We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #308 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for the city shops. The service is good although check in was quite late. But the reception took my bags while I went out and checked in afterwards The rooms, although small are well decorated and designed. The designers have done a good job of maximising the space and making it look as modern as possible given what most hotels in NY look like - quite tired and old style. This was new style modern and I would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentflyer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very convenient area of mid-town. The hotel is well managed, comfortable and nicely decorated. It was a reasonable value. Front desk was helpful in recommending dining options. We even left our window open all night (3 nites). Little street noise. We would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zigzag_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Zigzag_jim,
We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your recent visit to The Shoreham Hotel. I have just finished reading your review and cannot wait to forward it to our amazing staff. We all get so much pleasure and inspiration from guests like you. Thank you for sharing your experience with trip advisor and we are looking forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked the Shoreham because of its location and because it offered AARP discount. I don't like contemporary decor but I made myself try something different. The first night we did not receive the type of room I reserved. We inquired about moving and were told a change would be arranged. We left our luggage in the first room and when we returned to the hotel at the end of the day, our luggage was in our new room - an upgrade to a much larger, nicer space. Due to the efforts of two of the staff, John Jimenez and Henry Gomez, we received this nice surprise. We ordered room service each morning (sly people at the Shoreham, they don't offer in-room coffee) and the delivery was prompt and the person delivering was pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Debbie B,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable and candid feedback with us. Our team is one of our greatest asset so it's wonderful to hear that Henry and John left you with a postive impression through details of room placement .We are also delighted to know you took pleasure in our in room dining and our staff exceeded your expectations. Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very well located and close to the park for those who love running there. Good size hotel, you really feel like being at home. Rooms were quite big and nothing-missing. Great Federico at the reception late hours "muy simpatico y eficiente". The bar is also very comfort and relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfred t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacqueline E, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Alfred t,
We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews here on TripAdvisor and I greatly appreciate you adding your experience. The Shoreham is indeed an oasis in the midtown area and we are truly pleased that you found our prime location to be top notch. I m very happy to hear that Federico left you with such a positive impression, I will share your kind compliments with him. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay and we look forward to your next visit!
Regards,
Jacqueline Elbaidouri
Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

had to stay here at last minute and to be honest only fault with the room was not window with but the room it self was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was huge. they made a mistake on the bill and refunded with out a second thought. would highly recommend this hotel.

the staff were very understated but extremely pleasant. the breakfast was not the best for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My Father and I recently went to NYC to see the NY Giants play the Washington Redskins. We chose The Shoreham based primarily on price and location. I booked the room before reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and I will say I was a little nervous especially reading some of the comments about the staff. I can say without a doubt they staff were great. They answered all of our questions as well as gave us great advice on where to eat and places to see and things to do. As a novice traveler my Dad and were very happy with The Shoreham. When I visit again with my wife I am sure I will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week while looking for an apartment in NYC. The location couldn't be better, your surrounded by a mix both affordable and first class restaurants. The hotel staff are very helpful and professional.
The rooms are small, but they are well decorated and have any amenity you would want. The surprise of having free cappuccino, free wifi and a massage chair in each room really took this place to the next level for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#159 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Midtown
The Mansfield
The Mansfield
#341 of 469 in New York City
1,843 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#284 of 469 in New York City
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 469 in New York City
6,554 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $158 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, tucked away oasis near Rockefeller Center in Midtown NYC, The Shoreham Hotel offers a variety of 100% smoke-free, pet-friendly, well-appointed accommodations ranging from our standard rooms to specialty suite rooms with one King, one Queen, or two double beds with deluxe Belgian linens. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers available in select rooms, access to wireless Internet and rooms offer flat-screen LG TVs. Guest bathrooms are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile and fixtures, grey slate vanity tops and brushed stainless sinks with satin nickel fixtures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing