We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
487
184
68
33
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
184
68
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper east side central park madison avenue new york quiet street small hotel room service luxury hotel beautiful hotel turn down service home away from home brick wall great room two blocks location is great around the corner concierge
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 804 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Upon recommendation from our travel agent we spent 5 days here in June. It was lovely, very pricey, but lovely. I feel like, although the location was great, a few blocks from Central Park, in a quiet neighborhood, it may have been too far out of the way for our first visit. It was a trek to get anywhere. Attentive service. Outrageously expensive drinks at the bar. $38 for a martini! As a traveled Los Angeles native that even shocked me.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Plaza Athenee is one of our favorite hotel while visiting New York City. The hotel is very well located in a quiet neighborhood and provides a very professional service similar to the one offered at the Plaza Athenee in Paris. The room service is always punctual and impeccable and the breakfast offered first class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for sharing your comments during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage and have made the Hotel Plaza Athenee your home in NYC.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Plaza Athenee and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Wishing you a wonderful summer.

Sincerely,


Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Plaza Athenee (do not confuse with the Plaza, owned by ever-tasteless Donald Trump - the Plaza Athenee is in a different/higher category altogether) is an Upper East Side gem, tucked away on 64th in-between Madison and Park Avenues.

The PA (Plaza Athenee) embodies what is best about traditional standards and hotels from the best tradition of hotel-keeping. The service is impeccable - always courteous, always helpful, smiling, nothing too much trouble; doormen who quickly recognize and welcome guests and who seem to know your name more or less immediately. Public rooms that are elegant and on a personal scale with attentive staff. Bedrooms that are elegant, well appointed and for large for New York. Excellent bathrooms in the renovated rooms - ask for rooms with a walk-in shower and you won't be disappointed. Getting taxis on either Madison or Park is not bad. For a short trip to somewhere nearby the hotel may offer a complimentary use of the hotel car; they did that for us to get to a restaurant and it was much appreciated.

I booked two deluxe rooms and my comments reflect the deluxe rooms I saw. I assume similar points can be made about the standard and superior rooms.

A few smaller quibbles: (a) internet access in the bedrooms is an unacceptable $17/day, which is unreasonable when many hotels provide it free and could appropriately be free in a hotel with room costs at these levels; (b) the bathrooms in rooms that have not yet been renovated are small; (c) older rooms are not well provided with sockets for powering phones, iPads etc, though the renovated rooms are fine for this.

A bigger quibble is the approach to service charge in the restaurant: they automatically add a 20% service charge to all bills and then if you pay by credit card (for example a business expense you don't want to charge to a personal hotel bill) they add two(!) lines for further gratuities (a line for the waiter and another one for the captain), but don't show that 20% has already been added in to the price. This is not a worthy practice for a hotel that is in other respects operating at a higher level. It could certainly be considered deceptive and shoddy; at the least it is greedy. I am very surprised that they do this.

Overlooking the stated negatives, this is overall a superb, smaller-scale, classy hotel with excellent service and is a well-located true delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with a walk-in shower.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GRW720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loved this hotel, calm, sophisticated, gorgeous, elegant rooms and overall very good. And you are in the best shopping area in all of New York. But a little expensive which I guess for NY is the norm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at Plaza Athenee Hotel, during our trip to NY city in April, 2011. The view from the windows was not breathtaking, but the room was tidy, well furnished and very clean. The hotel staff were very polite and always around, but, yet, very discreet. They had a magical way to find a taxi for us, even during rush hours! The guys from the concierge desk managed to book seats for a helicopter sightseeing, after choosing the day with the best weather, and for the greatest Broadway show! Breakfast and dinner were absolutely delicious and we could have a late breakfast in our room, with only a small extra charge. Our shoes were polished every night and a newspaper was every morning outside our door!
We had a great time and we'd sure come back, next time we"ll be in the Big Apple!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna-Mihalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback regarding your recent stay. We greatly appreciate the praise provided towards our staff.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit in the Big Apple and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Plaza Athenee in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne-Juliette Maurice
ajmaurice@plaza-athenee.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews