We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royalton New York Hotel
Ranked #248 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent overall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is of a very high standard. The rooms, bathrooms etc are very nicely presented and the staff are excellent. It is in a great location for all the attractions in NY. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. I am so please to hear you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, friendly team members, and central location. I hope you will join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    691
    310
    90
    41
See reviews for
247
1,061
130
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in a 9th floor suite in October. On the up side, the rooms spacious and the staff was courteous. On the negative: shower was never warmer than tepid, there was a lack of mirrors aside from the bathroom, limited bathroom counter space, and the electronic lock broke in early hours, requiring a long wait in the hallway until the locksmith could open it. Additionally, the room charges were incorrect on the bill. Overall, a pretty hotel, but nothing to rave about.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carriecas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
My apologies for the frustrations you experienced during your stay at Royalton. From the water temperature in your shower to your final bill it seems as though we missed the mark, and I am sorry for that. I hope you will give us a second chance to give you the proper Royalton experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

just love staying here - the front desk is so helpful, the rooms cool and stylish and calm - a great oasis in the noisy city. Oh, and my bf proposed to me there, so it will always be a romantic place in my heart.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophelia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Congratulations on your engagement, Royalton is ecstatic to have been a part of such a memorable moment in your life. We look forward to having you and your fiancé stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great hotel and services. Beautifull, cozy, brilliant location close to Time Square and 5th Av.
The staff is very good. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay there again for another trip to New York City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBecattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. I am so pleased to hear you had such a great stay. I hope you’ll join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Claire, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm so glad we booked the Royalton for my first trip to New York! Still rattled from the crazy cab experience from Laguardia to the hotel, my jaw dropped the minute the concierge opened the dark red double doors. The inside decor was stunning.

After a quick check-in with the friendly staff, we made our way to the elevators and up to the 8th floor. We found our room at the end of the hall and couldn't believe our eyes when we opened the door. We were expecting a tiny New York hotel room, but our room was huge! And the bathroom...I could go on and on about the awesome "disco shower".

We stayed for four days/nights. During that time we had a great stay and only had a couple of negative experiences. The first was that it seemed as though everyday, our door key card kept resetting, so we had to go all the way back down to the front desk to have them issue a new card. Not a big deal for the most part, but after a long day of walking all over the city, walking all the way back down to have the card reset was a minor annoyance.

The second issue we had was that everyday when we were ready to leave (10:30-11am), the hallway wreaked of cigarette smoke. Maybe it was a neighboring room, I'm not sure, but considering we were on the "Pure" floor, it was a little bit of a turn-off.

But, those were our only negative experiences. The positives by far outweighed the negatives. We had clean towels and linens everyday. The room was extremely spacious and clean. The outside noise was next to nothing. The bed was super comfy. And the bathtub/shower....WOW!!!!!

I highly recommend staying at the Royalton. I will surely be back the next time I'm in NYC!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheltonang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am so please we had the chance to be a part of your first New York City experience. I apologize that you experienced some frustrations with your room key and that you were negatively affected by another smoking guest. Overall it sounds like you had a great stay at Royalton, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was my first trip to New York for a holiday, but I have stayed in lots of Hotels for work in the USA, and the small Boutique hotel was a real fresh change, beautifully designed and unique. No faceless standard boring hotel group here. The location is brilliant, close to the "ROCK" and Time Square, but the street is quite so no problem sleeping. The staff were great, Justin the Food & Bev Manager gave us some fantastic recommendations for restaurants & bars. The bar staff really looked after us to, super friendly and good fun, and always happy to help and give out recommendations. I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone and I would stay there again for another trip to New York City.

Room Tip: We had the Queen Deluxe, which is just one up from standard and it was very nice, good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am thrilled you chose Royalton for your first trip to New York. It sounds like you took full advantage of our prime location and really enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Returned to New York after a ten year gap to stay here and can't wait to go back. Arrived late one Friday evening to a speedy check-in from smiling and efficient staff. Straight down to Forty Four (the hotel bar and restaurant) that had a great buzz but was relaxing at the same time. Stayed in a superb penthouse room and service across the board - cleaning, concierge, restuarant and reception - was first class. The central location makes exploring the city so much easier. The hop-on, hop-off bus tours leave from Times Square a five minute walk away. Do not use the Go New York Tours - guys in green jackets will stop and try to sell you tickets. They offer a good deal but do not have enough buses to fulfil it. The best service is CityToursNY - red buses, plenty of them and excellent tour guides. New York might not sleep but you get a restful night at the Royalton after long tourist days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerS137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriastewart, General Manager at Royalton New York Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
I am thrilled to welcome you back to New York. It sounds like you had a great trip and that Royalton was the perfect place to retreat to after a busy city day. I hope you won’t wait another ten years before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
Midtown
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square...
#178 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Midtown
Morgans New York Hotel
Morgans New York Hotel
#190 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,283 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalton New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton New York Hotel

Property: Royalton New York Hotel
Address: 44 West 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-6604
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#159 Family Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royalton New York Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgans commissioned Roman Williams, to re-create Royalton's legendary lobby. The design - simultaneously sophisticated and complex - juxtaposes an icy cast-glass vestibule and brass furnishings with soft suede upholstery, thick leather walls and hide-covered chairs to create a dark, sexy and luxurious space. Design and architectural details include a mammoth floor-to-ceiling hand forged cast-bronze fireplace, a twenty-foot screen that was once part of the facade of a building in France and hand-upholstered leather walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royalton New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalton New York Hotel New York City
Royalton New York City
New York City Royalton
Royalton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing