We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #216 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

First time at this fabulous, boutique hotel, and I loved it. From the
moment I stepped into the hotel we felt welcomed and cared for. The
hotel itself is very quaint and very clean. I got a beautiful suite on
the high floor and very nice amenity such as sparkling water and
fruits. Nice touch! The rooms are wonderful and impeccable and on par
with some of the highest hotels that I've stayed in so far New York
City. The staff was exceptional. I relied very much on the concierge
who was nothing short of perfect. Many thanks to young Polish lady
who’s a reception manager; I wish I could remember her name. She was
extremely knowledgeable, professional yet again wonderfully pleasant
to speak with. She was able to answer all my questions and helped me
even book me dinner reservation. This is what I need when I come to
New York: classic boutique hotel, 5 star service and a professional staff which will make my stays comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsuplicyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    122
    48
    18
    16
See reviews for
88
187
37
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel has a french, old world feel to it. If you like contemporary decor, this isn't the hotel for you. It is older, but well maintained. The lobby is small and the bar even smaller, but the staff is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed at this hotel Dec 2012 because it was close to my daughters apartment on the Upper East Side. The location is great - walking distance to museums, shopping, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visitit the classic hotel end of may, beginning of june. The check in process was perfect and friendly. We felt welcommend by good friends. The room was spacious, clean and appropriately furnished. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and nice ammenities. Room service flawless. The top surprise was the concierge. He organized even the most demanding requests with dhighest discretion. The reserations were good, same like the recommandation. Summarizing: we will always return to this finely located (next to central park)hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilith2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves on a recent visit to NYC and stay at the Plaza Athenee hotel. Although we had often visited it for cocktails, this was our first, and last, overnight stay It started out promising, with a lovely upgrade to a generous room, huge closet and a modern, large bath...but the lighting designer should be shot..the bathroom was.dark and difficult for makeup and shaving. On the way to the room the bellboy chatted, but never offered to take the bag my husband was carrying.
There can be a long wait for a taxi...this hotel is on a quiet side street uptown on the East side and cabs are not plentiful.

Dinner was a disaster: the dining room was sparsely filled, but we were greeted warmly and seated. Halfway through our appetizer course the waiter came to clean the table , and when objected, he announced that the main course was on the way and we should put our appetizers on the side. No way! so our meal came later, a little dried out and lukewarm.

So, in spite of pleasant people, the rate of $895 per night (plus tax) , was not the luxury we expected and have experienced in other five star properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers. I am sorry to learn that you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay, particularly the restaurant, and would like to invite you to contact me personally at swurst@plaza-athenee.com so I can address your concerns.

Warm regards,
Sebastian Wurst
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Elegant atmosphere and attentive, skilled staff. My room was very comfortable and peaceful. Bath was not small and was well equipped. Central location still feels residential. Hotel feels like Paris or London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Level Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my third visit to the Plaza Athenee in NYC. It is a small cozy hotel in the prime Madison Ave. shopping area very near Barney's. It has an old fashioned feel and the rooms and bathrooms are very small. Service in the bar is very friendly and quite slow. The staff are thoughtful - they treated us to a glass of prosecco while we waited past three PM for our room.
It is very quiet - great place to "sleep-in"

Room Tip: Guess from the reviews you better head for the penthouse....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SagHarborAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall a nice hotel with good quality. Limited reception area where luggages are stocked/accumulated. Very attentive and solution oriented staff especially at the reception and concierge. Moderate size deluxe rooms (ask for a room receiving daylight). Small size bathroom with limited amenities. Small but very cosy bar, entertaining magician show on Mondays...Reserve your taxi if you are travelling in peak hours otherwise doorman may not get you one for more than half an hour...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Murat-Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#307 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#32 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#236 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#16 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#146 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing