We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shoreham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shoreham
Ranked #307 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“brilliant hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

stayed for 6 nights over new year, it was a great hotel, very clean it was hand for nearly everywhere we wanted to go. the rooms were not big but this is normal for nyc hotels, our bed was so comfy and we had a massage chair in our room we were just off 5th ave and near central park. the toiletries were aveda and smell lovely towels and bedding changed daily

Room Tip: ask for a 5th ave view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Jill C,
We are delighted you enoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! Overall , we are pleased to read you had a wonderful stay and had enjoyed our amenities as well as our central location. Please be assured that we continuously review all guests feedback in order to improve our service. On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to having you with us once again very soon!!
Warm Regards,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    682
    311
    143
    92
See reviews for
301
659
98
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We reserved a room online and requested a balcony. When this type room was unavailable the Front Desk Agent Sorin Ozunu upgraded us to the Penthouse Suite for the price of the room with the balcony!!! He truly made our weekend. I was truly impressed with the overall professionalism and eagerness to please of the entire staff. The GM Glenda Maldonado is to be commended for running such an impressive operation. Our room was over the top delightful. Spacious, comfortable and super clean!!! Being in the hotel business we know the ins and outs and The Shoreham has cut not one corner! The Shoreham is our first and only choice for lodging in NYC!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or one with a sitting room and bedroom. Either way you can't go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Drew N,
Thank you for your review, it is one of the most candid ones I have read! I'm so proud of our team for delivering such a high level of service to you. I will visit with Sorin and share your kind compliments. He is a very special member of our staff and always receives rave reviews. I am happy to note that the services rendered by the hotel were to your satisfaction and look forward to being your NYC home away from home!
Warm Regards,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are looking for a great location at a reasonable price, then the Shoreham is a good choice. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to Central Park, 5th Avenue shopping, Rockefeller Center, Broadway Shows, subway stations, lots of restaurants and a short walk to Time Square. If you are looking for a reasonable sized room, you are out of luck. The room we were assigned was VERY small - barely big enough for the queen bed. If you don't plan to spend much time in the room you will be fine. If there are more than 2 in your party, find another hotel or ask the front desk if they have larger rooms.

For a nice New York breakfast, try the Benash Delicatessen two blocks down from the Shoreham at 55th and 7th Ave. Food and service were excellent!

Room Tip: If room size is important to you, ask about the size before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sondeash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri R, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Sondeash,
I will like to thank you for taking the time to review the Shoreham Hotel. Our staff takes pride in providing all our guest with a “Perfect Stay.” Please contact me next time you consider visiting New York City and I will try my best to accommodate you in one of our larger rooms. I am glad to hear you liked our service and please understand your feedback is truly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

ERI RODRIGUEZ

SHOREHAM HOTEL | Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room fine, beds comfortable, Bose radio great, but bathroom not so great.. Shower okay, but tub didn't drain, so had to stand in 3" of soapy water while showering. Also metal sink very small and counter space also limited in the bathroom. There was only one face cloth (but 2 hand towels & 2 bath towels) and then housekeeping staff didn't bring any face cloths at all to replace the 1 that was used the first night. Couple of lights burnt out that should be replaced over the bed. Other than that, room relatively comfortable. Definitely a great location and close to everything, as mentioned. Price was very good. Might stay again, but will likely check other hotels in the area before I book anything there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadoreParis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Spent 3 nights Friday - Sunday Sept 14-17 2012. Fantastic location, 1/2 block from 5th Avenue, 2 minutes to highest end stores in NY and Central Park, easy walk to Times Square, subway, Grand Central Station, many good, reasonably priced restaurants and tons of shopping. We arrived at 9:00pm and asked if upgrade rooms were avialable, were told that hotel was full, no upgrades available. We went to our room, it had not been made up, went back to front desk and imediately got an upgrad to a pentouse suite with a balcony. Good response to the problem, but felt I had been fibbed to 5 minutes earlier re room availability although to be fair, maybe they had to hold a few roms back for just these types of issues. We also asked the front desk if any restaurants were nearby, were told there was only an italian place across the street, no others close by. We found a sports bar, a pub, a 5 Guys burgers, a pizza joint, a chinese place and 2 others + the Italian restaurant within 100 yards of the hotel. Almost unbelievably uninformed. All in, some minor issues and a good price for a decent hotel in a great location. Beware the rock hard beds!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri R, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Ray P,
First, I will like to thank you for taking the time to review The Shoreham Hotel; we appreciate all your feedback. I will like you to know that the front desk staff has created a new area directory that includes restaurants nearby the hotel. Copies of the directory are available to all our guests at the front desk upon request. I also saw that our mattresses were not to your liking. Please know we have bed-pads that can be brought up to the rooms. Once again I will like to thank you for the feedback, and assure you we are delighted to see you took time to review the hotel in Trip-Advisor. Our goal at The Shoreham is to provide the guest with a “Perfect Stay,” please feel free to contact me with any future reservations, and I will be glad to provide you with a complementary upgrade.

Warm Regards,

ERI RODRIGUEZ

SHOREHAM HOTEL | Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great Hotel was pricey but well worth it and quite honestly aren't most Hotels in NYC pricey. I didn't feel the price was a problem as the upside was the interior was very well kitted out and the staff always happy and willing to help.

I would definitely go there again if I were in NYC again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eri R, Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Andy S,
I will like to thank you for taking the time to review the Shoreham Hotel. Our staff takes pride in providing all our guest with a “Perfect Stay,” and I’m glad to see we were able to do that for you. Please consider The Shoreham for any future visits, as your primary lodging destination in New York City.

Warm regards,

ERI RODRIGUEZ

SHOREHAM HOTEL | Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel was very modern and the rooms and bathroom were a great size,our room was on the back so had no view except of brick walls and windows you could almost touch but very very quiet.
The staff were very help full and friendly.The hotel was ideally situated and in close walking distance to lots of attractions including Central Park and Time Square.
Also lots of diners and restaurants and coffee shops close buy .

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room no view ask for a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARKEITH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendaliz M, General Manager at Shoreham, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear MARKEITH69,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Delighted you found our staff friendly, and enjoyed our close proximity to so many great attractions. Yes, our inside rooms are the quietest in the hotel, and that’s a treat in busy New York.
Thanks again and we hope to see you again real soon at the Shoreham!
Best,
Glenda Maldonado
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#157 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#90 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,134 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#256 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham

Property: Shoreham
Address: 33 W 55th St, Just off of Fifth Avenue, New York City, NY 10019-4999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shoreham 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SHOREHAM is a fashionable retreat dedicated to the experience of design. Flat-screen monitors throughout the property feature an array of video and interactive art with vibrant images of nature in motion. The hotel offers a variety of accommodations ranging from superior to specialty suites available with king, queen or two queen-sized beds. Signature amenities include invigorating five-head hydro-massage showers in junior suites and select rooms, iJoy massage chairs, Bose Wave(R) radio CD players, Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. Guest room baths are appointed with high-gloss white marble tile, gray slate vanity tops, brushed stainless steel sinks with satin nickel fixtures and bath amenities. SHOREHAM is perfectly positioned just steps away from the top shops of Fifth Avenue, Central Park, Broadway and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoreham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shoreham Hotel New York City
Shoreham New York City
Shoreham Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing