We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royalton New York Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$311
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$343
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$458
$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$189
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$246
$231
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$195
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$142
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$263
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,449)
Filter reviews
2,449 results
Traveler rating
1,154
761
353
120
61
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,154
761
353
120
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suitetimes squarenew yorksoaking tubroom servicebryant parkstandard roomlobby barrain showerperfect locationmidtown locationgrand central stationfifth avenuean upgradetwo blocksrockefeller centerstreet noise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,296 - 1,301 of 2,449 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Made our stay in New York perfect! The friendliness and service attitude of the staff are one of a kind. Even hotels designed for families with children will have a hard time following Royalton New York´s example. Never thought I would see my girls leave a hotel with tears in their eyes. Looking forward to stay with Royalton next time we visit New York!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suprespen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am thrilled to hear you and your girls had such a memorable stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond our guest’s expectations, and it sounds as though we hit the mark with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We satisfied 5 nights stay in the midtown New York, 1 avenue to Bryant Park(Subway station for N,R,W,and E,V), 2 block to Times square, Grand Central, and Radio City/Rockefeller Center, the location of the hotel is very best. Even the room was very well modern equipped, if I want to say something, I say, it is better to call Ghost Busters, the fire alarm/sensor of the ceil beeps in every 25 seconds. Not every night, it was very unexpectedly, at midnight. It was tolerable volume tone, but midnight. At the night, the day of calling to front desk, it never happened definitely. We finally concluded that might be the cause of New York Ghosts, so afterward of the stay, we could sleep in peace.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Kamei h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the smoke detector in your room. There are smoke detectors placed throughout the hotel as a safety precaution, and unfortunately at times when the batteries run low they may beep. I hope you will join us again so that you may enjoy our wonderful location and have another great trip to New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I returned to the Royalton with 2 co-workers in tow and all agreed - the rooms were funky, practical, and very comfortable. Everyone was pleased! I was pleasantly surprised at the nice size of my standard room - it was much bigger than I'd expected. There was room for a small couch and a desk w/chair, andplenty of walking room. The bathroom had a soaking tub and a powerful rain showerhead. The Malin+Goetz toiletries are a treat. The bathroom even had a stool and tall make-up mirror.

Bed was super comfy and I love the round nooks on each side of the headboard with little lights that you can turn on without lighting up the room, just enough glow to see the phone, remote or clock. Lots of pillows for lounging. At night, it's a wonderfully dark room for sleeping.

The tv swivels around, so can be seen from the couch, desk, or bed. I've seen people complain the rooms are dark, but mine had lots of lights that brightened it just fine.

The bar and lounge are cool (they're dark) and were full an attractive after-work crowd. The restaurant will give you a free cup of coffee to go in the mornings.

This is a very cool, funky, but comfortable and practical hotel, conveniently located in mid-town near the theatre district, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, etc, etc. Service was top notch and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

I am so happy to hear you and your colleagues had such a great stay with us. Thank you for your lengthy review and great description of our guest rooms. We hope you’ll join us again soon for another great visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited NYC for Xmas 2012 and booked the Royalton after much deliberation online.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were very impressed with the lobby and the front of house. Check in was smooth and efficient although we had to find our own way to the room which was a little disappointing.

Upon entering our room we were disappointed that the Deluxe room we had booked via Expedia did not have either the open fireplace feature or bathtub in the room feature as advertised on their website. We looked again at the website and noticed that we had been given the third deluxe option which was a Queen bed. We felt a little hard done by as we had expected something a little more special as we had paid additionally for a deluxe room.

Upon speaking with the reception we enquired as to this and were told that the rooms with the special features were additional but were available on the dates we were there for an additional fee of a few hundred dollars. We explained that we had expected from the Expedia website that Deluxe included these rooms and we had paid additionally for Deluxe already so didn't want to pay again. The receptionist explained in a rather abrupt manner that this was an ongoing issue with expedia as the Deluxe rooms do not include the special features room (which is at odds with what Royalton state on their website). This infuriated us further as we explained that if it was an ongoing issue then why do they continue to market rooms through Expedia and why do they not address the issue? The receptionist had no response to this.

We asked that in the circumstances and as the rooms are available we be moved and this request was declined.

We felt it was very poor service to admit there was an ongoing issue with a room provider in relation to the descriptions of rooms and yet when the opportunity to rectify the situation arose they did not take it just so they could make a little money over Christmas. We were really looking forward to spending Christmas day in front of an open fire or open bath tub so this really soured our experience.

A hotel that went out of its way for its customers would have done more to help us and to continue to market through Expedia knowing there is an issue is morally wrong.

Moving on, the room was clean and beautifully decorated albeit dark, the bar was nice and drinks good albeit expensive. Service was good and all barmen very chatty.

The restaurant was empty and only had a limited menu which was a shame as over Christmas we would have liked to enjoy a meal there but it was not inviting.

I think there are better places to stay in NYC for the money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKHBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so happy you joined us for the holiday season. I apologize for the miscommunication you experienced with your room type and the frustrations you had with your reservation. We are proud to partner with Expedia and have since checked to make sure that all information on their website is accurate to ensure this does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Royalton twice and was very impressed with the service and the rooms both times. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms are wonderful - both standard and suites. Everyone is so nice, friendly and very helpful. Will choose to stay here again next time I'm in NYC.

Thank nik_nikita
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your short and sweet review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have already decided to join us again. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews