woken up late at night by housekeeping under the impression that the room was empty and needed refreshing for a new guest - not happy.
If a Boutique Hotel is to survive in such a competitive area it needs to offer something more than this currently does. I would not stay again in it's current state.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Gav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    646
    286
    135
    85
See reviews for
274
612
91
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My name is Yvonne Warren and I am a Canadian. With my two adult daughters,we planned a 3 day trip which turned into 8. The staff at the Shoreham were fantastic! Henry, Fred, Elizabeth and Crystal were the four we had the most interaction with. they went above and beyond. I would certaintly return to that hotel and also recommend it. New Yorkers are crazy, and we love them!!

Room Tip: 10th floor was awesome.But,,, be wary of kids in penthouse. Especially if they run!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you for making our stay in the city so fantastic! The location is fabulous, just steps away from the best shopping in the WORLD!

I brought my grandmother for her 70th birthday, and the Shoreham made it so special. She mentioned her birthday at check-in (while drinking our complimentary champagne!) and we came back to the hotel that evening to delicious cheesecake, a cookie, a bottle of wine, and a sweet hand-written note. SUCH a special touch!

Rooms were so clean, and the staff was so nice. The espresso machine in the lobby was a great bonus! Saving $5 on a morning latte really adds up!

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside have little view, but the windows open for some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for the city shops. The service is good although check in was quite late. But the reception took my bags while I went out and checked in afterwards The rooms, although small are well decorated and designed. The designers have done a good job of maximising the space and making it look as modern as possible given what most hotels in NY look like - quite tired and old style. This was new style modern and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix az usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very convenient area of mid-town. The hotel is well managed, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was a reasonable value. Front desk was helpful in recommending dining options. We even left our window open all night (3 nites). Little street noise. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zigzag_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Zigzag_jim,
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your recent visit to The Shoreham Hotel. I have just finished reading your review and cannot wait to forward it to our amazing staff. We all get so much pleasure and inspiration from guests like you. Thank you for sharing your experience with trip advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked the Shoreham because of its location and because it offered AARP discount. I don't like contemporary decor but I made myself try something different. The first night we did not receive the type of room I reserved. We inquired about moving and were told a change would be arranged. We left our luggage in the first room and when we returned to the hotel at the end of the day, our luggage was in our new room - an upgrade to a much larger, nicer space. Due to the efforts of two of the staff, John Jimenez and Henry Gomez, we received this nice surprise. We ordered room service each morning (sly people at the Shoreham, they don't offer in-room coffee) and the delivery was prompt and the person delivering was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. Our team is one of our greatest asset so it's wonderful to hear that Henry and John left you with a postive impression through details of room placement .We are also delighted to know you took pleasure in our in room dining and our staff exceeded your expectations. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very well located and close to the park for those who love running there. Good size hotel, you really feel like being at home. Rooms were quite big and nothing-missing. Great Federico at the reception late hours "muy simpatico y eficiente". The bar is also very comfort and relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Alfred t,
We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. The Shoreham is indeed an oasis in the midtown area and we are truly pleased that you found our prime location to be top notch. I m very happy to hear that Federico left you with such a positive impression, I will share your kind compliments with him. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#87 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#181 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#168 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#105 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#264 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and Philosophy bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing