We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Trendy and well located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #206 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trendy and well located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is the perfect hotel if you are coming on business. This is not a chain hotel with light colors. This is a boutique trendy hotel. The bar at the reception makes this for me one the best things about this hotel. The drinks are to die for, beautiful crowd and great pub music. This is not your standard chain hotel, so don't expect beige palette of colors. The rooms are dark, but spacious enough for New York, well equipped (each room has an ipad) and tastefully decorated. The bathroom is great and the shower an amazing experience! Linens are clean and so is the bathroom. I have stayed in here at least 5 times and love it every time. Location is great, 44th/6th is my favorite place to stay in midtown. Not very far from Times Square, but far enough to be away from the noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachmom0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so happy you choose to stay with us for your business trips in New York. I am thrilled you enjoyed some of our delicious cocktails at our bar and restaurant, Forty Four and that our prime location works well for your trips. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    635
    261
    70
    33
See reviews for
224
965
124
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

V chic hotel, bustling bar in the lobby where locals and guests imbibe cocktails. Rooms v nice, as we're staff.
Did not like that wifi was not included - I mean come on, this is NYC!
Also, no leisure facilities is a downer
Bath was great. Lovely toiletries and towels
Recommend spending time in the room to get the value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Royalton. It sounds like you had the chance to experience our restaurant and bar, Forty Four, and enjoy our wonderful guest rooms. We do offer complimentary wifi in our lobby for the convenience of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I could not have been more pleased by my wife and my stay at the Royalton last week. The location on 44th St. was ideal for walking both up- and downtown, the staff were impeccably professional and helpful, and the room was both hip and romantic. We absolutely _loved_ it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmstevens309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear we exceeded your high expectations and that you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and each come with an iPad you can use during your stay. The mini bar has a good selection of items and there are lots of places nearby to get snacks and coffee. The lobby bar is a great place to relax with friends and the staff are very attentive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Location is good (there is also an establishment of Daniel Boulud across the street if you fancy french food), entrance is the best part of the hotel with good music, cool decor and nice people. Staff at the entrance door very erratic (sometimes they help you, sometimes - most of the time - not), room quite nice as well as the bathroom. All in all not bad, but I guess that "not bad" it is not enough for an hotel who wants to play in the top league

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank loveforperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you felt our hotel was “just ok.” It sounds like you enjoyed our central location and comfortable guest rooms, but that our service missed the mark. I hope you’ll give us another chance to wow you and provide you with the exceptional service we know we can provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at the Royalton for three nights from the 8th to the 11th of August 2013. Leading up to the stay we received great customer service from the concierge via email. I had received a free upgrade which we used to book a room with two double beds as there were three of us staying in one room. We asked for a quiet room on a high floor as we are all light sleepers, and we were given a room on the 15th floor.
What we liked:
The beds were very comfortable. The shower pressure was perfect and the shower head was nice and big. The shower/bath products were lovely, my hair has never felt so nice. The room itself was very quiet, we could not hear anyone in the hall outside and there was very minimal noise from the street (not common for NY). The bathroom was also very quiet, we never woke each other up showering etc. The decor, we love the combination of heritage staples with contemporary artistic things. The fact that there is a gym and a business center, we used both. They were both small but fully functional. The location, we love midtown, it was a bit closer to Times Square than we usually stay, but we did not have a problem with traffic over-flow etc. We love the proximity to our favourite shops, restaurants, central park, museums, etc.
What we did not like:
The lack of customer service when we were actually staying at the hotel: I think the concierge might sit at the desk in front of the check-in counter, but I could not say for sure, they were rarely there and did not provide any services for us, although we asked people at the check-in counter for directions/suggestions for a few things, one of which was about getting a cab to the airport at the end of our stay, to which they responded that we should exit out the back of the hotel instead of the front because there would be a lot of cabs out back. There were no cabs and there was no one to hail one for us. We had to cart our luggage over to 5th avenue and hail our own. Honestly, this is a bit of a deal breaker for me, I have stayed in many hotels all over the world at varying price points, super expensive and super affordable, and at the Royalton I should not haves had to hail my own cab. When we stay at the Warwick we never hail our own cab, day or night. There was also never any help opening doors for us upon our return from the hotel during the day and night. We always had to open the door for ourselves no matter how many bags we had etc. Once there was actually a hotel employee at the front door, and they opened the door for us but there was some kind of a ramp blocking the stairs, we had to pick our way down the stairs on our own with no help from the employee, they could have easily pushed the ramp to one side for us, but chose to watch us silently as we stumbled down on our own on either side.
The air conditioner was very very loud. You had to basically shout over the noise when it was running.
The lack of cleanliness of the hotel room: The carpet needs to be either steam cleaned or replaced, our instinct was to wear shoes in the hotel room, that’s how dirty the carpet was. The grout in the bathroom was literally black with mold. The grout on the floor in the bathroom was also very damaged, especially near the sink; I should have taken pictures to illustrate.
The check-out experience. Our bill arrived in our room with the wrong price listed. I called down to the front desk to sort it out prior to check out because I was tight on time, I was told not to worry it would be quickly resolved when we left the hotel at noon, no need to worry about doing it over the phone. This was not the case, we spent twenty minutes at the front desk sorting out the issue, I was told I had to produce the emails between myself and the concierge which confirmed the price (even though I had confirmed the price and our room selection and dates with the concierge multiple times before our arrival). Honestly, what is the point in confirming everything prior to arrival if there isn’t going to be any continuity of service?
Basically the decor and price were that of a boutique hotel but the cleanliness and customer service did not add-up. It was worth a try for sure, and I would highly recommend it for dinner or drinks, but stick to the lobby, that’s by far the best part of the hotel. This stay was a trial run for us, we love hotels such as the Warwick but wanted to try something new in midtown. I really do not think we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if you prefer quiet Air conditioner is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am so sorry to hear you did not love your stay at Royalton. It sounds like you truly enjoyed our comfortable guest rooms, overall atmosphere and central location, but that our service missed the mark. We appreciate you filling out our guest service survey as well as Trip Advisor and I know that our Rooms Manager has been in contact with you directly with regard to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Last weekend my husband and I stayed at the Royalton in Times Square. It was exactly how trip advisor described it. It was a small boutique like hotel and very dark when you entered. Upon check in they upgraded our room to an alcove suite. The suite was very nice, large enough for New York standards. I couldn't wait to use the beautiful round bathtub which could fit 3 people but I took a bath by myself. I would have loved it, if it had jets but it was nice enough. I look forward to staying the Royalton again. By the way their coffee is excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atlantislover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am so pleased to hear you and your husband had such a great stay with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed our guest suites with our relaxing five foot round soaking tubs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another great stay and cup of coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#145 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,813 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,003 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 5,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#164 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,711 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,086 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#160 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing