We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated NY Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Ranked #28 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated NY Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The newly renovated Regency in NY is incredible! All new Lobby, Restaurant, and Rooms! They didn't spare any expense in this $100,000,000 renovation. They had been closed for a year and we couldn't wait for them to reopen. The Bellman, Justin, recognized me and welcomed me to the hotel. He and the front desk staff including the Concierge were terrific in responding to any of our requests. The restaurant and bar are are very modern in design. This was a needed update from the tired lounge and restaurant preceding the renovation. The location at Park Ave and 61st Street is a very convenient address to stay at. Madison Ave shopping is just around the corner.
We will be going back soon!

Room Tip: We had Room 1201. Perfect, but I am certain that with all rooms renovated, they are all GOOD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We are very proud of our newly re-imagined hotel! We'll certainly pass your thanks onto Justin, our Bellman and let him know how much he impacted your guest experience. Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    216
    76
    33
    17
See reviews for
471
425
54
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Great stay this past weekend. Wanted to check out the hotel after the renovations. The place looks great. Check in was fast and easy. The room was very nice. I think we may have been the first to stay in it. The bed was firm. Great pillows. Cushy towels. One little gripe- there was a bathtub and shower curtain instead of a glass shower. I would think after $100 million renovation they could have gotten rid of the tubs.

Also - the bar in the lobby needs to be larger with more stools.

Location is perfect. The park. The shopping.

Service was awesome. There are plenty of staff members ready and willing to help. Overall great stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Glider17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Glider17. The bar is certainly popular in the evening, however we will pass on the feedback to our team about more seating needed. Overall, we are so glad you had a great stay and are happy we could play a small role in your birthday. Please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Walked through on a bitter-cold Sunday expecting to warm up in the Regency with a hot cider. What to our wondering eyes should appear but a refreshed- in the parlance of UE
S makeovers- hotel lobby anf a sun-filled and cozy breakfast and bar area with huge windows
overlooking Park Ave. Tres cher, even for breakfast, but counter seating as well as cozy tables make it perfect for solos, couples and families. Service impeccable, even though we did not do much more than defrost our chilled bodies and continue up to the Winter Antiques Show.
All is brand new and looks like a winner.Stunning sleek bright contemporary outpost on Park.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenO727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review Eileen0727! We're so glad you enjoyed our new look and feel. We are very proud of our new appearance. Please come back and visit us again soon for some cider before the winter's over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were fortunate enough to stay right after the hotel reopened. Being the first to sleep in a hotel bed doesn't happen too often and in a city like NYC, it was great! Rooms were nice sized - we stayed in a Luxury Deluxe and had plenty of space - the walk in closet was a great feature.

The bathroom in this room, however, was really small and poorly laid out making it difficult for one person to get ready, I can't imagine if two needed to at the same time. The shower was also a miss - the shower head was a poor choice as it didn't move and provided poor pressure.

The staff we encountered were all very nice and several were especially helpful.

Do plan on eating elsewhere while you are here unless you are prepared to break the bank! My daughter really wanted dessert one night after attending a play and it was late, so we just went to the hotel restaurant - we paid $59.98 for two desserts (that were quite small) and one glass of wine - I know, I know, we could have opted out after seeing the prices on the menu, but....

The hotel location is nice as it is away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy area - this can be a negative if you are looking to spend a great deal of time in those areas as taxi fares can add up after a bit.

All in all, a nice stay!

Room Tip: I asked for a view of Park Ave or 61st and didn't receive either so not sure what to advise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deemc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi B, Public Relations Manager at Loews Regency New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review deemc99. We're so happy you were one of the first to stay at the newly re-imagined Loews Regency Hotel. There's nothing quite like a new bed! Apologies you didn't get a room with views over Park Avenue or 61st Street as you requested. Our Luxury Rooms only have the option of Park Avenue views or internal courtyard views and all of our Park Avenue view rooms were already sold out. We will certainly try to do better next time. Be sure to let us know when you're coming back and we'll take care of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Regency New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Regency New York Hotel

Property: Loews Regency New York Hotel
Address: 540 Park Avenue, 61st Street, New York City, NY 10065-7366
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in New York City
#8 Business Hotel in New York City
#10 Green Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Loews Regency New York Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the benefits of Midtown Manhattan at your fingertips, with a Park Avenue address. The re-imagination of the new Loews Regency New York hotel sets a new standard in luxury and thoughtful design with the traveler's needs in mind. With thoughtful service genuinely delivered, our goal is to make sure you can focus on your plans while visiting New York City, whether it is for work or play. Let us take care of the little but all-important details, like complimentary pressing of two garments upon arrival. (Welcome to wrinkle-free travel.) Leave your hairdryer at home-here at Loews Regency New York, there is a Julien Farel professional hair dryer in every room. And if you're fed up of being charged for Internet access, take heart. Here, you'll find free Wi-Fi, for up to three devices, throughout the hotel, including in your room. Even better, you only have to log in once. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Regency New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency New York City
Regency Hotel New York
New York City Regency
Loews New York City
New York City Loews
Regency Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing