We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #37 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Good location, clean rooms, fast elevators, good revice, trendy bar. Near central park and upscale shopping. They gave us a free ride through a promotion. The service was superb at the restaurant, but the restaurant is very expensive. They have a casual cafe next door for a less expensive breakfast option.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDRaigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for your feedback NDRaigg! We love to hear from our guests directly about their stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2014

Booked two superior king rooms for a weekend stay with family. Nothing really strikes you about the hotel - everything was strictly average. The rooms were clean with a view of industrial pipes. Wifi was included in the room price. The hotel advertises the 'free' fiat service - it is available for restricted hours and was never available when we wanted it. The guy at the fiat counter was more interested in my wife's ethnicity than trying to arrange a ride for us.
We discovered later that the hotel also has a house-car that can be used for transportation within 20 blocks, but we were never offered this service. Similarly, they have a 'turndown on request' - this was never offered - just bizzare.
We made the mistake of ordering a continental breakfast for 1 which consisted of 2 pieces of toast, hot water, 2 tea bags, cream and orange juice - a total charge of $43 on the final bill! May be OK for business travelers who are not paying out of pocket.
Overall poor value for money. Would not recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeoTAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M, General Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

NeoTAS: Please accept my most sincere apology. We clearly missed the mark in delivering your service expecation. I will speak with all related personnel, and more importantly, will hope you will come see us again. Anything less than a rave review is taken personally by the entire team. I'd love the chance to make this up to you and truly hope we will see you again.

Cordially -

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Booked by our travel agent, but very happy with the choice. The hotel room was spacious, modern and immaculate. Staff could not do enough for us, so helpful and nothing was any trouble. We were close to Central Park and a short walk to the subway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 505Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review 505Marg and thank you for traveling all this way to see us! Even though your stay was booked by your travel agent, we hope we left enough of an impression on you for you to come and stay with us again when you are next in NYC! Safe travels until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

My friends and I had a great stay here at Loews Regency in NYC! It's conveniently located close to midtown shopping and Central Park. We originally had booked 2 rooms but Dave at the front desk upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite! The suite is beautiful, clean, very spacious, and had an awesome view of Park Ave & 61st St.

We also made use of the Fiat. If you need a ride, the FIAT service is available to drive you anywhere in the city.

There's also a nice lounge just off the front entrance, we got free coffee there every morning because there is no coffee maker in the suite. Around the corner, there is a nice little cafe for morning pastries.

Special mentions to Marco, the FIAT organizer; Charles, the FIAT driver; Christian, the lounge manager; Chris, one of the hotel managers; and Barry, THE most awesome doorman!!!!

We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Thanks everyone at Loews!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank caliprincess88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you caliprincess88 for the glowing review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and our team members really left an impression on you! We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 9 days.
Lovely Hotel good location room very clean and comfortable.
However, when I arrived I could not check into my room at 4pm by 4.30pm no one had come to see me in the lounge and update me on progress. Finally I went to the front desk and complained
to the front desk staff who eventually told me the room was finally ready.
Concierge and Front Desk hotel staff. Very condescending (matter of fact attitude) first impression for guests very disappointing.
Even though I enjoyed this hotel which was very good, this episode spoiled it for me.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PA5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review Paul. We truly appreciate our guests taking the time to send us feedback. With that said, we are very disappointed to read about your experience and hope you will accept our sincere apologies for your first impression. Please do come back and give us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I've stayed in numerous NYC hotels over the years (and many hotels in other cities), and after my first stay at the Loews Regency Hotel, it is my top choice! I recommend staying in the hotel for the high quality of service and attention to detail that the staff offers; everyone is friendly, happy, and attentive. The food was outstanding and will certainly not disappoint, along with the chic decor in the lobby and guest rooms. I had breakfast, cocktails, or dinner at the lobby bar every day to try an item or two on the appetizing menu. The servers were attentive and remembered me. Luxurious Frette bed linens and unique bath products - Julien Farel. Complementary WiFi throughout the hotel - it was like having a Park Avenue apartment - the best location in the city, convenient to Central Park, incredible shopping, cultural attractions, and businesses. The hotel is ideal for both business and leisure travel, and I am looking forward to my next visit to NYC and staying at the Loews Regency Hotel and using many of the amenities I didn't have time to use including the gym and car service. And eating again at the Regency Bar and Grill. Complements to the management.

Room Tip: Depending upon preference ask for a Park Avenue or 61st Street view. Shades cancel light and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica90028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Thank you so much for the excellent review Monica90028! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to sample our delicious new menu in The Regency Bar & Grill. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and will be happy to take care of arranging the extra amenities for you so you can take full advantage next time. Safe travels until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2014

just a great hotel in an incredible location. central to EVERYTHING in NYC. this is my go to hotel in NYC. newly renovated. great service. amazing staff. superb concierge. love to gym. the rooms are spacious and clean. love the lobby bar. and this is THE power breakfast spot in NYC. highly recommend. you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank clayton j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Thank you so much for the review Clayton J! We love to hear from guests what they enjoy most about their stay with us, and you have neatly summed it up in just a few sentences. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#190 of 469 in New York City
692 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#87 of 469 in New York City
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,287 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 469 in New York City
2,917 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#34 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $290 - $983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing