We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a 5 * hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #213 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a 5 * hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I booked a superior room, when I arrived I had high expectations and judging by the pictures they had for this type of room it looked good, to my surprise my view for a week was going to be a brick wall, which it was never going to happen, felt claustrophobic. I went to the front desk and I paid to be up graded the following morning, then I have to say that the tiles in the bathrooms are starting to catch mildew, and they are not fancy at all, don't let comments mislead you, they have normal bathrooms just a big round bathtub. Also the windows inside and out were dirty, I do not think they have cleaned the dust there since the hotel was open, it was disgusting. It is also very dark everywhere, if people call that trendy, well it is very trendy. It is modern and the walls are all black it was very dark and depressing for my taste, I just couldn't wait to leave in the morning and arrive as tired and late as possible. Althought I notice that the bar is very popular with younger people.
The hotel didn't have any personality for my taste. I am use to more comfortable, traditional or even a bit more modern places, this one just crosses the line for me. The service was normal, nothing out of the ordinary, and you know how it works in the US, as long as you give them a good tip they will run for you,that is what I did from day one so it was expected good service but again nothing out of the ordinary. Definitely NOT a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samo377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We realize that our décor and ambiance is not for everyone and I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I welcome you to look at our sister property, Morgans, on Madison Ave which has a lighter décor which may better suit your travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    651
    273
    72
    34
See reviews for
228
992
124
410
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times as my NY office is just around the corner. I've also stayed in alot of the hotels in the area and ended up picking this one over the others. It's got a boutique feel while being big enough to book easily (so much better that the faceless hilton, marriott, millenium, etc). It's not that expensive relative to other similar hotels.

The rooms are very cool and have wonderful wonderful beds. The bathrooms are amazing and have great Malin + Goetz products.

Room Tip: I always get a room with the 5' roman tubs because I love baths. If you love baths too, you rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am thrilled to hear Royalton is your hotel of choice in New York City. It sounds like our location is perfect for you and I am glad you enjoy our comfortable guest beds and wonderful Malin + Goetz bathroom amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location is fantastic close to times square, Really nice Boutique Hotels. Small rooms but what do you expect from a hotel in nyc. But very large Fancy Bathroom!!My wife loved the bathroom.... Very Trendy Lounge bar its filled after 6pm where people come to just chill over a drink specially Thursday nights!!! If you like boutique this is it!! No good city views...No doorman for some reason!!!

Room Tip: Go one above the standard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mekaal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I am delighted to hear you and your wife had such a great stay at Royalton. It sounds like you really took advantage of our prime location and really enjoyed the boutique hotel experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you are coming on business. This is not a chain hotel with light colors. This is a boutique trendy hotel. The bar at the reception makes this for me one the best things about this hotel. The drinks are to die for, beautiful crowd and great pub music. This is not your standard chain hotel, so don't expect beige palette of colors. The rooms are dark, but spacious enough for New York, well equipped (each room has an ipad) and tastefully decorated. The bathroom is great and the shower an amazing experience! Linens are clean and so is the bathroom. I have stayed in here at least 5 times and love it every time. Location is great, 44th/6th is my favorite place to stay in midtown. Not very far from Times Square, but far enough to be away from the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachmom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so happy you choose to stay with us for your business trips in New York. I am thrilled you enjoyed some of our delicious cocktails at our bar and restaurant, Forty Four and that our prime location works well for your trips. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

V chic hotel, bustling bar in the lobby where locals and guests imbibe cocktails. Rooms v nice, as we're staff.
Did not like that wifi was not included - I mean come on, this is NYC!
Also, no leisure facilities is a downer
Bath was great. Lovely toiletries and towels
Recommend spending time in the room to get the value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Royalton. It sounds like you had the chance to experience our restaurant and bar, Forty Four, and enjoy our wonderful guest rooms. We do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby for the convenience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I could not have been more pleased by my wife and my stay at the Royalton last week. The location on 44th St. was ideal for walking both up- and downtown, the staff were impeccably professional and helpful, and the room was both hip and romantic. We absolutely _loved_ it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmstevens309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear we exceeded your high expectations and that you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and each come with an iPad you can use during your stay. The mini bar has a good selection of items and there are lots of places nearby to get snacks and coffee. The lobby bar is a great place to relax with friends and the staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#36 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,124 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#154 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#158 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#56 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,851 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,690 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#223 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing