We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Regency New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My wife and I spent the July 4th weekend at the Regency.
We had a spectacular time. The hotel remodel has delivered very comfortable rooms. The amenities are outstanding (my wife has fallen in love with the hairdryer). The location allows you to enjoy the city without being in a crush of people.

We enjoyed brunch in the lounge while watching a world cup match.

The staff was outstanding. Everyone greeted us warmly and made an effort to insure that we had everything we needed.

Stay at the Regency if you are looking for a sophisticated, upscale environment with attentive service located within easy walking distance of great shopping, dining and Central Park South.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review Michael W. We are thrilled to hear you had a great time with us over 4th July weekend and were able to take in a World Cup match screening in The Regency Bar & Grill. You also mentioned that your wife loves our hair dryers....they can actually be purchased from Julien Farel if she is interested. Or if you or her are staying at any of our sister Loews properties, they will shortly be featured in each of our hotels.

Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    187
    66
    28
    15
See reviews for
392
380
47
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and decided to book a last minute trip to New York City because neither of us had been. We booked a stay at the Loews Regency, based mainly on its good rating on Tripadvisor. We stayed for 5 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful, although I was hoping they'd try to do something special for us when they found out it was our 10th anniversary. All we got was a nice "Congratulations!" Oh well. I guess I can't expect too much.

The location is great if you want to stay close to Central Park and in a good part of town. It's very close to all of the flagship luxury stores on Madison and 5th Avenue and it's about two blocks away from a subway entrance. It wasn't as easy to find good restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, though.

The room we stayed on was facing 61st and it was very quiet. The view isn't that great, but I kind of expected to be staring at other buildings if I'm staying in Manhattan.

It seems like the hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms had a classy, new feel to them. The bed was very comfortable.

We really had no complaints about the hotel and I would definitely stay there again, although we might try to stay somewhere closer to Rockefeller Center next time just because we spent most of our time in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review BBMcDonald. I'm sorry to hear that we did not recognize your 10 year Anniversary with anything more than a "Congratulations"....that is certainly not our standard protocol. With that said, I'm very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay regardless and that you loved the location of the hotel and will definitely be back. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back and we will take good care of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The rooms were impeccably clean and beautifully designed. The staff was exceptional and the location is the best in NYC. Our favorite amenity was the Ride with Fiat partnership. We used the drop-off service three times and we were very pleased with the car, the driver, and the Fiat desk representative (Gianna). Our family of four was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. We do like our wonderful partnership with the FIAT team. Free transfers anywhere in Manhattan is a great benefit and we are pleased you were able to take advantage of the two cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

2nd time staying at the Loews Regency, the first being a couple of years ago. Renovation is fabulous. Service overall was very good. Location is most ideal for anyone wanting to stay in the Upper East Side - 2 blocks from everywhere you need to be. Highly recommend staying here !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPScarlata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks belugalove for taking the time to write a review. We love out location too. Barney's, Bloomies, Madison and Fifth Avenues around the corner - oh and Central Park! We hope you don't leave it so long to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

As a frequent business traveler to NYC, I have made the Regency my "go to" place. Everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff has been consistently gracious and accommodating. The rooms are spotless and the room service is exceptional. I have been so impressed with this operation that I have taken my family to the Regency for personal travel as well. The Regency deserves high marks for providing a courteous staff and raises the bar for other hotels with their personalized service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodki070707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review Woodki070707. We love it when our business guests come back for the weekend - there is so much to do with the family in this neighborhood. Thanks also for your kind words about our team. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My daughter and I spent 5 days at the Loews in July. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very clean with soft towels. The front desk was quick and responsive to any questions during our stay. The doorman were always very welcoming after a long day of exploring the city. It is 2 blocks from Central Park and has a nice restaurant nearby, Sarafina. The fitness center is clean and has an adequate number of machines along with free weights. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant - it was very expensive.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on the eighth floor in a corner. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsteinbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review Rsteinbeck. It's great to hear you had fun in our wonderful city and that you enjoyed our rooms and service. We hope to have the opportunity to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

With a gorgeous face lift and rejuvination - this is the place to say in Manhattan. The location is perfect, not too deep into the tourist traps, a couple of blocks from Central Park and right on Park Avenue, you feel almost like a local. All the staff are friendly and it's great not to be fighting hundreds of tourists in the bar, restaurant or even to get on the elevator. Get your walking shoes out and take a stroll to Central Park, Columbus Circle, Madison Avenue and Fifth Avenue. This is my address when i stay in NYC.

Room Tip: Have lots of small bills on you so you can tip the door man and the porters !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian N, Director of Sales at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Duckmate we couldn't agree more about your walking shoes. There's so much to see and do close by. We are also happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#29 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#47 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#13 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#22 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#9 Green Hotel in New York City
#24 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing