We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my new favorite NY hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #249 of 466 Hotels in New York City
San Sebastian De Los Reyes, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my new favorite NY hotel”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We really like this hotel…good location, good size rooms (for NY) nice lobby/bar/restaurant and very nice staff. Love the address! So easy to remember if you're new to NY! Close to the park, which is always nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank YvonneTroxclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted that Royalton is your new home from home in New York. It is always great to hear from someone who has enjoyed all the different aspects of the hotel from the good sized rooms to our unique lobby, bar and restaurant. I was pleased to read that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and we all look forward to welcoming you to the hotel next time you are in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    705
    318
    100
    43
See reviews for
254
1,091
132
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

The Royalton enjoys an excellent location on 44th St near Bryant Park and corner 5th Ave. The area is perfectly close to everything without being too close to the noisiness. We chose the hotel as it seemed trendy boutique hotel...yes its trendy, but seems aged. Lobby area is cool but most of the coolness comes from the very dim lighting not the furniture, fixtures and paneling. Don't mind the tiny elevators or narrow halls but the rooms have weird layouts, again materials, and very non-practical. Yes the dim lighting is cool, but you need more light to dress up!!. We did sleep wonderfully in the queen size bed, so that was a plus. So in sum, good hotel, but there are plenty of similar price options in area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EJT80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed our prime location, and trendy lobby. It was also great to see that you slept wonderfully in our comfy beds. I am sorry that you found some aspects of the design impractical and hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here in late June, and it was a terrible experience. I booked the room with a third party for a decent rate, everything was downhill after that. I am from TX and I have heard in the past rooms in NYC are smaller than most rooms, and I was ok with this and expected it…but come on…our room was maybe 250 Sq ft and the room was only about 8ft wide at the widest point. The carpet had stains and bedding was dirty. The windows and any countertops were covered in dust. Now if you are paying upwards of $300 a night and the hotel is advertised as 4.5 stars, it better be clean. This hotel is 3 stars at best on a good day by a generous judge. Now to the staff. The staff was rude and not helpful when we checked in, almost like we were inconveniencing their leisure time since we were checking in. Someone should really tell the rude front desk staff that the customers are how they get paid. Now to the décor and the lobby. So if you like vintage cruise boat stuff, you will love this place, just not for me. When you walk in, it is beyond dark. No I’m not an old person, I am 30 and my wife is 28 and we could not see anything in the lobby. There are the dark plastic dividers for the front desk, elevator, and restrooms. I could not tell which one was which unless there was a person I could see behind a desk since it was so freaking dark in there…thus making the elevator and restrooms a craps shoot.

We only stayed 2 nights, since we had a wedding to get to in PA, so when we checked out we let the front desk staff know we were dissatisfied with our stay. The manager did come over to waive $50 off our bill. Yippee, yes that was sarcasm. I am absolutely floored we had to pay top dollar for a broom closet of a room, which I would not be surprised if it was a broom closet before our stay.

Room Tip: dont come here if you have more than 2 people staying with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry that you did not like the hotel.

Unfortunately hotel rooms in New York City do tend to be smaller than in many other cities as space is always a premium.

I am sorry that you did not like our décor, while our design is considered to be iconic and is certainly unique we do appreciate that the Boutique design feel is not for everyone.

As I said before I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and also that you did not give us the opportunity to try and solve some of the things you did not like before you departed the hotel. We do always prefer to know if our guests are unhappy before the check out stage in order that we may try and turn the stay around for them and it is disappointing we were not able to do this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I began staying at the Royalton, the Morgans, and the Paramount years ago. Whenever I wanted to show my overseas guests a classic NYC hotel this was it! This hotel is first class all the way from the front desk to the rooms. Even though I as usually on a company account, I still chose the Royalton. I love this hotel as well as the sister hotels as well. Whenever I wanted to feel like a New Yorker, this is the hotel I would choose.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robfweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for such an amazing review. It is such a delight to hear from fans of note only Royalton but the other hotels we have in New York also. I hope that you will continue to stay with us long into the future, whenever you want to feel like a New Yorker!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The lobby entrance is very dark, the reception desk and the lifts have no signage! Apart from this, the staff were great, the check in process simple and the location is great. The Queen room was a little small but nicely decorated. Storage was good, iron and ironing board and a safe were in the room. On of the drawers had power adaptors ($28), a candle, painkillers, allergy tablets, condoms and plasters! Very handy. The shower & tub were lovely! Sufficient towels but no slippers and nice tolietries. There was no hotel info in the room apart from the restaurant menu. The wifi charge was $10 per day which is excessive. Breakfast was nice but limited choice and I haven't yet seen the hotel at night to comment on the bar atmosphere. I would recommend the hotel, but it is not as luxurious as it would like to think it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abscee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. I was particularly pleased to read that you fond the staff to be great.

I hope you will return to stay with us when you are next in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Been traveling to NY for business for years now and i always come back to the Royalton and always regret it when i try someplace new. 44 is a great bar and space to work and have meetings. Casual but trendy, a cool place to just hang at night. You will feel comfortable in jeans or suited up. Love the rooms, the circular tubs. Super friendly staff and i really appreciate a chatty bartender. Always excited to be in my favorite city and walk up to the big red door of the Royalton. The only thing I it had was a better gym.

Room Tip: Get a room with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review. I always love to hear from fans of the hotel and appreciate your continued support. I am delighted that you have found your home from home in New York and that coming to stay still gives you that sense of excitement. We very much look forward to the next time you are with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

A pretentious design hotel that's trying so hard to be cool I felt bad for it. Lobby is pitch black and bar scene is loud. You need a head lamp to check in and find elevators. There are actually candles and matches in the room. It's like a 'tween in Idaho binge-watched Sex and the City and then designed her perfect hotel for a first trip to NYC.

All the gloom and artifice is really too bad because the staff is amazing. Front desk, valet, housekeeping - all of them awesome and not the least bit snotty.

I asked for an end room, high floor in advance and was happy to be upgraded upon arrival (#814). Also asked for and received a coffee maker, as there is no room service on weekends (tragic). Red Flame Diner is across the street and they deliver. Decent food, decent prices.

Housekeeping was spotty - some items replaced, others not. Turn-down service one night, but not the other two. Room was clean and bed comfy (but small - not good for a couple or tall person). Loved all the pillows. Very nice shower, good counter space for NYC, but again you'll need a flashlight to see anything. I dragged a floor lamp in the hallway by the window to do makeup.

Pros
Staff is super helpful and friendly

My request for quiet, end room was honored (thank you, Leah)

Good amount of plugs for all your electronics

Location is great for access to everything - just a few blocks from Times Square but far enough not to be mobbed.

Cons
Soooooo dark. Good if you're having an affair, otherwise, not so much

You need to walk through a gantlet of poseurs to get to elevators

No room service on weekends

Very small bed - fine for solo traveler but might not suit a couple and definitely not large and/or tall people

Spotty housekeeping - but housekeeping staff is really nice

Housekeeping starts early (9am-ish and I could hear her knocking on each door announcing herself)

Loud/rattling air conditioning

Room Tip: #814 is quiet (away from elevators). No street noise, but it is very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaineIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VictoriaStewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
It is evident from your review that we are quite simply not your style. While we are immensely proud of a design that is considered to be Iconic and our status as one of the first ever Boutique hotels, we do appreciate that this is not to everyone’s taste.

I was pleased to see however that you found the staff super helpful and that Leah in particular did all she could to ensure that your stay was comfortable.

Morgans Hotel Group does have other hotels in the city which you may find more to your liking next time you stay in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#37 of 466 in New York City
3,616 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#190 of 466 in New York City
1,950 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 466 in New York City
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#65 of 466 in New York City
6,434 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#121 of 466 in New York City
2,090 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#167 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing