We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best manhattan hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Ranked #183 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best manhattan hotel experience!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I've never had such a pleasant hotel experience in NYC. Thank you to Jawn and the rest of the warm, smiling, open staff at the Athenee. We made a last minute trip to Manhattan - almost throwing a dart at the map - and really felt like we lucked out with this Upper East Side treasure.
Perfect location.
Great staff.
And as mentioned in another review....the rooms are HUGE for New York City.

Thank you.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    156
    56
    27
    20
See reviews for
127
236
46
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed only one night with the Mrs, for a weekend "doing the town", From the second we walked up to our departure everything was first-rate.The location couldn't be better, a half block from Central Park, just about at the zoo entrance, on a quiet, pretty street of beautiful UES townhouses.
We were greeted with a beaming "Good afternoon" by the doorman, who then directed us to the check-in area with a proper desk and, apparently as backup, a more typical stand-up check-in counter. As the young man at the desk was occupied checking out another guest, we were immediately invited to the counter by a smiling young lady who told us about the hotel's spa and offerred to assist us in making any other plans might strike our fancy as she registered us. Once we had our room keys, this same young lady walked us to the elevators and handed us off to a bellman, who was equally warm and pleasant as she.
On entering the room, we were very pleasantly surprised by how large it was, considering, well, this IS Manhattan, after all, and it was an entry level "Classic" room. Easily well over three feet ofspace on each side of the king bed, with the whole main part of the room probably eleven by seventeen feet or so; sitting area on the half not housng the bed, with two comfortable chairs, big flat screen, writing desk with plenty of room to do whatever you need to. Decor was exactly as we expected No, not new, but of a classic old money sort of style, big on patterns and stripes. Later, we discovered the bedding to be of the same high quality as everything else - Very high thread count, crisply pressed. Probably the most impressive aspect of the room beyond its size was how spotlessly clean it was. None of the usual signs of a too-small housekeeping staff for too many rooms one often is expected to live with in a lesser property. The best way to explain it would be to say it was if the room had been "detailed" for us, like a car.
After getting settled in the room, we took a walk over to Madison Ave, then Bloomingdales for some shopping, the window variety and otherwise. On returning, we dressed for our dinner plans and made sure to stop at Bar Seine on our way out for cocktails. The staff in the bar was as welcoming a the others so far had been, and it's an absolutely beautiful space to relax and talk in - We even spied a very well-known & recognizable political pundit at a nearby table. And to the previous reviewers who've mentioned the bar snacks - Thanks for the tip! Yum - truffled popcorn, delish smoked almonds, and addictive cheese crackers.
Later, after dinner, Broadway, and a concert downtown we returned in the wee hours of the morning to a greeting as gracious as on our arrival, and a room turned down for one of the nicest nights of hotel sleep we've had. Next morning, experenced another example of what sets true luxury properties like the PA apart - We actually received a newspaper on Sunday!
After getting ready for another day of some of our Manhattan favorites, it was, alas, time to leave. Ah, but the PA was not done delighting us yet! As we were checking out, the gentleman at the desk pleasantly inquired about our stay, and offered assistance again in planning our day. This was a beautiful spring day, the type that makes you love NY even more, and we responded that, after lunch, we'll probably spend some time at the Central Park Zoo. At that, this young man smiled even wider, excused himself to the back office, and returned with two passes to the zoo for us! Truy the icing on a beautiful, sweet cake!
I'd summarize the Plaza Athenee, then, as warm, luxurious, comfortable, and discreet. Every minute we spet in the hotel, it was crystal clear that making our stay as enjoyable as possible is absolutely each staff members' first priority, every second. We've experienced enough high-end properties for comparison: Ritz-Carlton, St. Regis, Starwood Luxury Collection properties,Rosewood, etc. I can say without any hesitation that the Plaza Athenee is absolutely the best of all of them at making their guests feel always welcome and always comfortable. We don't always travel at this level of luxury, but when we do so again in Manhattan, we know there is NO reason to look elewhere now!

Room Tip: I really don't think there's a bad room here - As noted in my review, we had an entry level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenee, Manager at Hotel Plaza Athenee New York, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for this detailed review and I am delighted that our staff was able to contribute to a memorable NY trip. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm regards,
Sebastian Wurst
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel excelled in every aspect! They made me feel at home in a great location. From the check in to the room, I felt like they had all my wishes pre arranged. The room was perfect, the sevice was second to non, and the whole experience was worth reliving every time I go to NYC.

Just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slsbrokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

1 block from the Central Park zoo & close to everything. Perfect location. Entire hotel was spotless & smelled of fresh flowers. Staff was friendly & prompt. Dining was elegant, but appropriate for children. A little touch of Paris in NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was delighted with this hotel. The location, just off Central Park on the Eastside, was excellent for the museums as well as shopping. The staff could not have been more helpful. Warm, comfy and an oasis of quiet and calm in the bustling city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms, the service and the bar are all top notch. Ask for Gilbert at the bar, makes the best martinis and keeps the guests smiling. The rooms are what you would expect from a 5 star property, and the location on the mid to upper east is perfect. Short trip to David Burke or Arlington Grill. Highly recommend, and the spa is so good, I couldn't get a reservation, so book early!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogwoodTravelAgcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

it's the kind of place that i simply can't fault. clean and spacious room, great food, helpful staff and i could go on and on and on. its also convieniently located close to a wide variety of restaurants so going out and getting back to the bedroom is never a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
296 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 466 in New York City
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#77 of 466 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#255 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 466 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Athenee New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Athenee New York

Property: Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Address: 37 E 64th St, New York City, NY 10065-7003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#165 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Plaza Athenee New York 5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a charming, residential street on 64th Street between Park and Madison Avenue, Hotel Plaza Athénée is an Upper East Side luxury boutique hotel that has been a home away from home to royalty, world leaders, celebrities, executives and discerning travelers since 1984. Ideally situated in the heart of Manhattan, guests are just minutes from Central Park, Madison Avenue boutiques, galleries and museums. Elegant and refined in every detail, rich in style, Hotel Plaza Athénée offers a grand yet inviting setting where classic French inspired style meets Manhattan's uptown chic. Hand-painted murals, Italian marble, French antiques and luxe furnishings create a gracious haven. Guestrooms and suites have a distinct residential style in character with the genteel neighborhood where it resides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Athenee New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Plaza Athenee New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing